DÉCOUVRIRBIBLIOTHÈQUE
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Art et Architecture
Fine Art ConnoisseurFine Art Connoisseur

Fine Art Connoisseur

July/August 2019

art magazine for collectors of fine art

Pays:
United States
Langue:
English
Éditeur:
Streamline Publishing
Lire pluskeyboard_arrow_down
J'ACHÈTE CE NUMÉRO
6,49 €(TVA Incluse)
JE M'ABONNE
30,78 €(TVA Incluse)
6 Numéros

DANS CE NUMÉRO

access_time1 min.
fine art connoisseur

Art should be independent of all clap-trap — should stand alone, and appeal to the artistic sense of eye and ear, without confounding this with emotions entirely foreign to it, as devotion, pity, love, patriotism, and the like.— James McNeill Whistler, 1878 James McNeill Whistler (1834–1903), J. Becquet, Sculptor, 1859, etching, drypoint, and ink on paper, 10 x 7 1/2 in., Frick Collection, New York City, photo:Michael Bodycomb; on view at the Frick through September 1 in the exhibition Whistler as Printmaker: Highlights from the Gertrude Kosovsky Collection…

access_time1 min.
fine art connoisseur us

PUBLISHER B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads facebook.com/eric.rhoads ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER Scott Jones sjones@streamlinepublishing.com 406.871.0649 EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Peter Trippi peter.trippi@gmail.com 917.968.4 476 MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com 702.299.0417 CONTRIBUTING WRITERS Matthias AndersonMax GilliesChuck NeustifterCharles Raskob RobinsonKelly ComptonDavid MaselloLouise Nicholson CREATIVE DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonsostreamline@gmail.com 561.327.6033 ART DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kenneth.whitney@gmail.com 561.655.8778 VICE PRESIDENT OF SALES Bob Hogan bhogan@streamlinepublishing.com 206.321.8990 NATIONAL MARKETING MANAGER Yvonne Van Wechel y vonnevanwechel@gmail.com 602.810.3518 REGIONAL MARKETING MANAGERS Krystal Allen West Coast krystalallen2@gmail.com 541.4 47.4787 Scott Jones Western sjones@streamlinepublishing.com 406.871.0649 Tracey Norvell Mid-Atlantic/Southeasttenwriter@gmail.com 918.519.0141 Gina Ward Central gwardart@gmail.com 920.743.2405 Mary Green Northeast & International mgreen@streamlinepublishing.com 508.230.9928 DIGITAL AD MANAGER Sarah Webb swebb@streamlinepublishing.com 630.4 45.9182 EDITOR, FINE ART TODAY Cherie Haas chaas@streamlinepublishing.com CHAIRMAN/PUBLISHER/CEO B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com facebook.com/eric.rhoads. Twitter: @ericrhoads EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT/ CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER Tom Elmo thomaselmo@gmail.com PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Nicolynn Kuper nkuper@streamlinepublishing.com DIRECTOR OF FINANCE Laura Iserman liserman@streamlinepublishing.com CONTROLLER Jaime Osetek jaime@streamlinepublishing.com CIRCULATION COORDINATOR Sue Henry shenry@streamlinepublishing.com CUSTOMER SERVICE COORDINATOR Chad Slade cslade@streamlinepublishing.com CREATIVE DIRECTOR, ADVERTISING Stephen Parker sparker@streamlinepublishingng.com ASSISTANT TO THE CHAIRMAN Ali Cruickshank acruickshank@streamlinepublishing.com…

access_time3 min.
the passing of legends

Unlike the rest of us — whose names might one day be noted only by cemetery visitors stepping around our tombstones — some artists have the rare privilege of being acknowledged into the distant future thanks to their lasting creations. As their admirers, we rightly hope to own such a treasure. More likely, museums proudly hang the works of these masters, and so some, like Rembrandt, who died exactly 350 years ago, remain very much with us. Hundreds of volumes about this Dutch genius have been published, and hopefully our collective interest in him will endure. A couple of years ago, when a well-known artist friend of mine passed away, I mentioned to an art expert that the artist’s prices would soon soar, to which he responded, “Not true.” Naturally I wondered…

access_time3 min.
asking your audience

Recently I was reminded that getting more brains on a problem is better than fewer. The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston has always been admired for the expertise of its curators, who have built up an especially strong track record in the paintings of John Singer Sargent (1856–1925).* Knowledgeable as they are, curators Erica Hirshler (American paintings) and Pam Parmal (textiles and fashion arts) teamed up with the museum’s educators earlier this year to mount an intriguing display that shows how inclusivity can benefit everybody. On view at the MFA for seven months (it closed in late June), Exhibition Lab: Sargent and Fashion was devised in anticipation of a major show that will be on view at Tate Britain (London) in 2021 and then in Boston the following year. It seems…

access_time3 min.
auction

By 1909, the last year of Frederic Remington’s life, the prospects for cowboys and Indians continuing their ways of life on the Great Plains were not promising. The Wild West was morphing fast into the Old West. Peter Hassrick, director emeritus and senior scholar of Wyoming’s Buffalo Bill Center of the West, sees that reality embodied in Casuals on the Range, which will be offered in the Coeur d’Alene Art Auction in Reno this July. In his essay for the sale catalogue, Hassrick writes, “Perhaps the artist was trying to suggest that both the cowboy and the Indian saw their lifeways imperiled at this time, so they were bonded by sharing a mutual, externally imposed threat.” He notes how “the two protagonists face one another, their horses’ necks are almost intertwined…

access_time3 min.
favorite

THOMAS P. FARLEY “Mister Manners” on The Today Show; Founder of What Manners Most Thomas Farley’s favorite work of art is one he didn’t particularly care for at first sight. “Its appeal is not the technique or the colors, but rather the mystery surrounding it,” he explains, referring to The Love Letter — painted by the Finnish artist Albert Edelfelt (1854–1905) — which had long been in his family’s possession. “Who was this elegantly dressed 19th-century woman, what message is contained in the letter she is reading, and how did my grandfather’s family come to acquire this work?” These were the matters that intrigued Farley when the painting suddenly came to light in a basement that had recently been flooded. In 1997, when he carried the work, wrapped in brown kraft paper,…

NUMÉROS SPÉCIAUX

help