EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
Women's Lifestyle
Woman's World

Woman's World December 30, 2019

A great week made easy! Woman's World is written for the traditional, family-oriented working woman. Each issue delivers a feel-good mix of heart-warming human interest stories, practical everyday solutions for work and home, and mouth-watering recipes.

Country:
United States
Language:
English
Publisher:
Heinrich Bauer Publishing, L. P.
Read More
BUY ISSUE
$4.48(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$111.38(Incl. tax)
52 Issues

in this issue

3 min.
fill your week with smiles!

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 31 NATIONAL CHAMPAGNE DAY Toast to the new year! Raise a glass to 2020 with a festive Champagne cocktail from Megan Hastings of ADashOfMegNut.com. “The combo of cranberry juice, rosemary and Champagne is absolutely divine,” she says. “You only need a few ingredients, but it looks impressive!” To make Hastings’ Cranberry Mimosa: Fill 6 champagne flutes halfway with cranberry juice. Top each off with Champagne or prosecco. Garnish with a sprig of fresh rosemary and sugared (or plain) cranberries on a tooth-pick if desired. Makes 6 cocktails. THURSDAY, JANUARY 2 NATIONAL MOTIVATION AND INSPIRATION DAY Cheer ‘you’ on If you made a New Year’s resolution, ensure success by talking to yourself in the second person, suggest researchers at the School of Sport, Health & Exercise Sciences at Bangor University in the U.K. They found…

3 min.
relax and have fun this week

TV: NBC Celebrate the New Year with Rita Moreno and the Tournament of Roses! Ring in 2020 with a tradition that always delights as the 131st Tournament of Roses parade steps off on New Year’s Day! This year’s festivities feature three grand marshalls: Broadway icon Rita Moreno, actress Gina Torres and gymnast Laurie Hernandez. More than 40 elaborate flower-covered floats designed around the theme of “The Power of Hope” will parade along the streets of Pasadena, California, along with spirited marching bands and high-stepping equestrian units. HALLMARK Get swept away with A Royal New Year’s Eve! Can “happily ever after” overcome royal obstacles? Magazine assistant and aspiring fashion designer Caitlyn’s world is turned upside down when Prince Jeffrey and his presumed future fiancée, Lady Isabelle, come to town, and Isabelle hires her to design a…

1 min.
it happened this week!

• Mary Tyler Moore was born in 1936. She won her first Emmy for her role on The Dick Van Dyke Show. • The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inducted its first female artist, Queen of Soul Aretha Franklin, in 1987. • Fantasia 2000 hit IMAX theaters in 2000, 60 years after the original. The sorcerer is named Yen Sid—Disney backward! • Jude Law was born in 1972. He started acting at age 12 and dropped out of school at 17 to star in a day-time soap opera called Families. • Pat Benatar had a top-10 hit with “Love Is a Battlefield” in 1983. It won her a Grammy for Best Rock Vocal Performance.…

2 min.
this week’s best new books

Fiction HISTORICAL FICTION A Trace of Deceit by Karen Odden Victorian-era London comes to life in this mysterious, richly-detailed saga. Annabel Rowe is convinced her brother, Edwin, was murdered. And when a valuable French painting goes missing from his studio, Annabel believes the theft is somehow tied to his death. Determined to uncover the truth at all costs, she soon finds herself tangled in an eerie world of politics, corruption and secrets someone will kill to keep. FAMILY SAGA Regretting You by Colleen Hoover For fans of P.S. I Love You and One Day, Colleen Hoover’s new novel delivers moments that are heartbreaking and heartfelt. The plot follows Morgan Grant and her 16-year-old daughter, Clara, who struggle to get along. Chris, Morgan’s husband and Clara’s father, is the anchor who brings peace to their family. So…

4 min.
“we want people to know: ‘you matter & are loved!’”

Holly Jackson was driving home one crisp November afternoon in 2018, when a group of people walking along the sidewalk in shabby clothes caught her eye. With the air cold enough to see your breath, the Cleveland woman was surprised to see the adults and children without coats, hats or gloves…and even wearing flip-flops! Her heart sank as she realized they were homeless. As she drove to her comfortable middle-class house, Holly couldn’t get those shivering people out of her mind or heart—because she knew exactly what it was like to be out on the street with nothing. Nearly three decades earlier, Holly had left her Akron, Ohio, home with nothing but the clothes on her back. Seven months pregnant, she’d finally summoned the courage to leave her abusive husband. With no place…

1 min.
3 expert tips for turning hardship into hope!

1 Revisit happy moments When life gets tough, pause and think back to a beautiful moment when you felt pure joy, advises Friedemann Schaub, M.D., Ph.D., author of The Fear & Anxiety Solution. “Maybe it’s when you met your spouse or while you were on an amazing vacation,” he says. “Remembering positive experiences helps counter any negative beliefs rooted in our subconscious and creates new, positive patterns in the brain.” 2 Write a ‘strengths’ letter Each night, write down three things that you’re proud of like, I had a productive meeting with my boss today, or I had a good talk with my child, suggests Dr. Schaub. “Then ask, What do these things say about me? They may say you’re a good communicator or that you are very compassionate. Doing this helps you…