DÉCOUVRIRBIBLIOTHÈQUE
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Presse Masculine
The RakeThe Rake

The Rake

October 2019 - Issue 66

The world’s preeminent publication dedicated to the renaissance in gentlemanly sophistication and style, THE RAKE recaptures the codes of classic men’s elegance. Inspired by icons such as Cary Grant, Fred Astaire, the Duke of Windsor, Gianni Agnelli, Sean Connery, and their contemporary counterparts, THE RAKE provides incisive, in-depth commentary on magnificent menswear, and the many other elements of gentlemanly living, from manners and ethics, to art and design, tasteful travel, health and well-being, the intellectual and philosophical, to homes, modes of transport, entertainment, food and drink. THE RAKE is the modern voice of classic elegance.

Pays:
Singapore
Langue:
English
Éditeur:
The Rake Pte Ltd
Lire pluskeyboard_arrow_down
Offre spéciale : Save 40% on your subscription!
J'ACHÈTE CE NUMÉRO
11,11 $(TVA Incluse)
JE M'ABONNE
53,53 $32,12 $(TVA Incluse)
6 Numéros

DANS CE NUMÉRO

access_time5 min.
letter from the founder

“The 20th century was very different. It was a time of extraordinary technical advancement. But it was a century marred by two world wars and a cold war, where we lived under a constant paranoia that the nuclear holocaust was imminent. As a result, we were raised with a condition of fear. Our parents transmitted this fear to us, and that affected our ability to dream and to hope. Today the world is very different. We’ve lived in the longest period of peace the world has ever known. Yet we suffer from a kind of malaise of the soul. Today there is no longer any reason to raise our children with fear. We should instead raise them with hope, and encourage them to cast their eyes to the stars and…

access_time7 min.
letter from the editor

Over the next few weeks there will be another period of collective tension in the U.K. The supposed final furlong before Brexit day on October 31 (or ‘B-day’, if ablution-related humour appeals to your sensibility on this issue) will ensure all sides draw their whips and thrash their horses as desperately as possible, some hoping they were right about the predicted outcome, some wishing they were wrong. I admit that the Brexit debate has forced me into my most stubborn act of fence-sitting since my doctor gave me the choice between a strong suppository or weaker oral painkiller following a nasty boat-propeller injury to my leg when I was seven. There are many consolations to being the editor of the world’s finest and most trusted source on all things sartorial and…

access_time3 min.
contributors

David Roemer is a New York-based fashion and celebrity photographer. After studying psychology, film and painting, he made the decision to pursue photography, concentrating on fashion. He began to shoot editorial that pushed the boundaries of movement, power and expression. David’s subjects have a dimension that can often be ironic or jarring. With a strong attention to colour, and visually retaining a graphic sensibility, his images blend the fine line of natural texture and subtle perfection. He shot this issue’s cover subject, Sam Rockwell (page 104). “Sam was an enigma to photograph; I often wondered if I was shooting a character in his mind or Sam himself,” David says. “Exciting, creative, charming, alluring, dangerous — all within seconds, and without any direction except to create an interesting visual image.” Anthony is…

