ONTDEKKENBIBLIOTHEEKTIJDSCHRIFTEN
CATEGORIEËN
  • Kunst & Architectuur
  • Boten & Vliegtuigen
  • Business & Financiën
  • Auto's & Motoren
  • Showbizz & Roddels
  • Comics & Manga
  • Handwerk
  • Cultuur & Literatuur
  • Familie & Opvoeding
  • Fashion
  • Eten & Wijn
  • Gezondheid & Fitness
  • Huis & Tuin
  • Jagen & Vissen
  • Kinderen & Tieners
  • Luxe
  • Lifestyle Mannen
  • Films, TV & Muziek
  • Nieuws & Politiek
  • Fotografie
  • Wetenschap
  • Sport
  • Tech & Gaming
  • Reizen & Outdoor
  • Lifestyle Vrouwen
  • Volwassenen
FEATURED
ONTDEKKENBIBLIOTHEEK
 / Films, TV & Muziek
Guitarist

Guitarist

January 2020

Guitarist is the longest established UK guitar magazine. You'll find authoritative gear reviews, artist interviews, technique lessons and advice. Plus, Guitarist's digital edition now includes all of the same audio and video content as the print edition; available to download from a special area of the Guitarist website!

Land:
United Kingdom
Taal:
English
Uitgever:
Future Publishing Ltd
Meer lezen
EDITIE KOPEN
4,80 €(Incl. btw)
ABONNEREN
38,45 €(Incl. btw)
13 Edities

IN DEZE EDITIE

2 min.
gone but not forgotten

As we were putting together this month’s cavalcade of GAS-worthy gear, the Guitarist team got talking about about the guitars we regretted letting go – and the guitars, often laughably short-lived, that we bought with the proceeds instead. Nev Marten, editor of Guitar Techniques, still regrets selling a pair of John Cruz-built Custom Shop Fenders (a Strat and a Tele) he once owned, both were Sunburst and had consecutive serial numbers. Rather less grandly, I regret a Charvel Model 7 that was sold to me by Dan Hawkins of The Darkness when we were teenagers, the first proper electric guitar I ever owned. It was an odd fish, like a Telecaster but with a neck so thin that it should have been supporting an Orange Mivvi ice-lolly instead of frets.…

1 min.
guitarist

EDITORIAL ART EDITOR Darren Phillips darren.phillips@futurenet.com MANAGING EDITOR Lucy Rice lucy.rice@futurenet.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Jamie Dickson jamie.dickson@futurenet.com DEPUTY EDITOR David Mead david.mead@futurenet.com CONTENT DIRECTOR, MUSIC Scott Rowley scott.rowley@futurenet.com REVIEWS EDITOR Dave Burrluck dave@daveburrluck.com SENIOR MUSIC EDITOR Jason Sidwell jason.sidwell@futurenet.com CONTRIBUTORS RICHARD BARRETT, ROD BRAKES, TREVOR CURWEN, ADAM GOLDSMITH, NICK GUPPY, MARTIN HOLMES, RICHARD HOOD, CATHERINE KIRKPATRICK, ROB LAING, NEVILLE MARTEN, ED MITCHELL, ROGER NEWELL, NIGEL PULSFORD, DAVINA RUNGASAMY, JAMIE SCHILDHAUER, ADRIAN THORPE, HENRY YATES IN-HOUSE PHOTOGRAPHY PHIL BARKER, OLLY CURTIS, NEIL GODWIN ADVERTISING CHIEF REVENUE DIRECTOR Zack Sullivan zack.sullivan@futurenet.com UK COMMERCIAL SALES DIRECTOR Clare Dove clare.dove@futurenet.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTOR Lara Jaggon lara.jaggon@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Alison Watson alison.watson@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Guy Meredith guy.meredith@futurenet.com MARKETING MAGAZINE MARKETING DIRECTOR Sharon Todd sharon.todd@futurenet.com HEAD OF ACQUISITIONS Helen Harding helen.harding@futurenet.com ACQUISITIONS CAMPAIGN MANAGER Tom Cooper tom.cooper@futurenet.com ACQUISITIONS MARKETING EXECUTIVE Jessica Weatherbed jessica.weatherbed@futurenet.com PRINT & PRODUCTION HEAD OF PRODUCTION UK & US Mark Constance mark.constance@futurenet.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Frances Twentyman frances.twentyman@futurenet.com PRODUCTION PROJECT MANAGER Clare Scott clare.scott@futurenet.com ADVERTISING PRODUCTION MANAGER Jo…

