EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Women's Lifestyle
Junkies MagazineJunkies Magazine

Junkies Magazine

June 2019 Winter

Junkies Magazine is an eco lifestyle magazine, focused on reusing, reducing, rethinking and recycling. Junkies Magazine is for people who have a passion for sustainability, imaginative design.We like to inspire and be inspired by a community of thinkers and to spread important messages about our environmental responsibilities .We aim to be a platform to bring people together , from artists, individuals , mavericks and epicureans.

Country:
Australia
Language:
English
Publisher:
Junkies Magazine Australia
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
BUY ISSUE
$10.95(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$43.78(Incl. tax)
4 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time1 min.
junkies magazine

Editorial Editor and Chief Junkie Selena Buckingham - selena@junkies.com.au Editorial Team Copy Editor/Writer Michelle Coxall - theknownworldbookshop@gmail.com Contributors Selena Buckingham, Sian Blohm, Sophia Livitsanis, Damon Bereziat, Erica Louise, Hugo Race, Gerrard Elson, Jo Canham, Bella L. Day, Susie Elliott, Helen Mathwin, Michelle Stephenson, Rebecca Sullivan, Damien Coulthard, La Vergne Lehmann, Hey Ho Let’s Grow & Alan MacLeod Design Content Design and Layout designstudioballarat.com.au Photographers Louisa West Sian Blohm Illustrator Louisa West Rosie Leech Advertising Advertising Coordinator Kirien Withers – kirien@junkies.com.au Website junkies.com.au Subscriptions junkies.com.au/subscribe Social Media Facebook facebook.com/junkiesmagazine Creative Concept & Design Louiseann King Photography Danny Wootton…

access_time1 min.
people & places

Artists and Designers Louiseann King louiseannking.com.au Bridgett Artise born-againvintage.com Magpie Goose magpiegoose.com Britta Sorrensen mrropenstudios.com.au/member/ britta-sorrenson Michaelangelo Russo michelangelorusso.com Pamela Irving pamelairving.com.au Georgie Seccull georgieseccull.com Liz Gannon gannoncreative.net Photographers and Illustrators Danny Wootton dannywootton.com.au Louisa West Studio louisaweststudio.com.au Rosie Leech rosieleech.com Sian Blohm designstudioballarat.com.au Brian Rodgers Photography brp.net.au Rowena Naylor Photography stocksy.com/rowenanaylor Places and Retailers fortyfivedownstairs fortyfivedownstairs.com Munash Organics munash.com.au Blarney Books and Art blarneybooks.com.au Food Rebecca Sullivan rebeccasullivan.com.au Organisations Recreate @recreatecommunity Planet Ark planetark.org Surfriders Association surfrider.org.au Lousy Ink lousyink.com BE Designs bedesigns.com.au Vinnies Resew resew@vinnieswgtn.org.nz Grampians Central West Waste & Resource Recovery Group recyclingrevolution.com.au Pure Energy pureenergyuk.com…

access_time2 min.
from the editor

Hello fellow Junkies! We are so lucky here in Junkies’ home town of Ballarat. There is a great arts scene and lots of community groups, activities and festivals that embody the ethos of our magazine. We only wish we had more time to get to all the great events that are happening in our neighbourhood! Check out our Junkies’ News page to get a glimpse of just some of them and learn what we have been up to lately. This issue we are captivated and moved by Louiseann King’s work, our cover story, which so evocatively captures the fragility of nature. Pamela Irving’s mosaic artistry takes us on a whimsical cartoon-like journey that will make you smile. We deconstruct and reconstruct our style with fashion tips by UK author Bridgett Artise and…

access_time4 min.
a community rethinking waste

When Junkies recently visited Adelaide to attend the Bowerbird Market, we explored the Barossa Valley and its surrounding areas. We were excited to investigate the community-based enterprise at Mount Pleasant – Recreate – jam-packed full of creative endeavours that utilise all the materials that find their way here. Faye McGoldrick, the coordinator at Mount Pleasant Natural Resource Centre (MPNRC), shared her passion for this fantastic place and told us what she loves most about Recreate. Community members always enjoy the opportunity to get hands on and learn new (and old!) ways to reduce, reuse, and recycle “waste”. Recreate is a creative reuse centre, shop, materials depot and workshop space run by the not-for-profit community group the Mount Pleasant Natural Resource Centre Inc. Focused on driving behaviour change around waste production and…

access_time8 min.
junkies news

Junkies Out and About Over recent months we have been keeping ourselves busy around the region. We attended the Clunes Booktown Festival, with a stall run by the fledgling addition to theJunkies team, Bella. Held every year in May, Booktown features the largest collection of rare, out-of-print and collectible books in Australia. Next on our agenda was the Apron Festival which runs in conjunction with Ballarat Heritage Weekend. So many creative peeps out there! Junkies sponsored the Travel Apron prize and had the unenviable task of choosing the winner from the outstanding entrants. We were also a sponsor of the Victorian Beekeeping Clubs Conference 2019 which was held at Hyatt Place in Melbourne on 15 June. The aim of this annual conference is to connect hobbyist, recreational, sideline and commercial beekeepers from across…

access_time3 min.
give aways!

Saltbush Kitchen – Australian Bushfoods Saltbush Kitchen takes you on an Australian bushfood adventure with their range of culinary products including spices, herbs, salts and syrups. Their concept store, now located in Buninyong Victoria (only an hour from Melbourne) is a sensory experience immersing you in the sounds, tastes and aromas of the Australian bush. Visit and discover their incredible range of native foods. The Saltbush Kitchen Bushfood Spice Pack includes your choice of five Australian bushfood spices: lemon myrtle, wattleseed, strawberry gum, aniseed myrtle, pepperberry, native thyme, kunzea, mountain pepper, saltbush or peppermint gum. RRP And if you can’t make it to Buninyong, you can visit them online: saltbushkitchen.com.au Gemma Vendetta This perfect package includes a Gemma Vendetta’s award-winning mascara & awesome bronzer blush valued at $90.95. A growing consciousness of nasty chemicals in hair…

help