EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
Home & Garden
Inside Out

Inside Out August 2018

Australia's best interiors magazine, Inside Out delivers inspiring homes, clever design ideas and practical decorating solutions. Discover the latest homewares trends, stunning outdoor spaces, and what's new for the living room, kitchen, bathroom and garden.

Country:
Australia
Language:
English
Publisher:
Bauer Media Pty Ltd
Frequency:
Monthly
Read More
BUY ISSUE
$5.02(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$20.10(Incl. tax)
6 Issues

in this issue

2 min.
a time to clear the decks

A hhhh… fresh white spaces. There are few things that make me happier. Each year, as the white issue rolls around, I look forward to the sense of calm it brings. And yet I know that isn’t the case for everyone: how do you keep it clean? Is it realistic? No really, guys, this issue is full of ways to have a fresh white space without necessarily compromising on livability or personality. Part of having a space that’s light and bright is limiting the clutter, so as you weather the cooler months, take some time to assess whether you really need all the stuff you live with. I’m not talking a Marie Kondo-style clear-out or minimalist, empty rooms: just a careful edit that helps your home feel lighter somehow. There’s nothing like…

1 min.
fair & square

Inspired by classical music, Sydney interior designer Greg Natale’s latest range of marble tiles,‘Staccato’, draws on a quartet of colourways –Verde Green, Carrara Gioia, Norwegian Rose and Emerald Green.The result is a visual feast – a chessboard design that champions rhythm while still celebrating marble’s natural variation, with each segment the next note in the composition. ‘Staccato’ marble tiles, $389/sqm, Greg Natale, gregnatale.com. PHOTOGRAPHY: IMAGE COURTESY OF GREG NATALE, GREGNATALE.COM…

1 min.
retro jungle

1. ‘Florida Keys’ chandelier, $5500, Gypset Cargo, gypsetcargo.com. 2. Natural Curiosities Animals Playing 1 artwork, $2995 (framed), Coco Republic, cocorepublic.com.au. 3. Handpainted leopard mask, $220, Emma Gale, emmagale.com.au. 4. ‘Tiger’ cushion, $165, Bonnie And Neil, bonnieandneil.com.au. 5. ‘Chiavari’ chair, $3885, Gucci, gucci.com. 6. ‘Frankie’ pillowcase, $99/pair, Sage x Clare, sageandclare.com. 7. HK Living daybed, $2995, House Of Orange, houseoforange.com.au. 8. ‘Palm Springs’ bedhead, $529/king,The Family Love Tree, thefamilylovetree.com.au. 9. ‘Savanna’ rug, $8900/240cm x 300cm, Jenny Jones Rugs, jennyjonesrugs.com. 10. Jamida Of Sweden ‘Kruger’ tray by Emma J Shipley, $79, TheTray.Shop, thetray.shop.…

1 min.
buttercup

1. Reuber Henning ‘Shibori Wave’ rug, POA, Halcyon Lake, halcyonlake.com. 2. ‘Pier’ throw, $119.95, Linen House, linenhouse.com. 3. Karimoku New Standard ‘Castor Stool Plus’ stool, $440, Stylecraft, stylecraft.com.au. 4. Ballograf ‘Epoca’ ballpoint pen, $6.95, Milligram, milligram.com. 5. Octaevo ‘Year Of The Sun’ planner, $44.95, Gingerfinch, gingerfinch.com.au. 6. Studio Arhoj ‘Sip’ cup, $36, Luumo Design, luumodesign.com. 7. ‘PS 2017’ table lamp, $49, IKEA, ikea.com.au. 8. ‘Interior Expressions’ low sheen acrylic paint in (top) Daisy Chain and Gaiety, $74.90/4L, Haymes Paint, haymespaint.com.au. 9. Muuto ‘Connect’ modular sofa, from $18,000, Living Edge, livingedge.com.au. 10. ‘Real Good’ chair, $249, and felt chair pad, $49, Blu Dot, bludot.com.au. 11. Good Thing NY ‘Field’ candleholder, $24.95, Gingerfinch, as before. 12. ‘Kali’ side plate, $14.95, Aura Home, aurahome.com.au. 13. ‘Half Moons’ pillowcase, $29, Nancybird, nancybird.com. STYLING NATALIE JOHNSON…

1 min.
side table & lamp

SOLID STUFF why it works: Clean lines and timber texture create a sleek, contemporary look with a hint of warmth Linear wood LED table lamp, $199, West Elm, westelm.com.au. ‘Finch’ bedside table, $1770, Jardan, jardan.com.au. IN ORBIT why it works: Space-age style meets geometric lines in this playful combination ‘Wink’ table lamp, from $203, ISM Objects, ismobjects.com.au. Muuto ‘Halves’ side table, $595, Living Edge, livingedge.com.au. SCANDI LIFE why it works: Raw, natural finishes complement sweeping curves Secto Design ‘Teelo 8020’ table lamp, $836, Fred International, fredinternational.com.au. Studioilse ‘Companions’ bedside table, $2620, Spence & Lyda, spenceandlyda.com.au. PHOTOGRAPHY: (MAIN) FELIX FOREST. STYLING: (MAIN) ALEXANDRA GORDON.DESIGN: (MAIN) DANIELLE PALAN ARCHITECT, @DANIELLEPALANARCHITECT…

2 min.
timber clocks

‘Petal’ clock DESIGNER: Kate Elton Growing up with a shipwright father made design an easy choice for Kate Elton. “Having him as my role model made my progression into this industry feel natural and logical,” she says. Based in Sydney’s Bondi, Kate studied design at both high school and UTS, graduating with a Bachelor of Design in 2011. Crafted from rock maple and copper, the undulating face of the ‘Petal’ clock is inspired by the way flower petals fan out. “Flowers are naturally cyclical, so my clock conveys time as a rhythmic cycle,” she says. “I love using natural materials wherever possible. I’ve been enjoying working with timber and cork recently.” The asymmetrical timber grain contrasts with the waves of the face, creating a sense of movement and flow, while the copper…