EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Travel & Outdoor
Outdoor MagazineOutdoor Magazine

Outdoor Magazine July/Aug 2019

Widely regarded as Australia’s premier adventure magazine, Outdoor features human-powered experiences such as hiking, mountain biking and paddling; road trips and iconic destinations; as well as an array of technical features and how-to guides. It’s a respected brand with a rich heritage that captures the spirit of adventure through inspiring content, top-notch images and great practical tips.

Country:
Australia
Language:
English
Publisher:
Adventures Group Holdings Pty Ltd
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
BUY ISSUE
$6(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$19.99(Incl. tax)
6 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time2 min.
winter renewal

AS YOU’LL no doubt have noticed, Outdoor has changed a bit since the last issue. We think of our slight redesign as a winter renewal, everything pruned back in readiness for the plump sweet buds of spring. Something like that, anyway. We dearly hope you like it as much as we do. Let me know what you think, I’d be very interested in your feedback. With the fresh new look comes a whole host of fresh new stories. This issue, we feature two stories from the roof of the world, one by Huw Kingston about his 30-year connection to Gulmarg in Jammu and Kashmir, northern India and another by Rosie Barry about a three week Nepali Himalaya trek odyssey she enjoyed with her husband and four kids, aged 13, 12, 11 and…

access_time2 min.
dispatches from near and far

ROSIE BARRY Rosie met her husband, Stuart, almost 20 years ago on a trekking holiday in Nepal. They live with their four children in the foothills of kumanyi (Mt Wellington) in Rosie’s native town, Hobart. The family’s favourite holidays involve backpacks or panniers, and whether it’s on Tasmanian trails or exploring the world, being outdoors and being together are the top criteria. They are passionate about the environment and aim for a sustainable future through their uncomplicated lifestyle. DAN SLATER Dan has been writing for Australian adventure and travel magazines since he washed up here from Blighty nine years ago and decided to blag his way into the most glamorous job he could think of. Since then he’s had to dream up ever more interesting trips to keep occupied, from ice climbing and…

access_time1 min.
outdoor magazine

Editorial Editor Aaron Flanagan Deputy Editor Sam Richards Senior Designer Janina Roque Production Manager Danielle Beadman Contributors Ash Gray, Monique Forestier, Richard Bowles, Bel Smith, Laura Waters, Rosie Barry, Dan Slater, Huw Kingston, Hari Raj Editorial and News 125 Hawthorn Rd, Caulfield North, Vic, 3161 Australia submissions@emprisegroup.com.au Digital Marketing marketing@emprisegroup.com.au Head of Marketing Lauren Grigg - 0436 407 493 lgrigg@emprisegroup.com.au Digital Marketing Executive Shilpa Balakrishnan sbalakrishnan@emprisegroup.com.au Marketing Coordinator Rebecca Lamplugh rlamplugh@emprisegroup.com.au Marketing Coordinator Craig Gonsalves cgonsalves@emprisegroup.com.au Marketing Coordinator Will Hayward whayward@emprisegroup.com.au Advertising Enquiries sales@emprisegroup.com.au www.emprisegroup.com.au Head of Partnerships Christopher Jefferson - 0477 775 020 cjefferson@emprisegroup.com.au VIC/SA/TAS - Scott Pimlott - 0498 880 377 spimlott@emprisegroup.com.au NSW - Serena Prasad - 0429 489 615 sprasad@emprisegroup.com.au Danielle Gowan - 0435 065 325 dgowan@emprisegroup.com.au QLD - David Forrest - 0455 999 085 dforrest@emprisegroup.com.au Heath Parry - 0412 957 475 hparry@emprisegroup.com.au WA - Ian Glyde - 0447 318 114 iglyde@emprisegroup.com.au National Partnerships Andrew Wilson - 0437…

access_time4 min.
winter adaptations

Ha! Brace yourself for the weather!” I don’t know how many times I heard this response when I told people I was moving to Scotland (followed closely by “Hope you like whisky”), but it was a lot. And it’s true – it is cold and wet. It turns out that Glasgow’s weather going into summer is a lot like Melbourne’s going into winter. Some days pour with rain. Others begin with beautiful clear skies; the air so crisp it hurts my lungs. My partner, who had a year’s head start living here, has no problem going outside in a long-sleeved shirt. “You’ll get used to it,” he says, as I rug up in a jacket, scarf, beanie and gloves. And that got me thinking of the stints I’ve spent in cold temperatures. When I’ve…

access_time2 min.
not quite the world’s worst journey

Recently, I bought a copy of The Worst Journey in the World. This recount of Robert Falcon Scott’s doomed attempt to be the first to the South Pole, written by trip member Apsley Cherry-Garrard, is widely lauded as one of the best adventure tales of all time. Over a few rainy days, I read it front to back. The South Pole was like the moon of the early 20th century. You could rightly think the ‘worst journey’ of the title refers to Scott’s well-known attempt to reach it first. Because, his journey was indeed a bad one (skip to the last two paragraphs to avoid spoilers). From the moment the ship of Englishmen left port, conditions and happenstance blighted them at every turn. After a year of setting up depots, a…

access_time4 min.
mountainous misadventures

How do we justify the impact we impose on our environment and the people we share it with? What makes our adventurous pursuits more important than those of other people? Why do we feel the need to broadcast our “adventure” to the world and create an environmental nightmare? Recently we’ve seen images from Mt Everest with over 200 climbers queuing in the perilous Death Zone to “bag” the summit. Some in the queue are experienced mountaineers; they may be attempting to tick the last of fourteen 8000m+ peaks off their list, or to climb the big E without the big O (supplementary oxygen). Others in line pay tens of thousands of dollars to be escorted up whilst sucking back oxygen the whole way. Of course, there are many “inbetweeners” who have…

help