EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Cars & Motorcycles
Camper Trailer AustraliaCamper Trailer Australia

Camper Trailer Australia Issue 139

Relaunched in May 2017, and specialising in the world of campers and adventure trips, CAMPER magazine is for those who ‘have a penchant for good banter around the campfire and beer tasting in five-million star locations’. With a bold new design and revitalised content line-up, CAMPER will showcase the best in campers, feature characters, hero destinations, gear and technology, DIY hints and techniques and a celebration of an adventurous lifestyle through Aussie eyes.

Country:
Australia
Language:
English
Publisher:
Adventures Group Holdings Pty Ltd
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
BUY ISSUE
$6(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$39.99(Incl. tax)
12 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time2 min.
back to the outback

Six months ago we’d just wrapped production on Camper Trailer of the Year 2019. After bidding farewell to the picturesque town of Mudgee, just west of NSW’s famous Blue Mountains, everyone scattered to the four winds to begin the journey home. Like every Camper Trailer of the Year, there was a sense of contented exhaustion. Anyone who’s been involved with the event in the past will testify to the early starts, late finishes and the extensive media production schedule. And, whoosh! — just like that — we’re now midway through the year gearing up for the next installment. Crazy. This is the thing about a multi-faceted event like Camper Trailer of the Year. Good things take time and effort. Pre-production for 2020 began as soon as our HEMA 79 series ‘Cruiser arrived…

access_time1 min.
camper trailer australia

EDITORIAL Editor Aaron Flanagan Deputy Editor Sam Richards Lead Designer Nicholas Ramsamy Senior Designer Janina Roque Designer Swathi Sankaran Production and Design Manager Danielle Beadman Columnists Kath Heiman, David Cook, Ron and Viv Moon Contributors Peter Quilty, Steve Cassano, David Cook, Catherine Lawson, Scott Heiman, Matt Williams, Tim van Duyl, Ron and Viv Moon, Cathy Anderson, David Cook Editorial and News 125 Hawthorn Rd, Caulfield North, Vic, 3161 Australia submissions@emprisegroup.com.au PHOTOGRAPHY Contributors David Bristow, Matt Williams, David Cook MARKETING Head of Marketing Lauren Grigg 0436 407 493 lgrigg@emprisegroup.com.au Digital Marketing Executive Shilpa Balakrishnan sbalakrishnan@emprisegroup.com.au Digital Marketing Coordinator Craig Gonsalves cgonsalves@emprisegroup.com.au Marketing Coordinator Rebecca Lamplugh rlamplugh@emprisegroup.com.au Marketing Coordinator Will Hayward whayward@emprisegroup.com.au ADVERTISING ENQUIRIES sales@emprisegroup.com.au www.emprisegroup.com.au Head of Partnerships Christopher Jefferson 0477 775 020 cjefferson@emprisegroup.com.au VIC/SA/TAS - Scott Pimlott - 0498 880 377 spimlott@emprisegroup.com.au NSW - Serena Prasad 0429 489 615 sprasad@emprisegroup.com.au Danielle Gowan 0435 065 325 dgowan@emprisegroup.com.au QLD/NT - David Forrest 0455 999 085 dforrest@emprisegroup.com.au Heath Parry 0412 957 475 hparry@emprisegroup.com.au WA…

access_time4 min.
camper gears up for a bumper ctoty in 2020

In each monthly issue of this magazine, we produce and feature reviews of the latest and greatest camper trailers available in the marketplace. Producing reviews that accurately reflect the current state of the camper trailer market underpins the substance and passion driving all content published across the Camper platforms. As a matter of course, based on the integrity of these reviews, a number of eligible campers are then invited to take part in Camper Trailer of the Year. The integrity of Camper’s review process is based on an uncompromising set of principles. These principles are the reason why we are able to produce Camper Trailer of the Year. “THE REPUTATION OF CAMPER TRAILER OF THE YEAR MEANS EVERYTHING TO US. IT’S WHY WE ARE RESOLUTE WHEN IT COMES TO THE IMPARTIALITY OF OUR…

access_time3 min.
the scoring system, explained

FIT FOR INTENDED PURPOSE • 3 or under would suggest the camper is not fit for its intended purpose • A score of 3.5 - 5.5 suggests the camper can do most of what it sets out to achieve, but needs refinement • 6 - 8 indicates the camper is capable for its intended purpose • 8.5 - 10 suggests the camper surpassed expectations INNOVATION • A score of 3 or less suggests the camper is poorly designed and put together • 3.5 - 5.5 suggests a passable run-of-the-mill design that fails to excite • A score of 6 - 8 suggests an excellent upgrade to a known design or style, done well • 8.5 or more is indicative of a new design that challenges and excites expectations of what a camper can be SELF SUFFICIENCY • Anything 3 or under…

access_time9 min.
water crossing wisdom

You wouldn’t be a true 4WD adventurer if you didn’t like a challenge or two when out on the tracks. And if that challenge can look epic at the same time, we say, why not? One of the most picturesque challenges of all is the water crossing, which you’ll inevitably face whether you hit the harder steep inclines or tour on the open roads. There are many types of water crossings you may face. They range from as simple as crossing a shallow weir, to as difficult as precariously navigating a windshield-height river crossing, such as those commonly found in northern Queensland. There are just as many names for water crossings as there are types: ‘river crossing’, ‘creek crossing’, ‘underbody wash’... the list goes on. But whatever the body of water and whatever…

access_time1 min.
water crossing tricksters

It’s best to be cautious when crossing water. But, according to 4WD folklore, some people take it a step too far. There’s a myth about a few cunning folks who developed a technique for assessing the safety of water crossings – without any risk to themselves. If these fabled drivers came up to an unfamiliar water crossing, they’d simply reverse slowly and “dip” their rear tyres into the water, then quickly pull up to higher ground, park, make a cuppa and wait for the next 4WD to come by. As natural as can be, they’d strike up a conversation with their unsuspecting arrivals, gloating of their recent successful crossing. Depending on their victim’s success or failure, they’d then either make a confident crossing or hightail it out the way they came. I don’t condone…

help