ZINIO logo
EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
Home & Garden
Inside Out

Inside Out June 2016

Australia's best interiors magazine, Inside Out delivers inspiring homes, clever design ideas and practical decorating solutions. Discover the latest homewares trends, stunning outdoor spaces, and what's new for the living room, kitchen, bathroom and garden.

Read More
Country:
Australia
Language:
English
Publisher:
Are Media Pty Limited
Frequency:
Monthly
BUY ISSUE
$5(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$20.03(Incl. tax)
6 Issues

in this issue

3 min.
making temporary changes can be fun, cheap and easy...

Gawd, I love a really great ‘before’ shot, don’t you? There is nothing like gratuitously bad decor decisions just aching to be fixed. A friend recently bought a place with the most incredible plush cobalt-blue velvety carpet I’ve ever seen, and while she was sweating and trying to point out the potential (“Just imagine there’s no carpet at all...”), all I could think about was how brilliant the ‘before-and-after’ shots were going to be. Of course, she has a whole raft of exciting changes planned but, in the meantime, to buy her a bit of financial breathing space, she’s going to start the process of a ‘make-do makeover’. You know the type; a halfway measure that doesn’t cost the earth, but stops you feeling frustrated at the previous owners every time…

1 min.
things we love

sitting pretty Fresh from the 2016 Milan design fair is this deceptively simple seat The ‘June’ dining chair is the latest creation by Austrian designer Frank Rettenbacher for Zanotta. A blend of clean lines and soft facets, the chair is a lightweight piece with no visible screws between the backrest and seat, a real feat of clever and considered design.The upholstered seat adds a playful yet sophisticated touch, with plenty of fabric or leather options available to suit your style. To find out more about the Zanotta ‘June’ dining chair, contact Space Furniture on (02) 8339 7588.…

1 min.
black & white

1. Romy Northover ‘Freedom’ cup, $58, Mr Kitly, mrkitly.com.au. 2. ‘Nolan’ cutlery in Graphite, $229/24-piece set, Country Road, countryroad.com.au. 3. Friend & Founders ‘Shelvish’ storage unit, $1595, Fred International, fredinternational.com.au. 4. ‘Diamond’ timber wall tiles, $29 each, Bonnie And Neil, bonnieandneil.com.au. 5. Louise Kyriakou ‘Ceramic Faces – Panchito’ wall plaque, $198, Modern Times, moderntimes.com.au. 6. ‘BeoLab 5’ speaker, $31,000/pair, Bang & Olufsen, bang-olufsen.com. 7. Normann Copenhagen ‘Krenit’ bowl, $148, Space Furniture, spacefurniture.com.au. 8. ‘Lousi’ blanket, $950, After Online, afteronline.com.au. 9. Moroso ‘Los Muebles Amorosos’ sofa, from $16,910, Hub Furniture Lighting Living, hubfurniture.com.au. 10. ‘Clean & Protect’ low sheen interior paints in White Comfort, $56.90/4L, and Black Ace, $60.90/4L, British Paints, britishpaints.com.au. 11. Flos ‘Snoopy’ lamp, $1906.30, Euroluce, euroluce.com.au. 12. ‘Scope’ dinner plate, $19.95, Country Road, as before. 13. Lucie Kaas…

1 min.
arches

1. Bower ‘Arch’ floor mirror, US$2900, Bower NYC, bowernyc.com. 2. Hay ‘Field’ breadboard, $140, Cult, cultdesign.com.au. 3. ‘Tombstone’ mousepad, $48, Dowel Jones, doweljones.com. 4. Dwelling photographic prints, $4100/ editions of 3 (framed), Paul Wells, paulwells.com.au. 5. Marset ‘Follow Me’ lamp, $289, Designstuff, designstuff.com.au. 6. ‘Roxbury’ console, US$8805, Kelly Wearstler, kellywearstler.com. 7. Menu ‘Shrine’ shelf, $149, Designstuff, as before. 8. ‘Thoronet’ dish, $795, Henry Wilson, henrywilson.com.au. 9. Bedhead, from $1500, Douglas And Bec, douglasandbec.com. 10. Fogia ‘Arch’ wenge unit, $1716 (top), and oak unit (bottom), $2277, Fred International, fredinternational.com.au.…

1 min.
desk & chair

1 MODERN LINES why it works: Both pieces keep it simple with visually light forms and a bright hit of colour Hitch bookcase and desk , $999, Blu Dot, bludot.com.au. Howe SixE chair , from $335, Living Edge, livingedge.com.au. 2 INDUSTRIAL EDGE why it works: This combo’s utilitarian appeal harks back to school days, complete with primary colours Spoinq Spranq chair , $395, Spence & Lyda, (02) 9212 9749. Herman Miller Eames’ desk unit , $3475, Living Edge, 1300 132 154. 3 SCANDI COOL why it works: The contrast in form, material and tone creates an elegant, sophisticated look Desk in American Ash, $1590, Douglas And Bec, douglasandbec.com. By Lassen ‘ML33 chair in Kvadrat Hallingdal fabric, $3300, Fred International, fredinternational.com.au. PHOTOGRAPHY: (MAIN) SHANNON McGRATH. INTERIOR DESIGN: (MAIN ) MADE BY COHEN, MADEBYCOHEN.C COM.AU. ARCHITECT: (MAIN )…

2 min.
floor lamps

‘Mr. Dowel Jones’ floor lamp DESIGNERS: Dale Hardiman and Adam Lynch of Dowel Jones Glancing at the refined silhouette of Mr. Dowel Jones, you’d be forgiven for guessing its material makeup incorrectly. Yes, there’s the timber element that is humorously referenced in the lamp’s name, but the black details are made from compressed rubber. “Originally, the lamp’s key components were 3D printed, but after meeting now long-time friend Ash Allen, he suggested producing the components in rubber,” says Dale (pictured left). “Besides being a notable designer, Ash runs a rubber factory in Thomastown, Victoria.” The addition of rubber meant that there are no screws, thanks to the flexibility of the material. “The overall form looks quite animated, so we felt it needed to be given a name to suit its personality,” says…