access_time2 min.
the rake

THE RAKE PTE LTD DIGITAL EDITOR Ryan Thompson ryan@therakemagazine.com EDITORIAL ASSOCIATE Aobh O'Brien-Moody aobh@therakemagazine.com OFFICE ASSISTANT Freddie Anderson freddie@therakemagazine.com DIGITAL IMAGING ARTIST Kok Haw Koh SARTORIAL GURU Christopher Modoo FOUNDER & EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Wei Koh EDITOR Tom Chamberlin tom@therakemagazine.com ART DIRECTOR Rob French rob@therakemagazine.com CHIEF SUBEDITOR Stephen Wood ART EDITOR Kim Lang kim@therakemagazine.com EDITORS-AT-LARGE Nick Scott Christian Barker RAKE AMBASSADORS Alain Gafundi Alexander Kraft RAKE HOUND IN VALHALLA Brando Koh, Esq. FASHION DIRECTOR Grace Gilfeather grace@therakemagazine.com STYLIST Veronica Perez veronica@therakemagazine.com FASHION ASSISTANT Amelia Hudson amelia@therakemagazine.com CONTRIBUTING EDITORS Nick Foulkes Matt Hranek SARTORIAL CONSIGLIERE Shary Rahman BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR Maria Lim maria@therakemagazine.com FINANCE AND OPERATIONS MANAGER Francesco Lunardon francesco@therakemagazine.com HEAD OF BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT Riccardo Zambon riccardo@therakemagazine.com COPYWRITER Rachel Marie Walsh rachel@therakemagazine.com ACCOUNTS EXECUTIVE Lisa Lau HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER Belinda Soh PROCUREMENT MANAGER Lorenzo Viglietti lorenzo@therakemagazine.com CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Dr. Bruce Lee bruce@therakemagazine.com MANAGING DIRECTOR David Goodman david@therakemagazine.com MANAGING DIRECTOR, E-COMMERCE Luca Barni luca@therakemagazine.com MARKETING DIRECTOR Drew Laidlaw Hoare drew@therakemagazine.com BUSINESS DEVELOPER Pablo Gomez Jul pablo@therakemagazine.com DIGITAL MARKETING COORDINATOR Codruta Maria Barbu codruta@therakemagazine.com FINANCE MANAGER Jay Wong INTERNATIONAL TRAFFIC COORDINATOR Christina Koh christina@revolutionmagazines.com WAREHOUSE MANAGER Antonio Diaferio antonio@therakemagazine.com CREATIVE SOLUTIONS DIRECTOR Anne Petermann anne@therakemagazine.com ADVERTISING MANAGER Arabella Boardman arabella@therakemagazine.com PRODUCT MANAGER Hugo Possner hugo@therakemagazine.com DIGITAL MERCHANDISING MANAGER Eleanor Mellor eleanor@therakemagazine.com PRINT, PRODUCTION & DISTRIBUTION MANAGER Jo Low jl@revolutionmagazines.com PERSONAL SHOPPING MANAGER Nahum James Steadman nahum@therakemagazine.com CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER Rahil Ahmed rahil@therakemagazine.com Internationally Licensed Editions THE RAKE JAPAN CO. LTD PUBLISHER Shigetoshi Oshiro oshiro@therakejapan.com THE RAKE JAPAN CO. LTD. JAPAN EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Kentaro Matsuo matsuo@therakejapan.com THE…

access_time10 min.
pandit country

In the summer of 1945, the crème de la crème of Indian politics gathered in the small city of Simla, in the hills of northern India. For almost 100 years, Simla had been the summer capital of British India, where annually the entire machine of government decamped from sweltering Calcutta and later Delhi to the cool and picturesque hill station. In 1945, that period of India’s history was coming to an end as Britain prepared to grant its imperial jewel independence, and Simla was where it would be hammered out. Delegates arrived from across the country, many in carriages or rickshaws pulled by men up the steep drive to the Scottish baronial style Viceregal Lodge, the summer home of the Viceroy of India. But one arrival drew everyone’s attention. Riding a…

access_time4 min.
eats, shoots and leaves

As I write this, hunkered down in the Yorkshire Dales in full rain gear, crouched behind a wall on a grouse moor considering the prospects for autumnal sport, most of the chatter is about the devastating effect of a little mite called the heather beetle, which is consuming the fragile ecosystem that grouse need to survive. The once purple moorland is turning a worrying ginger colour, and with landowners being restricted by Natural England from their traditional burning practices, it may be the most pressing issue facing moorland conservation, for these rare environments host a plethora of wild birds, flora and fauna. The upside of the wet weather means that the late-season salmon prospects look good. The River Ure in Yorkshire is one of the hidden gems of the salmon fishing…

help