EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Movies, TV & Music
GuitaristGuitarist

Guitarist

November 2019

Guitarist is the longest established UK guitar magazine. You'll find authoritative gear reviews, artist interviews, technique lessons and advice. Plus, Guitarist's digital edition now includes all of the same audio and video content as the print edition; available to download from a special area of the Guitarist website!

Country:
United Kingdom
Language:
English
Publisher:
Future Publishing Ltd
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
SPECIAL: Save 40% on your subscription!
BUY ISSUE
$8.14(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$65.22$39.13(Incl. tax)
13 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time1 min.
blue melody

I was once in a prog band where the bandleader decreed that no blues licks were to be played. Everything was to be strictly ‘modal’, he declared, solemnly. While I respected the sincere effort to move away from the everyday language of rock, which could fairly be said to be blues (mixed with country and a little jazz), it’s only when you fence off the whole of blues from use that you realise just how fundamental it is to guitar. But the very ubiquity of blues also makes it all too easy to lapse into cliché when we do play pure blues or use blues licks. That’s why we joined some of the world’s great practitioners of the blues to ask them how they keep their licks powerful, fresh, authentic…

access_time1 min.
guitarist

EDITORIAL ART EDITOR Darren Phillips darren.phillips@futurenet.com MANAGING EDITOR Lucy Rice lucy.rice@futurenet.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Jamie Dickson jamie.dickson@futurenet.com DEPUTY EDITOR David Mead david.mead@futurenet.com CONTENT DIRECTOR, MUSIC Scott Rowley scott.rowley@futurenet.com REVIEWS EDITOR Dave Burrluck dave@daveburrluck.com SENIOR MUSIC EDITOR Jason Sidwell jason.sidwell@futurenet.com CONTRIBUTORS RICHARD BARRETT, JON BISHOP, ROD BRAKES, TREVOR CURWEN, ADAM GOLDSMITH, NICK GUPPY, PHIL HILBORNE, MARTIN HOLMES, RICHARD HOOD, CATHERINE KIRKPATRICK, ROB LAING, NEVILLE MARTEN, ED MITCHELL, ROGER NEWELL, NIGEL PULSFORD, DAVINA RUNGASAMY, ADRIAN THORPE IN-HOUSE PHOTOGRAPHY PHIL BARKER, OLLY CURTIS, ADAM GASSON, NEIL GODWIN, JOBY SESSIONS ADVERTISING CHIEF REVENUE DIRECTOR Zack Sullivan zack.sullivan@futurenet.com UK COMMERCIAL SALES DIRECTOR Clare Dove clare.dove@futurenet.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTOR Lara Jaggon lara.jaggon@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Alison Watson alison.watson@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Guy Meredith guy.meredith@futurenet.com MARKETING MAGAZINE MARKETING DIRECTOR Sharon Todd sharon.todd@futurenet.com HEAD OF ACQUISITIONS Helen Harding helen.harding@futurenet.com ACQUISITIONS CAMPAIGN MANAGER Tom Cooper tom.cooper@futurenet.com ACQUISITIONS MARKETING EXECUTIVE Jessica weatherbed jessica.weatherbed@futurenet.com PRINT & PRODUCTION HEAD OF PRODUCTION UK & US Mark Constance mark.constance@futurenet.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Frances Twentyman frances.twentyman@futurenet.com PRODUCTION PROJECT MANAGER Clare Scott…

access_time7 min.
jekyll & hyde

With terms like ‘Speed Neck’, ‘Full Shred’ and ‘Shredder’s Cut Heel’ on offer, you don’t have to be Sherlock Holmes to deduce what kind of life this guitar is destined to lead. We’ll wager that the Charvel USA Select DK24 HH will never be deployed on a ropey rendition of Blanket On The Ground for line dancers at your local social club. This thing possesses the kind of power that welds eyeballs to the back of skulls. It’s designed for the fleet of finger. Shredders. Note-junkies, if you will. And speaking of notes, you’ll have to come up with 2,639 of the pound-shaped versions to own this guitar. You might recall that we looked at a similar-looking Charvel DK24 in issue 448. On that occasion, it was the Mexico-built Pro-Mod DK24…

access_time1 min.
charvel usa select dk24 hh

PRICE: £2,639 (inc case) ORIGIN: USA TYPE: Offset solidbody electric BODY: Alder NECK: Caramelised maple ‘Speed Neck’, graphite reinforcement, bolt-on SCALE LENGTH: 648mm (25.5”) NUT/WIDTH: Graph Tech Tusq XL/42.86mm FINGERBOARD: Caramelised flame maple with rolled edges, 4mm pearl dot inlays, 305-406mm (12-16”) radius FRETS: 24, jumbo stainless HARDWARE: Chrome Gotoh Custom 510 6-saddle floating bridge with screw-in arm; Sperzel die-cast locking tuners STRING SPACING, BRIDGE: 53mm ELECTRICS: Direct-mount Seymour Duncan SH-10B Custom Full Shred humbucker (bridge), Seymour Duncan APH-1N Alnico II Pro humbucker (neck), 500k EVH Bourns low-friction master volume, No-Load master tone, 5-way pickup selector lever switch WEIGHT (kg/lb): 3.5/7.9 OPTIONS: No RANGE OPTIONS: The following USA Select models are available with Floyd Rose Original vibratos and maple fingerboards unless otherwise stated: San Dimas Style 1 HSS HT w/ hardtail bridge and rosewood ’board (£2,069); San Dimas Style 1 HSS FR rosewood ’board…

access_time6 min.
shimmer & shake

It’s been over 50 years since Orange Amplification was founded and today the brand is as popular as ever, with a strong presence on international festival stages and pro touring rigs underlining the ‘Voice of the World’ motto. While most modern Orange amps are all about gain – and lots of it – their vintage designs were renowned for clarity at high volume. A new addition to the Orange catalogue, the TremLord 30 is Orange’s take on the 1950s combos that would have influenced Orange’s earliest models, complete with a few surprising twists. As you might expect, the TremLord 30 is substantial, with a deeper than average plywood cabinet clad in standard Orange basketweave vinyl, featuring a jute speaker grille and wooden skids instead of rubber feet. The control panel is…

access_time9 min.
parallel lines

While Godin – and the various brands it produces – is one of the largest, if not the largest, manufacturer of guitars in North America, it also remains one of the most diverse in terms of the styles of instruments it offers. Our two very different guitars illustrate the point. The 5th Avenue range put the hollowbody ‘jazzbox’ centre stage when it launched in 2008; our 2019 dual-pickup cutaway Uptown takes the concept upmarket. The A6 Ultra couldn’t be more different: a bolt-on necked, thinline electro-acoustic with both under-saddle bridge transducer, a neck-placed humbucker and dual outputs. 5th Avenue Uptown If you’re into your rootsy alt-rock, blues and jazz, you’ll probably have come across Godin’s 5th Avenue range: relatively affordable laminate archtops that also provide a platform for more upmarket versions. Various models…

help