menu
close
search
EXPLOREMY LIBRARYMAGAZINES
CATEGORIES
FEATURED
EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Movies, TV & Music
GuitaristGuitarist

Guitarist October 2019

Guitarist is the longest established UK guitar magazine. You'll find authoritative gear reviews, artist interviews, technique lessons and advice. Plus, Guitarist's digital edition now includes all of the same audio and video content as the print edition; available to download from a special area of the Guitarist website!

Country:
United Kingdom
Language:
English
Publisher:
Future Publishing Ltd
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
SPECIAL: Get 40% OFF with code: BLACK40
BUY ISSUE
$6.88(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$55.15(Incl. tax)
13 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time2 min.
respect yourself

This month’s issue was partly put together on the ocean wave, as I went aboard the Keeping The Blues Alive At Sea cruise in the Mediterranean. Hosted by man of the hour Joe Bonamassa, the boat was filled with some of the most exciting blues-influenced guitarists working today, from Eric Gales to stellar sister-act Larkin Poe, who are featured on p50. Watching formidable players, such as Megan and Rebecca Lovell or Philip Sayce (whom we briefly caught up with on p36 of this issue to talk strings), it would be easy to get dispirited by one’s own progress – or lack thereof – on the guitar. Sayce is a veritable box of dynamite on his Strat and never seems to run out of articulate, intensely virtuosic licks. And how could you…

access_time1 min.
guitarist

EDITORIAL ART EDITOR Darren Phillips darren.phillips@futurenet.com MANAGING EDITOR Lucy Rice lucy.rice@futurenet.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Jamie Dickson jamie.dickson@futurenet.com DEPUTY EDITOR David Mead david.mead@futurenet.com CONTENT DIRECTOR, MUSIC Scott Rowley scott.rowley@futurenet.com REVIEWS EDITOR Dave Burrluck dave@daveburrluck.com SENIOR MUSIC EDITOR Jason Sidwell jason.sidwell@futurenet.com CONTRIBUTORS RICHARD BARRETT, ROD BRAKES, ROB CROSSLAND, TREVOR CURWEN, DAVID DYAS, ADAM GOLDSMITH, NICK GUPPY, PHIL HILBORNE, MARTIN HOLMES, CATHERINE HOOD, RICHARD HOOD, ROB LAING, BERNIE MARSDEN, NEVILLE MARTEN, ED MITCHELL, ROGER NEWELL, NIGEL PULSFORD, DAVINA RUNGASAMY, ADRIAN THORPE IN-HOUSE PHOTOGRAPHY PHIL BARKER, OLLY CURTIS, NEIL GODWIN, JOBY SESSIONS ADVERTISING CHIEF REVENUE DIRECTOR Zack Sullivan zack.sullivan@futurenet.com UK COMMERCIAL SALES DIRECTOR Clare Dove clare.dove@futurenet.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTOR Lara Jaggon lara.jaggon@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Alison Watson alison.watson@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Guy Meredith guy.meredith@futurenet.com MARKETING MAGAZINE MARKETING DIRECTOR Sharon Todd sharon.todd@futurenet.com HEAD OF ACQUISITIONS Helen Harding helen.harding@futurenet.com ACQUISITIONS CAMPAIGN MANAGER Tom Cooper tom.cooper@futurenet.com ACQUISITIONS MARKETING EXECUTIVE Jessica Weatherbed jessica.weatherbed@futurenet.com PRINT & PRODUCTION HEAD OF PRODUCTION UK & US Mark Constance mark.constance@futurenet.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Frances Twentyman frances.twentyman@futurenet.com PRODUCTION PROJECT MANAGER…

access_time7 min.
kickstarter

When Leigh Dovey contacted us last year to see if we were interested in looking at one of his PJD guitars, a Hybrid Woodford, we weren’t sure what to expect. What we got was a very cleanly built double-cutaway guitar with a fairly unique acrylic top – a guitar we thoroughly enjoyed. Since then, plenty has happened. UK dealer Guitar Galleries has taken on sales and distribution of the fledgling PJD range, and Leigh and his single assistant are busy. Very busy. The trim range, which includes that Woodford and a very in-fashion St John offset (plus a new bass model), centres on the Carey Elite we have here – Leigh’s original design. Opening the very neat fitted SKB case (included in the price) and pulling out the striking blue-finished Carey…

access_time1 min.
builder profile

NAME: PJD Guitars CONTACT: Guitar Galleries 01723 370613 WEB: www.pjdguitars.com FOUNDER: Leigh Dovey LOCATION: York, UK STATUS: Founded in 2010; fully professional from 2017 EMPLOYEES: One FIRST GUITAR SHIPPED: 2010 CURRENT OUTPUT: Approx. eight per month STYLE: Bolt-on electrics CAD/CNC: Yes PICKUPS/HARDWARE: Bare Knuckle, Gotoh FINISHING: Out-sourced, currently in York. Originally thin poly; thin nitro from mid-2019 REPAIRS: No CUSTOM ORDERS: No, only options on actual models DEPOSIT/BUILD TIME: N/A; see Dealers WAITING LIST: N/A DEALERS: PJD guitars are exclusively available via Guitar Galleries www.guitar-galleries.co.uk PRICE RANGE: From approx. £1,750…

access_time1 min.
pjd carey elite

PRICE: £2,200 (inc case) ORIGIN: UK TYPE: Single-cutaway, semi-solid electric BODY: Chambered swamp ash with AAA quilted maple top NECK: Roasted maple, bolt-on SCALE LENGTH: 648mm (25.5”) NUT/WIDTH: Bone/42mm FINGERBOARD: Rosewood, rectangular acrylic inlays, compound 254-305mm (10-12”) radius FRETS: 22, medium (Jescar FW55090) HARDWARE: Gotoh Strat-style hardtail bridge with block saddles and through-body stringing, vintage-style split-post tuners – nickel-plated STRING SPACING, BRIDGE: 53mm ELECTRICS: Bare Knuckle Boot Camp Old Guard neck and bridge humbuckers, 3-way toggle pickup selector switch, master volume and tone controls WEIGHT (kg/lb): 2.74/6 OPTIONS: Include mahogany body, flamed maple cap, ebony fingerboard. Sealed semi construction (with Bare Knuckle True Grit humbuckers) RANGE: The current PJD range includes the double-cut Woodford and offset St John – both come in various styles from approx. £1,750 LEFT-HANDERS: Yes, to order, same price FINISHES: Blue (as reviewed), Faded Black,Cherry Red,Orange,Green,Purple – low gloss, all translucent top…

access_time8 min.
true colours

The Furch story starts back in the 70s when Frantisek Furch began making instruments in what was then socialist Czechoslovakia. In those days it was difficult to find good guitars, banjos and so on in the country and anybody setting up a building service was taking a risk as such things had been forbidden under the former communist regime. Imports were prohibitively expensive and so Frantisek – a metalworker by trade and keen musician by night – began to build instruments in his garage and word about their quality soon spread among his colleagues. Fast forward to 1989 and the final collapse of communism in Czechoslovakia and Frantisek, free from the former political restrictions, opens his first factory. By that time his reputation as a first-class guitar builder had grown, although…

help