ZINIO logo
ONTDEKKENBIBLIOTHEEK
Wallpaper

Wallpaper September 2020

Get Wallpaper* digital magazine subscription today. Truly international, consistently intelligent and hugely influential, Wallpaper* attracts the most sophisticated global audience by constantly pushing into new creative territories and ensuring its coverage of everything from architecture to motoring, fashion to travel, art to lifestyle, and interiors to jewelry remains unrivaled. Published by TI Media Limited

Meer lezen
Land:
United Kingdom
Taal:
English
Uitgever:
Future Publishing Ltd
Frequentie:
Monthly
€ 7,41(Incl. btw)
€ 88,91(Incl. btw)
12 Edities

in deze editie

2 min
stockists

1017 Alyx 9SM alyxstudio.com A Akris Tel: 44.20 7758 8060 (UK) akris.com Alberta Ferretti Tel: 44.20 7235 2349 (UK) albertaferretti.com Alighieri Tel: 44.20 8065 0302 (UK) alighieri.co.uk Armani Casa armani.com/casa Azucena, from B&B Italia bebitalia.com B Balenciaga balenciaga.com Bally bally.com Béton Brut betonbrut.co.uk Boss Tel: 44.20 7734 7919 (UK) hugoboss.com Bottega Veneta Tel: 44.20 7629 5598 (UK) bottegaveneta.com C Canali canali.com Canificio canificio.com CC-Tapis cc-tapis.com Celine celine.com Chanel Tel: 44.20 7493 5040 (UK) chanel.com Chillida Leku museochillidaleku.com Colville colvilleofficial.com Cristiano Burani cristianoburani.it D David James davidjames.dj Dior Tel: 44.20 7355 5930 (UK) dior.com Dolce & Gabbana Tel: 44.20 7659 9000 (UK) dolcegabbana.it Dunhill dunhill.com E Eduardo Chillida maeght.com Ermenegildo Zegna XXX zegna.com F Fendi Tel: 44.20 7927 4172 (UK) fendi.com G Giobagnara giobagnara.com Giorgio Armani Tel: 44.20 7235 6232 (UK) armani.com Givenchy Tel: 44.20 7199 2919 (UK) givenchy.com Gucci Tel: 44.20 7235 6707 (UK) gucci.com H Hermès Tel: 44.20 7499 8856 (UK) hermes.com I i+i iandijewellery.com Ines inesgloves.com Issey Miyake Tel: 44.20 7851 4620 (UK) isseymiyake.com J Jacob Cohën jacobcohen.it Jil Sander by Lucie and Luke Meier jilsander.com Joseph joseph-fashion.com JW Anderson jwanderson.com L Lanvin Tel: 44.20 7491 1839 (UK) lanvin.com Loewe loewe.com Louis Vuitton Tel: 44.20 7998 6286 (UK) louisvuitton.com M Margaret Howell Tel: 44.20 7009 9009 (UK) margarethowell.co.uk Martinos Antique and Fine Art Gallery martinosart.gr Matchesfashion matchesfashion.com Max Mara Tel: 44.20 7499 7902 (UK) maxmara.com MSGM msgm.com N Nanushka nanushka.com O Of the Wild ofthewild.co.uk P Paco Rabanne pacorabanne.com Paul Smith Tel: 44.20 7493 4565 (UK) paulsmith.com Petar Petrov net-a-porter.com Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg nymphenburg.com Prada prada.com R Raf Simons rafsimons.com S Saint Laurent by Anthony Vaccarello Tel: 44.20 7235 6706 (UK) ysl.com Salvatore Ferragamo ferragamo.com San Lorenzo sanlorenzosilver.it SG…

1 min
guest editors

Design Emergency takes the Wallpaper* reins for a 27-page investigation into design’s response to Covid-19. Paola Antonelli and Alice Rawsthorn on the ingenuity and generosity of designers and makers worldwide, working overtime to protect us from the pandemic and prepare for the radical changes it will introduce to our lives. Plus, Hannah Starkey’s London in lockdown; Bahamian artist Tavares Strachan; Italian architect Paolo Portoghesi; and designing from a distance with American Hardwood. ON SALE 17 SEPTEMBER…

2 min
master clash

Joyful new jewellery is part of an A/W20 collection at Dior Men that salutes the late stylist and accessories designer Judy Blame, who passed away two years ago. ‘It was important to pay respect to someone who inspired me,’ says Kim Jones, Dior Men’s artistic director. Blame’s work referenced punk, new romantic and rave culture, creating an art wholly his own. ‘What I admire most is that he could make something beautiful out of absolutely anything. We’ve replicated a lot of his work and Dior-ised it,’ continues Jones. Blame’s fascination with the quotidian is translated into bold jewellery pieces that disregard standard proportions. Safety pins, a mainstay of his style, are recast in rhodium-finish brass and piled haphazardly onto rings; juxtaposed against tightly knit chains, the sharp geometric outlines emphasise the…

4 min
place maker

It’s exactly two decades since Giorgio Armani launched his Armani Casa label, bringing his geometric lines and striking proportions into the realm of interiors. In addition to a now extensive range of furniture, Armani Casa has collaborated with industry-leading partners including Dada (part of the Molteni Group) on kitchens, Roca on bathroom fixtures, Rubelli on textiles, and Jannelli & Volpi on wall coverings. It also has its own interior design studio, responsible for Armani-branded hotels and luxury residences. Mr Armani is rightfully proud of how far his design label has come. ‘I successfully and independently expanded into sectors beyond fashion to offer my all-embracing philosophy of lifestyle. I can say this is an enormous achievement,’ he says. Still, mindful of the current climate, he has eschewed the usual anniversary fanfare, instead…

2 min
contributors

LIZ JOHNSON ARTUR Photographer ‘David Adjaye was my first Zoom portrait,’ says Johnson Artur, who also shot Samuel Ross, founder of fashion label A-Cold-Wall*, in person. ‘It felt a bit like shooting the unknown,’ she says of the remote job. ‘I tried to apply the same feeling to my encounter with Samuel.’ See the portraits on page 078, where Adjaye and Ross talk creative futures. Known for documenting the lives of people of African descent, Johnson Artur is currently making a book about PDA. CLARE STRAND Artist ‘The project is an effort to go beyond the traditional fashion page and take it to a third dimension,’ says the British conceptual artist of her 22-page story for us (page 124). Casting geometry nets over George Harvey’s black and white photographs of the season’s looks, she urges…

5 min
next up

For all its pros (democratic show schedule) and cons (venues spread all over Manhattan and Brooklyn, made worse by bad traffic), New York Fashion Week still pulls out enough surprises to thrill each season. For A/W20, it owed its most memorable moments to emerging designers who have taken almost everything into their own hands, be it eschewing the official Spring Studios venue or rethinking the conventional runway experience. This show of rebellion is evidenced in a new wave of glamour, extravagance and social consciousness that has come to distinguish the most exciting labels. Experimental, unapologetic, and certainly not for the introverted, here are the rising stars we should all know better. CHRISTOPHER JOHN ROGERS CHRISTOPHER JOHN ROGERS Much has been made of Christopher John Rogers’ ascent. Upon graduating from Savannah College of Art…