EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Cars & Motorcycles
Camper Trailer AustraliaCamper Trailer Australia

Camper Trailer Australia Issue 141

Relaunched in May 2017, and specialising in the world of campers and adventure trips, CAMPER magazine is for those who ‘have a penchant for good banter around the campfire and beer tasting in five-million star locations’. With a bold new design and revitalised content line-up, CAMPER will showcase the best in campers, feature characters, hero destinations, gear and technology, DIY hints and techniques and a celebration of an adventurous lifestyle through Aussie eyes.

Country:
Australia
Language:
English
Publisher:
Adventures Group Holdings Pty Ltd
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
BUY ISSUE
$6(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$39.99(Incl. tax)
12 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time1 min.
camper trailer australia

EDITORIAL Editor Aaron Flanagan Deputy Editor Sam Richards Lead Designer Nicholas Ramsamy Senior Designer Janina Roque Designer Swathi Sankaran Production and Design Manager Danielle Beadman Columnists Kath Heiman, David Cook, Ron and Viv Moon, Steve Cassano Contributors Adam Jane, David Cook, Catherine Lawson, Scott Heiman, Matt Williams, Tim van Duyl, Peter Quilty Editorial and News 125 Hawthorn Rd, Caulfield North, Vic, 3161 Australia submissions@emprisegroup.com.au PHOTOGRAPHY Contributors David Bristow, Matt Williams, David Cook, Phil Cerbu, Graeme Neander MARKETING Head of Marketing Lauren Grigg 0436 407 493 lgrigg@emprisegroup.com.au Digital Marketing Executive Shilpa Balakrishnan sbalakrishnan@emprisegroup.com.au Digital Marketing Coordinator Craig Gonsalves cgonsalves@emprisegroup.com.au Marketing Coordinator Rebecca Lamplugh rlamplugh@emprisegroup.com.au Marketing Coordinator Will Hayward whayward@emprisegroup.com.au ADVERTISING ENQUIRIES sales@emprisegroup.com.au www.emprisegroup.com.au Head of Partnerships Christopher Jefferson 0477 775 020 cjefferson@emprisegroup.com.au VIC/SA/TAS - Scott Pimlott - 0498 880 377 spimlott@emprisegroup.com.au NSW - Serena Prasad 0429 489 615 sprasad@emprisegroup.com.au Danielle Gowan 0435 065 325 dgowan@emprisegroup.com.au QLD/NT - David Forrest 0455 999 085 dforrest@emprisegroup.com.au Heath Parry 0412 957 475 hparry@emprisegroup.com.au WA - Ian Glyde 0447…

access_time2 min.
cape york capers

It’s been more than seven years since I’ve been up beyond Cooktown in Far North Queensland. Before life happened, I used to regularly travel between Melbourne and Cooktown, at least once a year. Together with a mate, I’d spend whole months cruising around islands dotted throughout the barrier reef, spear fishing, camping on remote beaches and sand cays out at sea, eating mud crabs, oysters, trout and crayfish; that is until we became sick of seafood and headed to shore to snare a pig or two, just for the dietary variation. Plus, being a true Queenslander, my mate loved hunting pigs. Little did I realise then – the naivety of youth I suppose – that this was destined to become a momentary phase in my life. I assumed it would…

access_time10 min.
fixing wheel bearings and brakes

Awhile back I wrote about my young cousin Mitch and his love of 4WDing, especially mud driving. At the time his engine was suffering from overheating and since then his Hilux has encountered other issues, typical of 4WDs that have travelled their fair share of tortured kilometres. Most 4WDs perform seamlessly over many years and kilometres; however, a few consumable components will inevitably weather and wear during this process. Tyres, batteries, fluids and brakes all suffer as the odometer turns. Just how much they suffer comes down to just how well you look after them. A lack of maintenance over endless years of punishment will, you guessed it, wear them down prematurely. So it’s always a good idea to check these overlooked components when you're readying your 4WD for its next trip. This…

access_time8 min.
going troppo

Far North Queensland – wild, world heritage-listed and ridiculously warm. When you enter the water here, you don’t just go for a swim; you boat to a barely-there sand cay and snorkel with green sea turtles and reef sharks. When you fish, you don’t just flick around lures; you tempt coral trout up from the reefs and compete with crocs for a share of the barra. When you relax, you do so on a lonely beach under a coconut palm, sipping a beer, and dreaming of what the next day will hold. If you’re craving a wild time at the water’s edge, it’s time to head north. To get you off your backside, here’s a look at some of the best things to see and do up that way. Think dreamy beaches, croc-free…

access_time1 min.
fast facts

WHEN TO VISIT Clear skies and stinger-free seas make the dry season (May to October) the best time to visit. TOP CAMPS Babinda Boulders (free for three nights, 60km south of Cairns); Noah Beach (Daintree National Park) and Lake Tinaroo (Danbulla National Park), both costing $6.65/person or $26.60/family. DON’T MISS Cairns Festival (August 23-September 1), Palm Cove Reef Feast (October), Tablelands Folk Festival (October). CONTACT Find out more at cairns.qld.gov.au or wettropics.gov.au and book national park campsites at parks.des.qld.gov. au ($6.55pp).…

access_time1 min.
spot a croc (and survive)

Before he passed away in 2010, croc wrangler-turned-conservationist Malcolm Douglas gave me some sage advice: “It’s not the croc you can see that you need to worry about. It’s the one you can’t see that will get you.” His words have stuck with me ever since. While spotting the north’s most prehistoric hunter can be a thrilling experience, it can also be dangerous; so use these tips to stay at the top of the food chain: • Never dangle your arms or legs over the side of the boat and be extremely careful when reeling in fish. • Camp well back from the water’s edge and at least two metres vertically above the waterline, and avoid repetitive behaviour such as preparing food, gutting fish or washing dishes at the water’s edge. • Take care…

help