7 min.
shimmer switch

Building an acoustic guitar isn’t exactly rocket science, or is it? Spend a few minutes talking to Andy Powers, Taylor’s chief designer and father of the company’s V-Class bracing system, and you might begin to think otherwise. Tuning a 12-string is, for many, an onerous task, and the end result is often a compromise, but Taylor might just be offering frustrated 12-string veterans a little light at the end of the tunnel with its new 562ce. It’s the first 12-string in the catalogue that includes the V-Class bracing system, but the refinements haven’t stopped there. Andy has thought the entire process through and made a few design tweaks here and there that could usher in a brave new world of tuneful 12-string sonority. The eagle-eyed might have noticed the first of…

1 min.
taylor 562ce 12-string v-class

PRICE: £3,378 (inc case) ORIGIN: USA TYPE: Grand Concert 12-string cutaway acoustic TOP: Mahogany BACK/SIDES: Mahogany MAX RIM DEPTH: 111mm MAX BODY WIDTH: 381mm NECK: Mahogany SCALE LENGTH: 632mm (24.8”) TUNERS: Taylor nickel NUT/WIDTH: Tusq/47.6mm FINGERBOARD: Ebony FRETS: 18 BRIDGE/SPACING: Ebony w/ Micarta saddle/70mm ELECTRICS: Taylor Expression System 2 WEIGHT (kg/lb): 1.7/3.7 OPTIONS: Taylor gold-plated tuners, pickguard (black, clear or tortoise), 3-piece back – all at no additional cost. Sitka spruce top, Tobacco or Honey Sunburst finishes, short-scale neck, Gotoh tuners, all at additional cost (see website for price list) RANGE OPTIONS: None, the 562ce is Taylor’s first 12-string guitar with V-Class bracing LEFT-HANDERS: Yes, at no extra cost FINISHES: Gloss Brown Edge Burst Taylor Guitars +31 (0) 206 676030 www.taylorguitars.com PROS Sharply built compact 12-string with great clarity, sustain and tuning stability CONS The price point might put off some casual would-be 12-string players…

7 min.
gold rush

Carlos Santana has been playing PRS guitars virtually exclusively since the early 80s. He’s mainly preferred the pre-production style that Paul himself made before he redesigned both the body and headstock shape to what we know as the Custom – the basis for the modern PRS guitar. Initially, it was a little odd that you couldn’t buy a replica of Carlos’s guitar (that came a little later), but when PRS finally decided to make a more affordable offshore range, the SE, the first model was a Santana signature. The peaks and troughs of Santana’s career aside, we’d guess more people have seen and heard a PRS in the hands of Carlos than any other. In recent years, however, he’s switched from that original-style double-cut to the later Singlecut design, most notably…

1 min.
prs se santana singlecut trem

PRICE: £799 (inc gigbag) ORIGIN: Indonesia TYPE: Single-cutaway solidbody electric BODY: Mahogany NECK: Mahogany, Wide Fat profile, glued-in SCALE LENGTH: 622mm (24.5”) NUT/WIDTH: Friction reducing/42.83mm FINGERBOARD: Rosewood, pearloid bird inlays, 254mm (10”) radius FRETS: 24, medium HARDWARE: PRS patented vibrato (cast), PRS designed tuners–nickel-plated STRING SPACING, BRIDGE: 52.5mm ELECTRICS: PRS TCI ‘S’ Treble and Bass humbuckers, 3-way toggle pickup selector switch, master volume and tone WEIGHT (kg/lb): 4.12/9.1 OPTIONS: None RANGE OPTIONS: The double-cut 24-fret SE Santana also costs £799; the Core Santana Retro starts at £3,900. Other single-cut models with vibrato include the SE Mark Tremonti Standard (£475), SE Mark Tremonti Custom (£799) and Core Tremonti (from £3,499) LEFT-HANDERS: No FINISHES: Egyptian Gold only (as reviewed) PRS Europe 01223 874301 www.prsguitars.com PROS Big, beefy tones with clarity and definition; a very nicely voiced Singlecut that’s more than worth the asking price CONS One colour; no left-handers; no single-coil…