DÉCOUVRIRBIBLIOTHÈQUEMAGAZINES
CATÉGORIES
  • Art et Architecture
  • Aviation et Bateau
  • Business et Finance
  • Auto et Moto
  • Presse people
  • Comics & Manga
  • Artisanat
  • Culture et Littérature
  • Famille et Éducation
  • Mode
  • Cuisine et Vin
  • Forme et Santé
  • Maison et Jardin
  • Chasse et Pêche
  • Jeunesse
  • Luxe
  • Presse Masculine
  • Film, Télé et Musique
  • Actualité et politiques
  • Photographie
  • Science
  • Sports
  • Tech et Jeux Vidéo
  • Voyages et Plein air
  • Presse Feminine
  • Adulte
SÉLECTION DU JOUR
DÉCOUVRIRBIBLIOTHÈQUE
Business et Finance
Radio Ink Magazine

Radio Ink Magazine

February 10, 2020

Don't let the Radio revolution pass you by. Get your digital subscription to Radio Ink Magazine. Published 14 times per year, your annual subscription includes these popular issues: The 40 Most Powerful People in Radio The Executive of the Year Issue The Best Program Directors in America The 25 Most Influential Women in Radio The 20 Most Successful African-Americans in Radio Subscribe to the digital Radio Ink and save 50% off the print version!

Pays:
United States
Langue:
English
Éditeur:
Streamline Publishing
Lire plus
J'ACHÈTE CE NUMÉRO
9,57 €(TVA Incluse)
JE M'ABONNE
47,90 €(TVA Incluse)
14 Numéros

Dans ce numéro

1 min.
radio ink magazine

EVP/PUBLISHER Deborah Parenti dparenti@streamlinepublishing.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Ed Ryan edryantheeditor@gmail.com MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Rob Dumke rdumke@streamlinepublishing.com COPY EDITOR Adrian Zupp azstreamlinepub@gmail.com DESIGN DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonso.streamline@gmail.com CREATIVE DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kenneth.whitney@gmail.com PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Nicolynn Kuper nkuper@streamlinepublishing.com DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS April McLynn amclynn@streamlinepublishing.com NATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER Tracey Homberg 248-330-4595 thomberg@streamlinepublishing.com NATIONAL MARKETING EXECUTIVE Carl Marcucci 703-670-2860 cmarcucci@streamlinepublishing.com ADVERTISING/MARKETING CONSULTANT George Wymer 937-609-6778 gwymer@streamlinepublishing.com CHAIRMAN/CEO B. Eric Rhoads erhoads@streamlinepublishing.com Twitter: @ericrhoads Facebook: ericrhoads EXEC. VP/COO Tom Elmo telmo@streamlinepublishing.com DIRECTOR OF FINANCE Laura Iserman laura@streamlinepublishing.com CONTROLLER Jaime Osetek jaime@streamlinepublishing.com CIRCULATION COORDINATOR Sue Henry shenry@streamlinepublishing.com EXECUTIVE EDITOR EMERITUS Dwight Case (1929-2019)…

3 min.
the fallacy of survivorship bias

“A stupid decision that works out well becomes a brilliant decision in hindsight.” — Daniel Kahneman It’s a human trait most of us can relate to, one that both inspires dreamers and nourishes path seekers. It’s the age-old story of someone who defies all the odds to come out a winner. They started in a garage, didn’t graduate from college, peddled their product door-to-door, and eventually became industry icons, admired and respected in their field of expertise. Or they overcome physical limitations, poverty, or graduating at the bottom of their class, only to rise like cream to the top of their profession. These are great stories, ones that drive us to hang on a little longer and strive a little harder. And there’s nothing wrong with dreaming “the impossible dream.” Still, a strong argument can…

3 min.
making silk purses from sows’ ears

My most successful ads are typically the ones where I refrain from using logic, and choose instead to speak to the unconscious mind. Advertise your client’s product to the conscious mind of the customer and you will likely be met with doubt, lack of interest, and suspicion. But the unconscious mind greets you with none of these. Speaking to the unconscious is not nearly so complicated as it sounds. Here’s a recent example. A big jewelry store asked for ads that would trigger interest in star sapphires and in custom jewelry. The instructions I was given were typical of those received by most ad writers: “What makes a star sapphire different from regular sapphires is the asterism that lends a mystical element. Asterism is caused by small needle-like inclusions of the mineral rutile.…

5 min.
why varo money chose radio to grow

Colin Walsh started Varo Money four years ago. His goal is to create the first fully digital bank in America because, he says, the banking system as it is set up today is not working for consumers. To accomplish his goal, he turned to radio to help get his message out. In late 2019, Varo Money announced a multimillion-dollar three-year marketing campaign with iHeartMedia. As part of the campaign, Varo plans to use all of iHeart’s platforms to promote the company, with radio being the workhorse. Radio Ink spoke to Walsh about why he chose radio and how he plans to use the medium to help his company grow and succeed. Radio Ink: Why did you decide to use radio to help get the word out? Colin Walsh: There are so many people…

4 min.
faith in radio makes mortgage lender successful

Michael Rakeman and Brian Schiele have been helping people achieve the American dream of home ownership since 2002, and they took a leap of faith in September 2015, starting Fellowship Home Loans. Licensed in nearly 30 states, this NYC-based direct lender uses local radio and national syndicated radio, through Salem Radio Network, to connect with customers coast to coast. Rakeman shared with Radio Ink how the power of radio sets FHL apart from other mortgage companies. Radio Ink: You are in a very competitive business. What makes Fellowship Home Loans different? Rakeman: Mortgage companies are a dime a dozen these days. We are a direct lender. We use the same tools as other businesses, but the difference here is the people who make up the company. In every aspect of our business,…

3 min.
what radio needs to do better

This is one of my favorite questions to ponder. It has always amazed me how radio can be so vertical, even to its detriment. Most of us started out selling, and we sold one AM and one FM. Consolidation hit, and all of a sudden we were responsible for selling seven stations or more. As a whole, radio performed very poorly at maximizing all these new revenue streams. In smaller markets that did not or were not able to have separate staffs, we still had one or two dominant stations that received all the attention and the lion’s share of the revenue. Now we are adding digital products, and as an industry, we are failing. Radio is 8% or so of the total advertising pie. Digital is now exceeding 50%. Again,…