EXPLORARMI BIBLIOTECAREVISTAS
CATEGORÍAS
DESTACADOS
EXPLORARMI BIBLIOTECA
Negocios y Finanzas
Radio Ink Magazine

Radio Ink Magazine

March 16, 2020

Don't let the Radio revolution pass you by. Get your digital subscription to Radio Ink Magazine. Published 14 times per year, your annual subscription includes these popular issues: The 40 Most Powerful People in Radio The Executive of the Year Issue The Best Program Directors in America The 25 Most Influential Women in Radio The 20 Most Successful African-Americans in Radio Subscribe to the digital Radio Ink and save 50% off the print version!

País:
United States
Idioma:
English
Editor:
Streamline Publishing
Leer Más
SUSCRIBIRSE
US$ 49,99
14 Números

En este número

1 min.
radio ink magazine

EVP/PUBLISHER Deborah Parenti dparenti@streamlinepublishing.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Ed Ryan edryantheeditor@gmail.com MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Rob Dumke rdumke@streamlinepublishing.com COPY EDITOR Adrian Zupp azstreamlinepub@gmail.com DESIGN DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonso.streamline@gmail.com CREATIVE DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kenneth.whitney@gmail.com PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Nicolynn Kuper nkuper@streamlinepublishing.com DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS April McLynn amclynn@streamlinepublishing.com NATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER Tracey Homberg 248-330-4595 thomberg@streamlinepublishing.com NATIONAL MARKETING EXECUTIVE Carl Marcucci 703-670-2860 cmarcucci@streamlinepublishing.com ADVERTISING/MARKETING CONSULTANT George Wymer 937-609-6778 gwymer@streamlinepublishing.com CHAIRMAN/CEO B. Eric Rhoads erhoads@streamlinepublishing.com Twitter: @ericrhoads Facebook: ericrhoads EXEC. VP/COO Tom Elmo telmo@streamlinepublishing.com DIRECTOR OF FINANCE Laura Iserman laura@streamlinepublishing.com CONTROLLER Jaime Osetek jaime@streamlinepublishing.com CIRCULATION COORDINATOR Sue Henry shenry@streamlinepublishing.com EXECUTIVE EDITOR EMERITUS Dwight Case (1929-2019)…

3 min.
street cred

Unless you have participated in or attended the Hispanic Radio Conference at some point over its 11-year history, you may not be aware of the origins of the conference. And if you aren’t part of Hispanic radio, you may think the story is not relevant to you. You would be wrong. Don’t stop reading. To begin, figures don’t lie. The growth of the Hispanic population in this country continues to trend upward with no sign of stopping. Even if none of your stations programs a Hispanic format, chances are you currently compete with Hispanic radio in your market, or soon will. And as we all know, it’s smart business to understand the competition. But there’s another overarching lesson in this story that transcends formats, cultures, and just about everything else. It’s that familiar…

1 min.
radio ink team invades nashville

In February Radio Ink, along with Sony Music Nashville, honored the 2020 class of Best Program Directors in Country Radio with their plaques. The event took place during Bob Kingsley’s Acoustic Alley, which highlights songwriters, at the Country Radio Seminar in Nashville. Here is Radio Ink Publisher Deborah Parenti with a few of our first-time winners: And we ran into a few of our good friends along the way! All these artists performed at UMG’s annual luncheon at the Ryman. Photos by Jillian Rose; www.photosbyjillianrose.com…

5 min.
ad writing revealed, line by line

Richard Kessler is a celebrity in his hometown of Milwaukee, with 50% of the population of that city having heard at least three of his radio ads every week, 52 weeks in a row, for the past 30 years. Richard’s daughter, Monica, was his sidekick on the radio for five years, then became the principal voice of the Kesslers ad campaign when Richard retired. But Richard Kessler also has a son: Hi, I’m Rob Kessler — yeah, that Kessler, son of Richard and brother to Monica. I invented a new kind of shirt that makes guys look fantastic. You’ll see what I mean the moment you look in the mirror after trying one on. “Wow! Is that me?” And you can try one on right now at Harleys Menswear. My company…

5 min.
tacos triumph with radio

Could you walk away from a job where you were cashing five-figure commission checks? Nine years ago Lisandro “Chando” Madrigal said goodbye to a job he loved at Apple to live his dream — a dream of owning a business. It’s a business that started with a small vacant food stand in North Sacramento. Now, with six locations throughout the area, including an entertainment venue, Madrigal has used radio to grow his business and build his brand, Chando’s Tacos. Radio Ink: Where did this desire to own a business come from? Madrigal: I was number seven of eight kids. We were migrant workers, so we traveled up and down the West Coast. I learned a lot from my dad because he was a farm worker contractor, and at a very young age…

4 min.
what selling radio taught me

I knew nothing about sales. In fact, before I accepted my first radio sales job, I rejected every sales opportunity. So on day one, I had no bad selling habits, because I’d never sold anything. Sometimes a blank slate is the best place to start learning because you know that you know nothing. I was ready and willing to learn. Not everyone is a prospect. I began my career at a small AM station with no ratings and a questionable reputation on the street. We spent our days cold-calling every retail establishment in a 20-mile radius. For the most part, we followed the other media reps, on the premise that if someone spent money on advertising, they were a prospect. In reality, that only made them suspects. We were chasing after…