EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Food & Wine
Super Food IdeasSuper Food Ideas

Super Food Ideas May 2019

Australia's #1 food magazine, Super Food Ideas provides busy mothers and families with easy recipes and meal solutions, using readily available ingredients and simple techniques. With hundreds of recipes and tips every issue, you’ll never lack inspiration or ideas with Super Food Ideas.

Country:
Australia
Language:
English
Publisher:
News Life Media Pty Limited
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
BUY ISSUE
$2.19(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$11.54(Incl. tax)
6 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time1 min.
long and short of it

Call it my Achilles’ heel, weak spot, guilty pleasure or fatal flaw, but whether it be pappardelle, rigatoni, penne, orecchiette, angel hair or risoni, the long and short of it is that I just can’t say no to pasta. So when I was creating the recipes for our Pasta Pronto feature (p22) this month, I asked myself, ‘could life get any better’? Enter the One-pot Pizza Pasta (p29). With all its cheesy glory, crispy pepperoni topping and the convenience of only using one pot, this is now my all-time favourite pasta dish, and looking at my family’s plates after dinner, they would agree, too! On the lighter side, we know that getting your five serves of vegetables a day can be tricky, so we’ve created some easy midweek dinners (p35) that are…

access_time1 min.
get inspired by…

“THIS BEAUTY WILL GIVE YOU THREE SERVES OF VEG IN ONE HIT!” #1 PASTA PRONTO Quick, easy and delicious, from one-pot wonders to beautiful bakes, all our pasta dinners are on the table in less than 45 minutes. #2 TRAY EASY Five fabulous side dishes that can all be made using only one baking tray. Pop them in the oven and watch the magic. #3 YOUR FAVES GET TRANSFORMED We’ve taken classic family dinners, such as spaghetti and meatballs and creamy butter chicken and turned them into heartwarming soups.…

access_time1 min.
your food ideas

BREEZY BRUNCH Absolutely loved this Berry Buttermilk Pancake Tray Bake (January/February 2019, p70). I made it for brunch, and it was delicious and so easy to make. We had the leftovers for dessert, drizzled with maple syrup. Heather Izett, via Instagram SHEER BLISS Thank you so much for the Nut-free Bliss Balls! (January/ February 2019, p34). It is nice to finally taste what all the fuss is about. Unfortunately for me, everyone else liked them, too! Jenna Kennett, via Facebook HUNGRY HORDES In need of new salad ideas for a busy school canteen, I recently made the BLAT Pasta Salad (January/February 2019, p57). This was tasty and simple to make, and served plenty. I love it because everything in the recipe I could source directly from my pantry. This will certainly be on the school menu this year…

access_time2 min.
super spy

GLUTEN-FREE GENIUS Coeliacs and gluten-intolerant folk rejoice! The legendary Australian pantry staple has finally invited you to enjoy their new gluten-free and certified low-FODMAP Vegemite. After several years of research, the makers of Vegemite have finally nailed the new gluten-free recipe, and it is just as good as the original – we can’t taste any difference. Plus, it’s on par nutritionally with the original. Find it at supermarkets nationally for $4.89 for a 235g jar. CHOCOLATE FOR ALL Kids love a delivery from the Easter Bunny come Easter morning – but adults love an Easter treat, too. That’s why Cadburyhave released a new range of gifting boxes, just for the grown-ups. Boasting a sleek design and hand-foiled Easter eggs, the gift boxes come in five varieties: Dairy Milk, Roses, Turkish Delight, Almonds and,…

access_time2 min.
know-how

RECIPE KNOW-HOW: We use Australian standard measures. In liquid measures, 250ml = 1 cup.Dry ingredients are measured in level1 cup, 1/2 cup, 1/3 cup and/4 cup measures. 1 tablespoon = 20ml (note NZ, US and UK tablespoon = 15ml). 1 teaspoon = 5ml. We use 59-60g eggs. We use 1100-watt microwaves, unless otherwise specified. NUTRITION KNOW-HOW: Heart Friendly: low saturated fat, high fibre, lower sodium with heart-friendly fats. Desserts that are based on low-fat dairy without fruit/grain ingredients don’t need to be high fibre. Diabetes Friendly: low saturated fat, high fibre, lower sodium with lower-GI carbs. Healthy: low saturated fat, less than 3000kJ and 800mg sodium per main meal. Vegetarian: no meat, fish or poultry but may contain eggs and/or dairy. Gluten Free: no gluten-containing ingredients (ie, wheat, rye, barley, oats or derivatives). High in Calcium: at least…

access_time1 min.
super food ideas

Editor Amira Georgy, amira.georgy@news.com.au Food Director Claire Brookman, claire.brookman@news.com.au Food Editor Louise Patniotis louise.patniotis1@news.com.au Creative Director Sarah Cooper, sarah.cooper@news.com.au Designer Malloree Nicholls, malloree.nicholls@news.com.au Chief Sub-editor Colleen Krause, colleen.krause@news.com.au Sub-editors Francesca Percy, Kylie Walker Editorial Coordinator Imogen Rafferty, imogen.rafferty1@news.com.au Recipe Analysis Susanna Holt Reader & editorial enquiries (02) 8045 4891, superfoodideas@news.com.au ADVERTISING New South Wales General Manager, Newsamp – National Renee Sycamore Client Solutions Director – Food – National Ed Faith Client Solutions Managers – Food Donna Hodges, (02) 8045 4734, donna.hodges@news.com.au MJ Deluca, (02) 8045 4673, melinda.deluca@news.com.au Client Solutions Specialists – Food Ally Adler, (02) 8045 4645, ally.adler@news.com.au Elizabeth Hamilton, (02) 8045 4062, elizabeth.hamilton@news.com.au Lucy Tootill, (02) 8045 4674, lucy.tootill@news.com.au Victoria Group Client Solutions Manager Eugene Loane, 0431 198 478, eugene.loane@news.com.au Client Solutions Manager Charmaine Wu, (03) 9292 1597, charmaine.wu@news.com.au Client Solutions Specialist Tatiana Sumpter, (03) 9292 3223, tatiana.sumpter@news.com.au Queensland Head of Newsamp Nicole Commerford, (07) 3666 6386, nicole.commerford@news.com.au South Australia Group Sales Director Candice Arthur, (08) 8206 2964, candice.arthur@news.com.au Western Australia Group Sales…

help