ZINIO logo
EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
Women's Lifestyle
Woman's World

Woman's World June 8, 2020

A great week made easy! Woman's World is written for the traditional, family-oriented working woman. Each issue delivers a feel-good mix of heart-warming human interest stories, practical everyday solutions for work and home, and mouth-watering recipes.

Read More
Country:
United States
Language:
English
Publisher:
Heinrich Bauer Publishing, L. P.
Frequency:
Weekly
SPECIAL: Save 50% on your subscription!
BUY ISSUE
$3.89(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$97.02$48.51(Incl. tax)
52 Issues

in this issue

3 min.
fill your week with smiles!

FRIDAY, JUNE 12 RED ROSE DAY Give yourself a treat! Brighten your day with a beautiful bouquet! “This lush, textured collection of garden roses provides a pop of color and enhances any space,” says BloomNation.com florist Deidra Champagne, creative director at Flowering Events in Atlanta. To make: Gather 3 roses (lower leaves removed) in your hand, then add snippets of foliage and about 9 more roses one by one, forming a rounded floral mound. Use pipe cleaners to tie stems together. Drop into a pretty vase, like this decorative mercury glass vessel, and refresh water daily. Gorgeous! WEDNESDAY JUNE 10 NATIONAL ICED TEA DAY Spike your tea! “The only thing that could make sweet tea better is the addition of frozen peaches and vodka,” say Kat and Melinda of HomemadeInterest.com. It’s the perfect summer sip!…

3 min.
relax and have fun this week

APPLE TV+ Thrill to the twists and turns of Truth Be Told! Did a true-crime reporter help convict the wrong person? When new evidence compels podcaster Poppy Parnell (played by Octavia Spencer) to reopen the 20-year-old murder case that made her a national sensation, she comes face-to-face with the man she may have mistakenly helped to put behind bars. As she reinvestigates, she puts herself at risk from her own family, the adult twin daughters of the victim and the supposed murderer himself. See how it all unfolds with season one streaming now. DVD Feel like a teen again with Urban Cowboy! It’s been 40 years since audiences first saw this Texas-sized look at the country-western way of life starring John Travolta and Debra Winger! Bud Davis works at an oil refinery by day, and…

1 min.
it happened this week!

• E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial was released in 1986. The alien’s face was modeled after poet Carl Sandburg, Albert Einstein and a pug dog. • Cyndi Lauper’s “Time After Time” topped charts in 1984. • She wrote it after seeing a TV Guide blurb on a movie with the same title. • Crayola Crayons were created in 1903. Originally just eight colors to choose from, there are now 120 shades. • Ferris Bueller’s Day Off hit theaters in 1986. The famous parade scene was spontaneously filmed during Chicago’s Von Steuben Day Parade. • The Lassieradio program debuted in 1947. It inspired the 1954 Emmy Award–winning TV show, which lasted 19 years.…

2 min.
this week’s best new books

Fiction HISTORICAL FICTION The Jane Austen Society by Natalie Jenner Fans of Pride & Prejudice will rejoice over this charming debut novel centered around legendary author Jane Austen. This tale begins after the Second World War, in the English village of Chawton, which was once Jane’s home. So when the late author’s legacy is threatened, a medley of villagers—a laborer, a widow, a doctor, a movie star and more—come together to preserve her name and end up forging lifechanging bonds. Delightful! ROMANCE When You Wish Upon a Rogue by Anna Bennett by Anna Bennett Award-winning author Anna Bennett returns with the third installment in her steamy Regency-era Debutante Diaries series. Sophie Kendall is caught trespassing on the Earl of Warshire Henry Reese’s property while scouting out a meeting spot for her secret Debutante group. In a…

2 min.
“spreading joy is such a gift!”

Sandy Cambron’s eyes filled with tears as she watched a smile break out on her mother-in-law Pearl’s face. For months, Sandy and her husband, Wayne, had watched in desperation as Pearl became withdrawn and quiet after being diagnosed with Alzheimer’s and moving into a nursing home in Shepherdsville, Kentucky. She and Wayne had tried to lift Pearl’s spirits with photos and old stories, but nothing helped. So when the nursing staff said that cuddling something like a stuffed animal could bring comfort, they headed to the toy store. As Sandy came upon the doll aisle, she had an idea: Why not try a baby doll? And days later, as she nestled the doll in Pearl’s arms, something immediately shifted. “She never goes anywhere without it!” the staff reported as Pearl came alive again.…

1 min.
3 easy ways to help seniors during covid season!

1 Send love with a letter Join LoveForTheElderly.org to write letters to seniors in nursing homes who can’t have visitors. Click the “Projects” tab, then click “Letters of Love” to find instructions on how to get started. 2 Join a ‘Help Map’ Download the free Nextdoor app and connect with neighbors via the “Help Map.” You can list the services you are willing to provide, and people in need can contact you directly to easily ask for aid. 3 Drop off food Consider leaving a bag of nonperishable groceries or canned goods on the doorstep of an elderly neighbor. Or visit FeedingAmerica.org to locate a food bank where you can donate! We pay $200! Share your own inspiring story with us, and we’ll pay you $200 if we publish it! Read or heard someone else’s story you…