EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / News & Politics
ReasonReason

Reason October 2019

Reason is the monthly print magazine of "free minds and free markets." It covers politics, culture, and ideas through a provocative mix of news, analysis, commentary, and reviews. Reason provides a refreshing alternative to right-wing and left-wing opinion magazines by making a principled case for liberty and individual choice in all areas of human activity.

Country:
United States
Language:
English
Publisher:
Reason Magazine
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
BUY ISSUE
$1.72(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
$18.96(Incl. tax)
11 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time2 min.
reason

Editor in Chief Katherine Mangu-Ward (kmw@reason.com), Publisher Mike Alissi (malissi@reason.com), Editors at Large Nick Gillespie (gillespie@reason.com), Matt Welch (matt.welch@reason.com), Managing Editor Stephanie Slade (sslade@reason.com), Art Director Joanna Andreasson (joanna@reason.com), Features Editor Peter Suderman (peter.suderman@reason.com), Books Editor Jesse Walker (jwalker@reason.com), Senior Editors Brian Doherty (bdoherty@reason.com), Damon Root (droot@reason.com), Jacob Sullum (jsullum@reason.com), Science Correspondent Ronald Bailey (rbailey@reason.com), Associate Editors Christian Britschgi (christian.britschgi@reason.com), Elizabeth Nolan Brown (elizabeth.brown@reason.com), Mike Riggs (mriggs@reason.com), Scott Shackford (sshackford@reason.com), Robby Soave (robby.soave@reason.com), Assistant Editors Billy Binion (billy.binion@reason.com), Zuri Davis (zuri.davis@reason.com), Reporters Eric Boehm (eric.boehm@reason.com), C.J. Ciaramella (cj.ciaramella@reason.com), Web Developer Justin Maurer (justin.maurer@reason.org), Editorial Assistant Mary Toledo (mtoledo@reason.org) Executive Editor, Reason TV Meredith Bragg (mbragg@reason.com), Managing Editor, Reason TV Jim Epstein (jim.epstein@reason.com), Producers Austin Bragg (austin.bragg@reason.com), Paul Detrick (paul.detrick@reason.com), Alexis Garcia (agarcia@reason.com), Ian Keyser (ian.keyser@reason.com), Todd Krainin (todd.krainin@reason.com), Mark McDaniel (mark.mcdaniel@reason.com),…

access_time6 min.
don’t just do something

“I DON’T KNOW what the answer is,” Kacey Musgraves shouted during her set at Lollapalooza on August 7, “but obviously something has to be fucking done.” The country music star then led her fans in a chant that perfectly encapsulates the future of American politics: “Somebody fucking do something!” she screamed. “Somebody fucking do something!” the crowd screamed back. Musgraves was, understandably, upset about the horrific back-to-back mass murders that took place the first weekend of August in El Paso and Dayton. She did not offer a specific something to be done. This may have been an attempt to appear nonpartisan, it may have been honest uncertainty, or it may just have been a sensible intuition that the middle of a music festival was not the right place to workshop public…

access_time1 min.
photo

TWO SUFFRAGETTES WATCH as Pennsylvania Republican Gov. William Cameron Sproul signs the 19th Amendment, which guaranteed women in America the right to vote. The measure was approved by both houses of Congress in 1919. Pennsylvania was the seventh state to ratify it. In August 1920, Tennessee became the 36th state to ratify, thereby causing the change to the constitution to kick in just in time for that year’s presidential election. Photo: Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division, Harris & Ewing Collection…

access_time4 min.
hard lessons from the russian civil war

THE OFFICIAL 100TH anniversary of the Russian Revolution, which birthed the world’s first Communist state, came and went two years ago. But the revolution actually played out over five horrific years known as the Russian Civil War. A century ago this summer, the anti-Bolshevik White forces were running a fully functional government in northern Russia. Their “Supreme Ruler,” Admiral Alexander Kolchak, was internationally recognized as the head of state, and their army was crushing the Bolsheviks in the South. By November 1919, the tide had turned. By the time the war was over, between 7 and 12 million were dead, and the Communists were victorious. The Soviets’ civil war mythology presented the conflict as a heroic story about workers and peasants defeating the combined forces of upper-class Russian reactionaries and Western…

access_time2 min.
bernie sanders leads the anti–charter school charge

“I BELIEVE IN public education, and I believe in public charter schools,” explained Sen. Bernie Sanders (I–Vt.) at a CNN town hall in March. What the candidate for the Democratic presidential nomination doesn’t believe in, he said, are “privately controlled charter schools.” The problem with that distinction is that all charters are privately controlled to some degree. They are also all public schools, funded with taxpayer money. That dual nature is what distinguishes charter schools from every other kind. Sanders clarified his stance when he released an education plan in May. While he wants more “accountability” for nonprofit charters, he would entirely ban their for-profit counterparts. According to data obtained from the National Alliance for Charter Schools, schools run by for-profit companies make up roughly 12 percent of charters nationwide. One of the…

access_time3 min.
why prosecutors should revisit their wins

WHEN THREE TAMPA, Florida, police officers were fired for misconduct earlier this year, Hillsborough County State Attorney Andrew Warren put his newly created “conviction review unit” to work. The members pored over 225 closed cases that the officers were involved in, and Warren’s office ultimately vacated 17 convictions. It was a relatively rare move by a prosecutor’s office. In less scrupulous jurisdictions, the officers’ misconduct might have been concealed under police secrecy laws or the defendants might have been left to challenge their convictions in court, but Hillsborough County is one of the few dozen places in the United States that has a unit dedicated to rooting out bad cases. “In short, we felt that convictions cannot stand based exclusively on the testimony of discredited officers,” Warren says. CONVICTION REVIEW UNITS, also…

help