UDFORSKBIBLIOTEK
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Film, TV & Musik
GuitaristGuitarist

Guitarist July 2019

Guitarist is the longest established UK guitar magazine. You'll find authoritative gear reviews, artist interviews, technique lessons and advice. Plus, Guitarist's digital edition now includes all of the same audio and video content as the print edition; available to download from a special area of the Guitarist website!

Land:
United Kingdom
Sprog:
English
Udgiver:
Future Publishing Ltd
Læs merekeyboard_arrow_down
KØB UDGIVELSE
41,84 kr.(Inkl. moms)
ABONNER
335,25 kr.(Inkl. moms)
13 Udgivelser

I DENNE UDGAVE

access_time2 min.
want versus need

As I was idly playing the Jimmy Page ‘Mirror’ Tele reviewed on p74, I felt that familiar sinking feeling yet again. “Oh, no…” I thought. “Not another guitar I’d really quite like to own..” Yes, we’ve all felt those first heady effects of GAS kick in. First, you feel a flush of euphoria, then your judgment starts to become impaired as you find yourself thinking things like, “Well, I guess I can probably afford it. If I squint a bit at my bank statement and sell a few things first, then why not? The family will understand–what do they want with going on holiday anyway?” You get the idea, I’m sure. At such moments, it’s wise to put the guitar down and walk away for a period of mature reflection about…

access_time2 min.
guitarist

EDITORIAL Art Editor Darren Phillips darren.phillips@futurenet.com Managing Editor Lucy Rice lucy.rice@futurenet.com Editor-In-Chief Jamie Dickson jamie.dickson@futurenet.com Deputy Editor David Mead david.mead@futurenet.com Content Director, Music Scott Rowley scott.rowley@futurenet.com Reviews Editor Dave Burrluck dave@daveburrluck.com Senior Music Editor Jason Sidwell jason.sidwell@futurenet.com Contributors Richard Barrett, Rod Brakes, Adrian Clark, Trevor Curwen, Adam Goldsmith, Nick Guppy, Phil Hilborne, Martin Holmes, Richard Hood, Rob Laing, Neville Marten, Ed Mitchell, Roger Newell, Nigel Pulsford, Davina Rungasamy, Jeff Slate, Adrian Thorpe, Henry Yates In-House Photography Phil Barker, Olly Curtis, Neil Godwin, Will Ireland, Joby Sessions, Jesse Wilde ADVERTISING COMMERCIAL SALES DIRECTOR Clare Dove clare.dove@futurenet.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTOR Lara Jaggon lara.jaggon@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Alison Watson alison.watson@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Steven Pyatt steve.pyatt@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES EXECUTIVE Guy Meredith guy.meredith@futurenet.com MARKETING MAGAZINE MARKETING DIRECTOR Sharon Todd sharon.todd@futurenet.com ACQUISITIONS CAMPAIGN MANAGER Tom Cooper tom.cooper@futurenet.com PRINT & PRODUCTION HEAD OF PRODUCTION UK & US Mark Constance mark.constance@futurenet.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Frances Twentyman frances.twentyman@futurenet.com PRODUCTION PROJECT MANAGER Clare Scott clare.scott@futurenet.com ADVERTISING PRODUCTION MANAGER Joanne Crosby joanne.crosby@futurenet.com DIGITAL EDITIONS…

access_time7 min.
special sauce

Back in issue 436, we looked at Patrick James Eggle’s single-cut Macon Junior. Except, as we pointed out, in classic guitar terminology the (Les Paul) Junior has only one pickup: Patrick’s had two. In truth, that Junior has a more simplistic air with its slab mahogany body and open-pore finish and, let’s face it, Junior-and-a-half doesn’t quite do it on the name front. But don’t despair as the latest model to come off of the PJE workbench is this correctly named Macon Special – a souped-up version of the Junior. It’s the latest in an increasingly long line of electrics since Patrick turned his back on the world of acoustics to build electric solidbodies. In what is undoubtedly a loss to the serious acoustic player, us electric players have been treated…

access_time1 min.
patrick james eggle macon special

PRICE: £3,100 (inc case) ORIGIN: UK TYPE: Single-cutaway solidbody electric BODY: 1-piece slab mahogany with thin maple cap NECK: Roasted maple w/ ‘Fat-C’ profile SCALE LENGTH: 625.5mm (24.625”) NUT/WIDTH: Bone/42.9mm FINGERBOARD: Santos rosewood, 6.4mm clay dot inlays, 305mm (12”) radius FRETS: 22, medium (Jescar 55090) HARDWARE: ABM 3205 aluminium one-piece wrapover bridge, Gotoh SD90 Kluson style tuners — aged nickel plating STRING SPACING, BRIDGE: 52mm ELECTRICS: Mojo Mojotron humbucker (bridge), Mojo soapbar single coil (neck). 3-way toggle pickup selector switch, individual pickup volume and tone controls (with coil-split pull switch on bridge tone) WEIGHT (kg/lb): 3.26/7.17 OPTIONS: H/H pickup configuration RANGE OPTIONS: The Macon Junior kicks off at £2,990. The carved maple top Macon Single Cut starts at £4,200 LEFT-HANDERS: Yes, to order FINISHES: Faded Tobacco Burst (as reviewed), Island Blue Burst, Dirty Lemon Burst and Charcoal Burst – hand burnished nitro with worn-through neck, finished…

access_time7 min.
heart & soul

Nowadays, it’s dead easy to get your name on a range of guitars. Throw some coin at a factory in China; commit to a container load of gear; get your John Hancock silk-screened on the headstocks. That, in a nutshell, is the biography of many guitar brands you’ll find fattening up the stock online or at your local music store. Of course, we’re not saying there’s owt wrong with that approach. If the punters get what they want, it’s all good. It’s just that we tend to get more excited when we encounter a new guitar range that comes with a juicy backstory. Here’s the synopsis on newcomer Finlayson. This fledgling brand is a collaboration between respected Scottish luthier Billy Finlayson and prolific Canadian manufacturer Robert Godin, with the results exclusively…

access_time1 min.
finlayson 000-100rs

PRICE: £1,399 (inc TRIC case) ORIGIN: Canada TYPE: 000-size electro-acoustic TOP: Select pressure-tested solid spruce with Adirondack spruce bracing, gloss finish BACK/SIDES: Solid Indian rosewood MAX RIM DEPTH: 102mm (4") MAX BODY WIDTH: 396mm (15.5") NECK: Mahogany with slotted headstock and satin finish SCALE LENGTH: 648mm (25.5") TUNERS: Gold Sta-Tite NUT/WIDTH: Graph Tech TUSQ/43.6mm FINGERBOARD: Richlite, small offset mother-of-pearl inlays, 406mm (16") radius FRETS: 21, medium BRIDGE/SPACING: Richlite with TUSQ saddle/54mm WEIGHT(kg/Ib): 2.12/4.11 PICKUP/PREAMP: Fishman Sonitone with soundhole mounted volume and tone controls RANGE OPTIONS: 100 Series D-100RCE dreadnought in Natural (£1,399) LEFT-HANDERS: No FINISH: Vintage Burst (as reviewed) GuitarGuitar 0800 456 1959 www.guitarguitar.co.uk PROS Jaw-dropping looks, all-solid woods, that fantastic plump neck shape: the 000-100RS excels on every level CONS There’s nothing to see here. We’re in love…

help