EXPLORARMI BIBLIOTECA
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Deportes
Bicycling South AfricaBicycling South Africa

Bicycling South Africa

November/December 2019

Bicycling is South Africa’s leading cycling magazine and is aimed at both road and mountain biking enthusiasts. Launched in February 2003, it is published 10 times a year, targeting the fast-growing and affluent lifestyle cycling market – youngsters, adults, professional as well as casual cyclists. The magazine is filled with the best international and local content for every element of the cyclist’s life from training techniques and fitness information to inspiring human interest stories, event news, nutrition and motivation. Bicycling is also South Africa’s leading tester of bikes and gear with over 30% of the monthly magazine dedicated to the latest reviews so our readers can make the best choices.

País:
South Africa
Idioma:
English
Editor:
Media 24 Ltd
Leer Máskeyboard_arrow_down
SUSCRIBIRSE
US$ 16,72
6 Números

EN ESTE NÚMERO

access_time1 min.
bicycling south africa

EDITOR Mike Finch (mike.finch@media24.com) SENIOR DESIGNER Alana Munnik (alana.newmovementdesign@gmail.com) CHIEF SUB/MANAGING EDITOR Dave Buchanan ONLINE EDITOR Penny Trevena (penny.trevena@media24.com) GEAR EDITOR Jon Minster (jon@jonminster.co.za) ONLINE COMMERCIAL MANAGER Yentl Barros (yentl.barros@media24.com) PUBLISHING AND MAR • ETING PUBLISHING & PRODUCTION MANAGER Gerda Engelbrecht COMMERCIAL HEAD OF EVENTS Francois Malan 021 408 1228 (francois.malan@media24.com) COMMERCIAL MANAGER Lise Coetsee 021 443 9833 (lise.coetsee@media24.com) MARKETING ASSISTANT Andile Nkosi 021 408 3848 (andile.nkosi@media24.com) ADVERTISING SALES TEAM BUSINESS MANAGER: SALES Danie Nell 082 859 0542 (danie.nell@media24.com) CAPE TOWN Hannes Burger 076 152 4605 (hannes.burger@media24.com) Nick Fitzell 071 430 6311 (nick.fitzell@media24.com) Daniela Di Giovanni 083 709 7040 (daniela.digiovanni@media24.com) JOHANNESBURG Kylee Robertson 076 263 9114 (kylee.robertson@media24.com) Jeanine Kruger 082 342 2299 (jeanine.kruger@media24.com) Lizel Pauw 082 876 8189 (lizel.pauw@media24.com) Sharlene Smith 083 583 1604 (sharlene.smith@media24.com) Yumna Rojan 072 399 5789 (yumna.rojan@media24.com) Yelanda Mitchell 074 897 576 (yelanda.mitchell@media24.com) CIRCULATION SALES & SOLUTIONS CIRCULATION MANAGER Riaan Weyers 021 503 7179 SUBSCRIPTION MANAGER Jenny Marinus PRODUCT MANAGER Ebrahim Jeftha 021…

access_time1 min.
join the ride

THE ONLY WAY TO TRULY DEVELOP YOUNG ATHLETES IS TO CREATE HEROES FOR THEM TO ASPIRE TO.That’s why our interview with South Africa’s number-one female cyclist, Ashleigh Moolman Pasio, is so important. // NOBODY QUITE EMBODIES FIGHTING SPIRIT AS WELLAS MOOLMAN PASIO. AFTER YEARS OF RULING THE LOCAL SCENE SHE IS NOW RANKED AMONG THE TOP RIDERS IN THE WORLD, AND IS A MEMBER OF THE ALL-POWERFUL CCC-LIV TEAM DOMINATED BY DUTCH LEGEND MARIANNE VOS. // At the World Championships in September, agonisingly, she missed the winning break, and finished eighth.For most, that would have been a huge success; Moolman Pasio seesit as a failure. That’s the standard by which she measures herself. // DESPITE A FRUSTRATING YEAR (BY HER STANDARDS!) IN 2019, SHE HAS AN INSPIRING SELF-BELIEF AND STEELY…

access_time2 min.
the frame

BIG GUNS, BIG HILLS, BIG CROWDS! Nothing quite beats the drama of the world’s great one-day riders battling for the Classics in the early part of the year. And you don’t get bigger names than Mathieu van der Poel, Wout van Aert and Olympic champion Greg van Avermaet digging deep up a climb at the 103rd Tour of Flanders in April. JOU LEKKER DING Saffa Daryl Impey celebrates his first individual stage win at a Grand Tour when he won the ninth stage of the Tour de France, from Saint-Étienne to Brioude, in July, easily outsprinting Tiesj Benoot after a two-man breakaway. POLES APART Windhoek’s Marelize Horn became an internet sensation when her mother filmed her crashing into a rugby pole in the middle of a large field while trying to teach herself how to…

access_time1 min.
insider

GRANT CLARKE, ILLUSTRATOR In the centrefold of this month’s issue you will find an illustration by Grant Clark. Clark was recently commissioned to create a new look for the Cape Town Cycle Tour, and you will probably have seen his work in the entry notifications for this year’s event. Inspired by his work, Bicycling has asked Clark to produce a series of artworks for us, and they will be a feature in each issue of Bicycling next year. (Buy all six in 2020, and complete the set. You will also be able to download a high-res print file.) Although Clark currently lives in London, he is proudly South African, and boasts a solo charity ride from Cairo to Cape Town among a long list of cycling achievements. His best tip for…

access_time4 min.
the undeniable, amazing, performance-boosting benefits of hiit

Interval training, especially high-intensity interval training (HIIT), has been an annual ‘hot training trend’ for 15 years now, and shows no sign of falling out of favour. HIIT’s hot streak started in 2005, when in a study published in the Journal of Applied Physiology, exercise scientist Martin Gibala, PhD, reported that two weeks of regular sprint interval training didn’t just make riders better sprinters; it also improved their endurance, by doubling time to fatigue. Since then, dozens more studies have solidified interval training as the fastest way toimprove nearly all aspects of performance. Yet to this day, when riders come to me for training advice, and I ask if they do intervals, I inevitably get the same answer: “No, not really.” But here’s the thing: everyone who wants to feel better on…

access_time1 min.
low-pressure pumps

1 / TOPEAK JOEBLOW MOUNTAIN / R2 279 The big ol’ steel barrel is tough and helps this pump inflate huge tyres in a hurry. The clear 60psi gauge has 1psi hashes. 2 / SPECIALIZED AIR TOOL MTB FLOOR PUMP / R1 350 Not only does this pump feature a 40psi gauge with 1psi hashes, it also has a bleed valve and a high-volume barrel for quicker inflation. 3 / LEZYNE ALLOY OVER DRIVE / R1 195 A clear, black-on-white, 60psi gauge with 1psi hashes offers excellent resolution and readability, and the aluminium-and-steel pump stands on a stable tripod base.…

help