DÉCOUVRIRBIBLIOTHÈQUE
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Presse Feminine
Junkies MagazineJunkies Magazine

Junkies Magazine September 2018 Spring

Junkies Magazine is an eco lifestyle magazine, focused on reusing, reducing, rethinking and recycling. Junkies Magazine is for people who have a passion for sustainability, imaginative design.We like to inspire and be inspired by a community of thinkers and to spread important messages about our environmental responsibilities .We aim to be a platform to bring people together , from artists, individuals , mavericks and epicureans.

Pays:
Australia
Langue:
English
Éditeur:
Junkies Magazine Australia
Lire pluskeyboard_arrow_down
Offre spéciale : Get 40% off with your subscription!
J'ACHÈTE CE NUMÉRO
9,46 $(TVA Incluse)
JE M'ABONNE
37,84 $22,70 $(TVA Incluse)
4 Numéros

DANS CE NUMÉRO

access_time1 min.
people & places

Artists and Designers Kerri Hollingsworth antiquate.com.au LLanavair H.R. silkartwork.com.au Debra Goldsmith facebook.com/DebraGoldsmithartist Photographers and Illustrator Tim Willcocks timwillcocks.com Pauline Langmead – inside cover plinc.com.au Pixie Rouge Photography pixierouge.com.au Louisa West Studio Junkies Photographer/Illustrator louisaweststudio.com.au Masanori Udagawa photowellington.photoshelter.com Carly Webber carlywebber.com Sherif Tamim sheriftamim.com Sian Blohm sianblohm.com Nassima Rothacker nassimarothacker.com Places Yackandandah exploreyackandandah.com.au Shops and Retailers Blarney Books and Art blarneybooks.com.au Food and Wine Jacki Haddock instagram.com/jackihaddock Rebecca Sullivan rebeccasullivan.com.au Yealands Winery yealandsestate.co.nz Organisations She Hunts Op Shops facebook.com/shehuntsopshops Grampians Central West Waste & Resource Recovery Group recyclingrevolution.com.au Buninyong Christmas Tree Farm buninyongchristmastreefarm.com.au Streat streat.com.au Oversew Fashion oversewfashion.com Bureaux bureaux.co.za Wonderbag Foundation wonderbag.co.za Kate Wall facebook.com/TheGardenersWall Creswick Market fb.com/creswickmarket Melanin and Sustainable Style melaninass.com…

access_time3 min.
from the editor

Hello fellow Junkies! Note to self: slow down! I think this needs to be at the top of my to-do list. Alas, it slips to the bottom as deadlines approach. I’m not the only one, I know. Most of my friends are time poor, too. I was thinking the other day about what would be my perfect slow-down day. Sleeping in, of course, is top of the list; cups of tea in bed; reading – now that is a luxury. Yes. I would start reading a book. Then go out for coffee, and probably end up at an op shop. If I was feeling slightly more productive I would start one of my many projects. I have so many prospective projects in my projects room that there is no room for me…

access_time1 min.
the towns folk

Based on Australia's East Coast, The Townsfolk was created to help reduce ocean plastic from Australian beaches and waterways. Beverage litter is the single largest group of litter in Australia with almost 15 billion bottles being consumed each year. To help turn the tide on plastic pollution The Townsfolk have launched ‘The Waterboy’, a range of stainless steel reusable bottles with loads of additional features. With a signature curved silhouette and modern matte finish this stylish and ultra-versatile bottle has been built to withstand Australia’s summer heat and winter chills. The double wall stainless steel body offers advanced insulation keeping drinks icy cold for 24 hours or hot for 12 hours. The extra wide opening makes adding ice, lemon or even teabags easy and the vacuum seal together with the stainless…

access_time3 min.
op shop finds

We all love a good op shop haul – and we all love a cluster of shops. So in this issue I would love to chat about the Bentleigh/Cheltenham belt of amazing op shops and create an op shop trail that you can follow yourself, take your best mate along with you and add in lunch. If I am completely honest, I would say that I visit these op shops on average two or three times a week – I think I have an op shop problem! But these stores are so good and I can sometimes smash out five in an hour, which is great when I’m on my way to pick Frankie up from day-care – I’ll just do a cheeky op shop run. Frankie even knows these op…

access_time6 min.
give aways!

Kandila Co. Kandila Co creates handcrafted eco-friendly candles that ‘give back’, as 50% of the profits from sales are donated to charities that provide education to children in developing nations. Kandila Co has just released a candle pack featuring four new fragrances that could be yours valued at $80. Kandila Co was founded by Janice. Janice and her husband, Mark, are first-generation immigrants to Australia. Finding themselves constantly thinking about their home country, the Philippines, and the quality of life that people in the poorest provinces have, they were determined to help end the cycle of poverty, discrimination and marginalisation caused by lack of education. They decided to create a different kind of candle company, and so their handcrafted eco-friendly candles were born. As of May 2018, Kandila Co has sponsored 21…

access_time4 min.
waste to energy

Renewable energy technologies such as solar panels and wind turbines are becoming increasingly important parts of the energy mix and will continue to become even more important into the future. However, one of the main concerns about both wind and solar power is that they lack the capacity to provide base load power without the addition of battery storage. Another form of renewable energy is waste-to-energy, or bioenergy. There is no doubt that some people do not regard these as renewable and they are not in the same tradition as solar and wind. However, our ability to grow biomass or, indeed, continue to produce waste is unquestioned. One of the advantages of waste-to-energy is that it diverts waste from landfill, making it a better option than just dumping our waste and getting…

help