EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Food & Wine
Super Food IdeasSuper Food Ideas

Super Food Ideas September 2019

Australia's #1 food magazine, Super Food Ideas provides busy mothers and families with easy recipes and meal solutions, using readily available ingredients and simple techniques. With hundreds of recipes and tips every issue, you’ll never lack inspiration or ideas with Super Food Ideas.

Country:
Australia
Language:
English
Publisher:
News Life Media Pty Limited
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
BUY ISSUE
$2.19(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$11.54(Incl. tax)
6 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time1 min.
light up your life

I’ll be the first to admit it… winter got the better of me this year. I definitely had a few too many servings of creamy potato mash, cheesy pasta bakes and rich beef stews – not to mention chocolate in all its delectable forms – and the proof isn’t just in the pudding (or in the absence of it in this case), but on the scales, too! So I was somewhat relieved when we started creating our annual healthy issue – it’s a timely reminder that eating well without breaking the budget is absolutely possible. From our incredibly creamy less-than-500-calorie chicken carbonara (p37), at just $3.21 a serve, to our light and luscious Mediterranean Diet dinners (p18), we’re helping you make eating healthily a cinch! Also, be sure to check out…

access_time1 min.
get inspired by…

“QUICK AND HEALTHY! THIS JAPANESE BOWL IS JUST $3.86 A SERVE!” #1 THE MEDITERRANEAN LIFE Considered to be one of the world’s healthiest diets, we show you how to embrace this lifestyle with eight fabulous midweek dinners, p18. #2 EAT THE RAINBOW Our kaleidoscope sides, p46, are packed full of vitamins, antioxidants and minerals your body will love. #3 SWEET FRIENDS WITH BENEFITS From a beautiful beetroot cheesecake to a chocolate and sweet potato marble cake, these desserts, p64, are hiding some secret star ingredients.…

access_time1 min.
your food ideas

ONE-POT WINNER My 8-year-old son was super excited to attempt the One-pot Pizza Pasta (May 2019, p29) as dish of choice on his night to ‘help’ cook dinner. We think it turned out like the picture in the magazine! And it tasted great, too – earning the thumbs-up from James! Adrian and James Gray, via email “THUMBS-UP FROM JAMES!” NUTS FOR NUTELLA I made the Choc-hazelnut Drip Cake (April 2017, p24) for my friend’s birthday. She loved it! Definitely a new favourite. My husband loves Nutella and has asked for another. Thank you for such a wonderful, indulgent recipe. Kathryn de’Zuna, via email TWICE AS NICE I made this dish (June 2019, p39) for my husband and me because colcannon and Irish stew are two of his favourites, but I’d never thought to combine them. I’ve…

access_time2 min.
super spy

INCLUSIVE CUPPA There’s nothing like a cuppa. Morning, noon or night, a big brew of black tea with a splash of milk cures what ails you. Except if you need to use dairy-free milk, then the results can be lumpy, curdled and split. Yuk! So Lipton, the leader in tea, took a stand and developed this specialty black tea, blended to perfectly complement non-dairy milks. Lipton’s dairy-free blend has been crafted using high quality, Rainforest Alliance certified Kenyan and Rwandan tea leaves to deliver a rich, natural taste. Find it in supermarkets for $5. FIERY FUSION Take yourself on a global snack journey with Red Rock Deli’s new Fusion range. The flavour innovators have developed two fresh and fiery limited editions, one with a tropical twist – hello, Thai Red Chilli & Creamy…

access_time2 min.
know-how

RECIPE KNOW-HOW: We use Australian standard measures In liquid measures, 250ml = 1 cup Dry ingredients are measured in level 1 cup, 1/2 cup, 1/3 cup and1/4 cup measures 1 tablespoon = 20ml (note NZ, US and UK tablespoon = 15ml) 1 teaspoon = 5ml We use 59-60g eggs We use 1100-watt microwaves, unless otherwise specified NUTRITION KNOW-HOW: Heart Friendly: low saturated fat, high fibre, lower sodium with heart-friendly fats. Desserts that are based on low-fat dairy without fruit/grain ingredients don’t need to be high fibre. Diabetes Friendly: low saturated fat, high fibre, lower sodium with lower-GI carbs. Healthy: low saturated fat, less than 3000kJ and 800mg sodium per main meal. Vegetarian: no meat, fish or poultry but may contain eggs and/or dairy. Gluten Free: no gluten-containing ingredients (ie, wheat, rye, barley, oats or derivatives). High in Calcium: at least 200mg of calcium per…

access_time2 min.
super food ideas

Editor Amira Georgy, amira.georgy@news.com.au Food Director Claire Brookman, claire.brookman@news.com.au Food Editors Louise Patniotis, Lucy Nunes Creative Director Sarah Cooper, sarah.cooper@news.com.au Designer Malloree Nicholls, malloree.nicholls@news.com.au Chief Sub-editor Leigh Livingstone Sub-editor Francesca Percy Editorial Coordinator Imogen Rafferty, imogen.rafferty1@news.com.au Recipe Analysis Susanna Holt Reader & editorial enquiries (02) 8045 4891, superfoodideas@news.com.au ADVERTISING New South Wales General Manager, Newsamp – National Renee Sycamore Client Solutions Director – Food – National Ed Faith Client Solutions Managers – Food Donna Hodges, (02) 8045 4734, donna.hodges@news.com.au MJ Deluca, (02) 8045 4673, melinda.deluca@news.com.au Client Solutions Specialists – Food Laura Stevens, (02) 8114 7594, laura.stevens@news.com.au Elizabeth Hamilton, (02) 9078 6425, elizabeth.hamilton@news.com.au Lucy Tootill, (02) 8045 4674, lucy.tootill@news.com.au Victoria Group Client Solutions Manager Eugene Loane, 0431 198 478, eugene.loane@news.com.au Client Solutions Manager Charmaine Wu, (03) 9292 1597, charmaine.wu@news.com.au Client Solutions Specialist Tatiana Sumpter, (03) 9292 3223, tatiana.sumpter@news.com.au Queensland Head of Newsamp Nicole Commerford, (07) 3666 6386, nicole.commerford@news.com.au South Australia Group Sales Director…

help