EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
Home & Garden
Inside Out

Inside Out August 2017

Australia's best interiors magazine, Inside Out delivers inspiring homes, clever design ideas and practical decorating solutions. Discover the latest homewares trends, stunning outdoor spaces, and what's new for the living room, kitchen, bathroom and garden.

Country:
Australia
Language:
English
Publisher:
Bauer Media Pty Ltd
Frequency:
Monthly
Read More
SPECIAL: Top pick! Save 40% on your subscription!
BUY ISSUE
$5.02(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$20.10$12.05(Incl. tax)
6 Issues

in this issue

2 min.
we mark our milestones with friends and family

Well, I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but our August issue is our 150th. That’s 150 times the Inside Out team has said, “Yep, this is our favourite home in the issue – let’s put it on the cover.” The 150th time we’ve read every page, checked every price, lovingly chosen every image, knowing it was the very best we could do this month. Think that’s worth celebrating? I do! With that in mind, we decided to throw ourselves a little party, and invited as many of our friends as possible. Why not? We had some of our longest-standing stylists, including Jason Grant and Claire Delmar; some of our newer recruits, interior experts Lisa Koehler and Shannon Vos; those who’ve created some of our favourite stories over the years, including photographer…

1 min.
new category! # sharemystyletech

We’ve partnered with Samsung to offer one reader the opportunity to win a ‘The Frame’ 55” 4K UHD TV, valued at $3299. The latest TV from Samsung complements your style at home, displaying an embedded artwork when turned off to seamlessly match your decor or art wall. For more details on The Frame, visit samsung.com. Read below to see how you can enter HOW TO ENTER Share a pic of your tech style at home on Instagram or Twitter, using the hashtag #SHAREMYSTYLETECHand tag us @insideoutmag COMPETITION OPENS AT 09:00 AEST ON 27/07/17 AND CLOSES AT 23:59 AEST 23/08/17 AT 23:59 AEST. COMPETITION OPEN TO AUSTRALIAN RESIDENTS AGED 18 YEARS AND OVER ONLY. WINNERS DETERMINED AT 14:00 AEST ON 25/08/17 AT LEVEL 1, 2 HOLT STREET, SURRY HILLS, NSW 2010. THIS IS…

1 min.
mushroom

1. ‘Kirriwirri’ Tibetan wool rug, $7920, Designer Rugs, designerrugs.com.au. 2. Road To Nowhere print, from $950 (framed), The Artwork Stylist, theartworkstylist.com.au. 3. Paris au Mois d’Août ‘Sofia’ pendant light, from $210, Hub Furniture, hubfurniture.com.au. 4. Viccarbe ‘Shape O’ stool in Sand, $1725, Hub Furniture, as before. 5. ‘Roso’ sunglasses in Congee, $309, Sunday Somewhere, sundaysomewhere.com.au. 6. Ligne Roset ‘Demi-Teintes’ mirror, from $2325, Domo, domo.com.au. 7. ‘Anya’ cushion, $84.70, Issie-Mae, issie-mae.com.au. 8. Point ‘Hamp’ two-seater lounge, from $4275, Domo, as before. 9. ‘Earth Tub’ vessel in Bark, $168, Lightly, lightly.com.au. 10. ‘Clean & Protect’ low sheen interior paint in Barista Fare, $62.50/4L, British Paints, britishpaints.com.au. 11. Velvet quilt cover in Mink, from $249, Kip&Co, kipandco.com.au. 12. Icelandic sheepskin rug in Fawn, $198, Hides Of Excellence, hidesofexcellence.com.au.…

1 min.
seasons

1. Nanimarquina ‘The Quill L’ rug, $3970, Mobilia, mobilia.com.au. 2. Skimming Stones ‘Precious Rains’ plate, $45, Koskela, koskela.com.au. 3. Normann Copenhagen ‘Dropit’ hooks, $50/pair, Curious Grace, curiousgrace.com.au. 4. Futagami ‘Galaxy’ brass trivet, $159, Ginkgo Leaf, ginkgoleaf.com.au. 5. Skagerk ‘Turn’ mirror, $361, Finnish Design Shop, finnishdesignshop.com. 6. Molo ‘Cloud’ table light, $895, SeehoSu, seehosu.com.au. 7. Hem ‘Rain’ napkin, POA, District, district.com.au. 8. ‘Le Soleil’ candle, $69, Maison Balzac, maisonbalzac.com. 9. ‘Ink Rain’ cushion, $99, One Another, oneanother.com.au. 10. Flensted ‘Drifting Clouds’ mobile, $269, Designstuff, designstuff.com.au.…

1 min.
bath towels & hooks

THE DARK SIDE why it works: This textural striped towel and matt hook make a moody pair ‘Wook’ wall hook, $49, Blu Dot, bludot.com.au. ‘Waffle’ bath towel, $49.95, Aura By Tracie Ellis, aurahome.com.au. PEACHY KEEN why it works: This sweet combination teams clean timber tones with soft pink ‘Raina’ bath sheet, $24.95, CO:Home, cottonon.com.au. ‘Hang On Piccolo’ coat rack, $140, Plyroom, plyroom.com.au. PATTERN PLAY why it works: Add interest to a minimalist space with a luxe multi coloured graphic towel and bold stone hook Terrazzo hook, $49, Zakkia, zakkia.com.au. ‘Multi Level’ velour bath towel, $44.90, Città, cittadesign.com.au.…

3 min.
coat stands

MJP Studio ‘Wedge’ coat stand DESIGNER: Matt Pearson Adelaide-based designer/maker Matt is passionate about timber and woodworking. “I specialise in timber, especially American timbers, which have amazing visual and working characteristics,” he says. “I also like to bring in other materials, such as steel, brass and leather.” As such, his striking Wedge coat stand features an American oak frame on a powder-coated steel base. The tapered pegs ‘wedge’ into the holes and can be easily reconfigured. “People are drawn to moving the pegs around when they interact with the stand,” says Matt. “The shape mimics the human form, with the pegs set at common heights for items to be hung – hat, scarf, then jacket – there’s even a spot low down for a child to use.” While every piece created by…