EXPLORARBIBLIOTECA
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Notícias & Política
ReasonReason

Reason

December 2019

Reason is the monthly print magazine of "free minds and free markets." It covers politics, culture, and ideas through a provocative mix of news, analysis, commentary, and reviews. Reason provides a refreshing alternative to right-wing and left-wing opinion magazines by making a principled case for liberty and individual choice in all areas of human activity.

País:
United States
Língua:
English
Editora:
Reason Magazine
Ler Maiskeyboard_arrow_down
ASSINATURA
US$13,75
11 Edições

NESTA EDIÇÃO

access_time2 minutos
reason

Editor in Chief Katherine Mangu-Ward (kmw@reason.com), Publisher Mike Alissi (malissi@reason.com), Editors at Large Nick Gillespie (gillespie@reason.com), Matt Welch (matt.welch@reason.com), Managing Editor Stephanie Slade (sslade@reason.com), Art Director Joanna Andreasson (joanna@reason.com), Features Editor Peter Suderman (peter.suderman@reason.com), Books Editor Jesse Walker (jwalker@reason.com), Senior Editors Brian Doherty (bdoherty@reason.com), Damon Root (droot@reason.com), Jacob Sullum (jsullum@reason.com), Science Correspondent Ronald Bailey (rbailey@reason.com), Associate Editors Christian Britschgi (christian.britschgi@reason.com), Elizabeth Nolan Brown (elizabeth.brown@reason.com), Mike Riggs (mriggs@reason.com), Scott Shackford (sshackford@reason.com), Robby Soave (robby.soave@reason.com), Assistant Editors Billy Binion (billy.binion@reason.com), Zuri Davis (zuri.davis@reason.com), Reporters Eric Boehm (eric.boehm@reason.com), C.J. Ciaramella (cj.ciaramella@reason.com), Web Developer Justin Maurer (justin.maurer@reason.org), Editorial Assistant Mary Toledo (mtoledo@reason.org) Executive Editor, Reason TV Meredith Bragg (mbragg@reason.com), Managing Editor, Reason TV Jim Epstein (jim.epstein@reason.com), Producers Austin Bragg (austin.bragg@reason.com), Paul Detrick (paul.detrick@reason.com), Ian Keyser (ian.keyser@reason.com), Mark McDaniel (mark.mcdaniel@reason.com), Justin Monticello (justin.monticello@reason.com), Regan Taylor (regan.taylor@reason.com),…

access_time6 minutos
impeachment is both the cause and the effect of a too-powerful presidency

BY FOCUSING ALL of its efforts on impeachment during a presidential campaign, Congress has given away the game: Its members are little more than pawns in a winner-take-all battle for the presidency and its vast and ever-growing powers. Worse, they seem to prefer it that way. Impeachment is messy, like digging out the pit from an overripe peach. The formal process is difficult for Americans to comprehend. The criteria are blurry and debatable. It requires nearly everyone involved to perform some amount of hypocritical partisan contortionism. It’s the bluntest of instruments in politics, and that’s really saying something. Because of this confusingly contingent nature of impeachment, many in Congress are currently extremely busy practicing “strategic silence.” They’re waiting to see whether the 58 percent of Americans who told Washington Post/Schar pollsters in…

access_time4 minutos
the cajun cannabis conundrum

DESPITE BEING A historically conservative state, Louisiana first legalized medical marijuana back in 1978. It amended the law in 1991, then left the program to wither on the regulatory vine, with the Department of Health failing to appoint a Marijuana Prescription Review Board or to draw up contracts with national groups for production and distribution. That began to change in 2015, when Republican state Sen. Fred Mills, a pharmacist and the former executive director of the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy, sponsored legislation to implement the distribution of medical cannabis to patients. In 2016, Mills sponsored a second law that laid out the program’s specifics. Both bills eventually passed the state House and Senate and were signed into law by former Republican Gov. Bobby Jindal. In early August, Louisiana officially became the…

access_time3 minutos
democrats are conjuring up new ‘rights’

“LIVING CLOSE TO work shouldn’t be a luxury for the rich,” Democratic presidential candidate and former congressman Beto O’Rourke tweeted in September. “It’s a right for everyone.” In a video of a campaign stop embedded in the tweet, the perpetually earnest Texan elaborated on this new right. “Here’s a tough thing to talk about, though we must,” O’Rourke said. “Rich people are going to have to allow, or be forced to allow, lower-income people to live near them.…We force lower-income, working Americans to drive one, two, three hours in either direction to get to their jobs, very often minimum wage jobs.” There are a half-dozen fuzzy-to-erroneous ideas baked into that language—“we” don’t “force” just about anyone to drive two-plus hours a day to and from work, for starters. But the underlying principle is…

access_time3 minutos
would a bigger legislature mean a smaller government for california?

THERE ARE 80 seats in the California Assembly and 40 seats in the California Senate. The last time the Golden State adjusted the size of its legislature, in 1862, there were about 400,000 people living there. Today, more than twice that number live within the city limits of San Francisco alone. With a population of nearly 40 million, California’s state legislative districts are the largest in the country. Since voters in the state send 53 representatives to the U.S. House of Representatives, the state’s upper chamber is one of just two (the Texas Senate is the other) where members represent more people than does the average member of Congress. The seemingly out-of-whack ratio of legislators to constituents has resulted in an accumulation of power by the state’s executive branch and has diluted…

access_time3 minutos
doorbell surveillance networks have arrived. should we be scared?

THE AMAZON-OWNED SECURITY firm Ring wants to let police know what’s happening in your neighborhood. Law enforcement agencies that sign up are provided with a web-based map showing which homeowners have installed Ring doorbell cameras. They can request access to recorded videos—bypassing that pesky step of obtaining a search warrant first. “We just like the fact that Ring wants to work with law enforcement and the citizens and bring us into the same forum to try to keep our community safe,” Tony Botti, public information officer for the Fresno County Sheriff’s Office in California, told Government Technology. “It lessens the work we have to do; maybe we have to knock on a few less doors to get the video.” When police use Ring’s so-called Law Enforcement Neighborhood Portal to request archived footage,…

help