EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / News & Politics
ReasonReason

Reason

November 2019

Reason is the monthly print magazine of "free minds and free markets." It covers politics, culture, and ideas through a provocative mix of news, analysis, commentary, and reviews. Reason provides a refreshing alternative to right-wing and left-wing opinion magazines by making a principled case for liberty and individual choice in all areas of human activity.

Country:
United States
Language:
English
Publisher:
Reason Magazine
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
BUY ISSUE
$1.74(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$19.12(Incl. tax)
11 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time2 min.
reason

Editor in Chief Katherine Mangu-Ward (kmw@ reason.com), Publisher Mike Alissi (malissi@reason.com), Editors at Large Nick Gillespie (gillespie@ reason.com), Matt Welch (matt.welch@reason.com), Managing Editor Stephanie Slade (sslade@ reason.com), Art Director Joanna Andreasson (joanna@reason.com), Features Editor Peter Suderman (peter.suderman@reason.com), Books Editor Jesse Walker (jwalker@reason.com), Senior Editors Brian Doherty (bdoherty@reason.com), Damon Root (droot@reason.com), Jacob Sullum (jsullum@reason.com), Science Correspondent Ronald Bailey (rbailey@reason.com), Associate Editors Christian Britschgi (christian.britschgi@ reason.com), Elizabeth Nolan Brown (elizabeth.brown@reason.com), Mike Riggs (mriggs@reason.com), Scott Shackford (sshackford@reason.com), Robby Soave (robby.soave@reason.com), Assistant Editors Billy Binion (billy.binion@reason.com), Zuri Davis (zuri.davis@reason.com), Reporters Eric Boehm (eric.boehm@reason.com), C.J. Ciaramella (cj.ciaramella@reason.com), Web Developer Justin Maurer (justin.maurer@reason.org), Editorial Assistant Mary Toledo (mtoledo@reason.org) Executive Editor, Reason TV Meredith Bragg (mbragg@reason.com), Managing Editor, Reason TV Jim Epstein (jim.epstein@reason.com), Producers Austin Bragg (austin.bragg@reason.com), Paul Detrick (paul.detrick@reason.com), Alexis Garcia (agarcia@reason.com), Ian Keyser (ian.keyser@reason.com), Todd Krainin…

access_time6 min.
privacy is over. we must fight harder than ever to protect our civil liberties.

ONCE UPON A time, privacy was everyone’s default setting. Imagine an era when most letters and ledgers existed only in a single hard copy, when long-distance communication was slow and unreliable, when unpickable locks existed and cameras didn’t. These are the conditions under which America’s founding documents were written. It was far from a golden age, but there were undeniable upsides to a government that had neither the technology nor the resources to know what most people were up to most of the time. Those days are done. Privacy is dead. We have killed it, you and I. It happened slowly and then all at once, much like falling in love. We traded away some of our privacy for convenience, with credit cards and GPS and cloud computing and toll transponders. Some of…

access_time3 min.
cheap meds from canada, eh?

“FOR THE FIRST time in HHS history, we are open to importation,” Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) Alex Azar told reporters in July. The Trump administration hopes this policy change will lead to cheaper prescription drugs for American consumers. Alas, it’s not quite that simple. The “importation” Azar was referring to, sometimes called “reimportation” or “parallel trade,” involves importing drugs to the U.S. that are already available here. That doesn’t make a lot of sense until you consider that the Canadian government, a prime target market for parallel trade, negotiates prices with pharmaceutical manufacturers, while in the United States prices are set by a complex interaction between drug makers, insurance plans, and Medicare bureaucrats. The result is that a manufacturer can sell the same cholesterol medication, made in the…

access_time4 min.
medicare for all is all democrats want to talk about

IN SUMMER 2009, while Democrats in Congress were deep into the process of designing the health care reform that would become the Affordable Care Act (ACA), Tea Party protests sprung up around the country in opposition to the law. In a primetime speech delivered that September, President Barack Obama hoped to convince critics on the right and in his own party that Obamacare was a middle ground between two extremes. “There are those on the left,” he said, “who believe that the only way to fix the system is through a single-payer system like Canada’s, where we would severely restrict the private insurance market and have the government provide coverage for everyone. On the right, there are those who argue that we should end the employerbased system and leave individuals to…

access_time3 min.
a florida retiree’s uncut lawn may cost him his house

THE CITY OF Dunedin, Florida, really wants Jim Ficken’s house. Last year, the 69-year-old retiree left town to attend to his dying mother and then to sort out her estate. While he was away, he left a handyman in charge of his property. In a Shakespearean twist, the handyman also died, leaving Ficken’s lawn unmowed and the municipality perturbed. Ficken returned home, learned that he was in violation of Dunedin’s tall grass ordinance, and mowed his lawn two days later. The city then held a hearing at which it decided to retroactively fine Ficken for each day that his grass had exceeded 10 inches in height. Because he had let his grass grow too tall once before, in 2015, Dunedin deemed him a “repeat violator” and doubled his daily fine from…

access_time2 min.
kagan and gorsuch clash over judicial deference to the administrative state

A MAJOR CONFLICT is now underway on the U.S. Supreme Court between Justices Elena Kagan and Neil Gorsuch over the issue of judicial deference to the administrative state. Their division centers in part on whether an important Supreme Court precedent, Auer v. Robbins (1997), should be overruled. In Auer, the Court held that when an “ambiguous” regulation promulgated by a federal agency is challenged in court, the judge hearing the case should defer to the agency’s preferred interpretation of its own regulation. That interpretation, the Court held in Auer, is “controlling unless plainly erroneous or inconsistent with the regulations being interpreted.” In June, the Court decided a case that asked the justices to end Auer once and for all. Writing for a narrow majority in Kisor v. Wilkie, Justice Elena Kagan saved…

help