ONTDEKKENBIBLIOTHEEK
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Films, TV & Muziek
GuitaristGuitarist

Guitarist

Summer 2019

Guitarist is the longest established UK guitar magazine. You'll find authoritative gear reviews, artist interviews, technique lessons and advice. Plus, Guitarist's digital edition now includes all of the same audio and video content as the print edition; available to download from a special area of the Guitarist website!

Land:
United Kingdom
Taal:
English
Uitgever:
Future Publishing Ltd
Meer lezenkeyboard_arrow_down
EDITIE KOPEN
4,75 €(Incl. btw)
ABONNEREN
38,08 €(Incl. btw)
13 Edities

IN DEZE EDITIE

access_time2 min.
old habits

This month’s feature on customising guitars once again underscored the importance of not getting too settled in your ways. For example, I have a very nice S-type guitar that a luthier friend made for me. It has a slightly chunkier neck profile than is usual for a Strat-type instrument and, combined with the 0.010-gauge strings he provided it with, it delivered absolutely beautiful tone – warm, expressive and classic. However, while perfectly playable, it was slightly harder work to get around the fretboard than on some of the slinkier guitars that cross my path at Guitarist. Without really meaning to, I started thinking of it as a great-sounding guitar but one that made you work for it slightly. No great shakes, just something you get used to. But you really have…

access_time1 min.
guitarist

ART EDITOR Darren Phillips darren.phillips@futurenet.com MANAGING EDITOR Lucy Rice lucy.rice@futurenet.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Jamie Dickson jamie.dickson@futurenet.com DEPUTY EDITOR David Mead david.mead@futurenet.com CONTENT DIRECTOR, MUSIC Scott Rowley scott.rowley@futurenet.com REVIEWS EDITOR Dave Burrluck dave@daveburrluck.com SENIOR MUSIC EDITOR Jason Sidwell jason.sidwell@futurenet.com CONTRIBUTORS RICHARD BARRETT, ROD BRAKES, ADRIAN CLARK, TREVOR CURWEN, ADAM GOLDSMITH, NICK GUPPY, PHIL HILBORNE, MARTIN HOLMES, RICHARD HOOD, ROB LAING, NEVILLE MARTEN, ED MITCHELL, ROGER NEWELL, NIGEL PULSFORD, REED R RADCLIFFE, DAVINA RUNGASAMY, ADRIAN THORPE IN-HOUSE PHOTOGRAPHY PHIL BARKER, OLLY CURTIS, ADAM GASSON, NEIL GODWIN, JOBY SESSIONS ADVERTISING CHIEF REVENUE DIRECTOR Zack Sullivan zack.sullivan@futurenet.com UK COMMERCIAL SALES DIRECTOR Clare Dove clare.dove@futurenet.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTOR Lara Jaggon lara.jaggon@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Alison Watson alison.watson@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Guy Meredith guy.meredith@futurenet.com MARKETING MAGAZINE MARKETING DIRECTOR Sharon Todd sharon.todd@futurenet.com HEAD OF ACQUISITIONS Helen Harding helen.harding@futurenet.com ACQUISITIONS CAMPAIGN MANAGER Tom Cooper tom.cooper@futurenet.com ACQUISITIONS MARKETING EXECUTIVE Jessica Weatherbed jessica.weatherbed@futurenet.com PRINT & PRODUCTION HEAD OF PRODUCTION UK & US Mark Constance mark.constance@futurenet.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Frances Twentyman frances.twentyman@futurenet.com PRODUCTION PROJECT MANAGER Clare…

access_time7 min.
jangle unchained

It’s 23 August 1966. The Warwick Hotel in New York City. As a press conference with The Beatles draws to a close, a young man steps forward brandishing a guitar. Mark Dronge – the son of Guild Guitars founder, Alfred Dronge – mounts the platform where John, Paul, George and Ringo remain seated behind a long table. “George thought the guitar was for him,” Mark Dronge later recalled. “He was annoyed when I passed him and presented the guitar to John…” The guitar John Lennon received that day was a Guild Starfire XII, a 12-string double-cutaway semi-acoustic with a brown stain finish, gold hardware and a pair of DeArmond 2000 single-coil pickups. The idea to get the guitar into a Beatle’s hands, and score the big sales like Gretsch and Rickenbacker had…

access_time1 min.
guild starfire iv st-12

PRICE: £1,189 (inc case) ORIGIN: Korea TYPE: Twin-cutaway semi-acoustic electric 12-string guitar BODY: Laminated mahogany, with centre block NECK: Mahogany with maple centre strip, glued-in SCALE LENGTH: 629mm (24.75”) NUT/WIDTH: Bone/45mm FINGERBOARD: Indian rosewood or ebony (depending on date of manufacture) with pearloid dot inlays, 240mm (9.5”) radius FRETS: 22, narrow jumbo HARDWARE: Nickel tune-o-matic anchored 6-saddle bridge and stop tailpiece, 18:1 ratio closed die-cast tuners STRING SPACING, BRIDGE: 54mm ELECTRICS: 2x Guild LB-1 humbuckers, 2x volume, 2x tone, 3-way pickup selector toggle switch WEIGHT (kg/lb): 3.4/7.11 OPTIONS: None RANGE OPTIONS: None LEFT-HANDERS: No FINISHES: Cherry Red (as reviewed), Shoreline Mist Selectron UK 01795 419460 www.guildguitars.com PROS This reboot of a throwback offers sweet looks, tonal versatility, and one of the most playable 12-string necks we’ve encountered CONS There’s really nowt worth grumbling about…

access_time6 min.
golden era

This year marks the 50th birthday of the legendary Californian amp builder Mesa Engineering, founded by amp hot-rodder Randall Smith, who profoundly influenced the electric guitar universe with a steady stream of game-changing innovations developed from the original cascaded gain Boogie amplifier series. As if the Boogie wasn’t enough, Mesa precipitated another paradigm shift in the early 1990s with the creation of the Dual Rectifier, which quickly became the benchmark for modern rock guitar tone, imitated by practically every digital modelling plug-in ever since. We’d hazard a guess that most people’s concept of a Mesa amplifier would include lots of functions and dozens of switches and knobs. However, from time to time, Mesa has tested the market with simpler stripped-down niche designs that draw on the brand’s heritage as the original…

access_time1 min.
mesa engineering california tweed 1x12 combo

PRICE: £2,550 ORIGIN: USA TYPE: Valve preamp, power amp OUTPUT: 40W RMS, switchable to 30, 20, 10 and 2W VALVES: 5x 12AX7, 1x 12AT7, 4x 6V6 DIMENSIONS: 490 (h) x 580 (w) x 265mm (d) WEIGHT (kg/lb): 22/49 CABINET: Birch ply LOUDSPEAKER: 1x12”Jensen Blackbird Alnico CHANNELS: 1 CONTROLS: Gain, bass, mid, treble, presence, master volume, reverb, Multi-Watt selector FOOTSWITCH: Standard latching 1-button footswitch (not supplied) toggles reverb effect ADDITIONAL FEATURES: Multi-watt power switching, offering 5 choices of power, wiring and operating class, from 40W down to 2W. Series effects loop, spring reverb, extension speaker jacks OPTIONS: A wide range of finish options is available – contact dealer for details RANGE OPTIONS: The California Tweed is also available in head format (£2,275) with matching 1x12 and 2x12 cabinets at £799 and £1,199 respectively Westside Distribution 0844 326 2000 www.mesaboogie.com PROS Off-the-scale tone and response – a fitting…

help