UDFORSKBIBLIOTEK
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Film, TV & Musik
GuitaristGuitarist

Guitarist August 2019

Guitarist is the longest established UK guitar magazine. You'll find authoritative gear reviews, artist interviews, technique lessons and advice. Plus, Guitarist's digital edition now includes all of the same audio and video content as the print edition; available to download from a special area of the Guitarist website!

Land:
United Kingdom
Sprog:
English
Udgiver:
Future Publishing Ltd
Læs merekeyboard_arrow_down
SPECIEL: Get 40% OFF with code: BIG40
KØB UDGIVELSE
41,84 kr.(Inkl. moms)
ABONNER
335,25 kr.(Inkl. moms)
13 Udgivelser

I DENNE UDGAVE

access_time2 min.
the price of experience

This month, I embarked on building my first acoustic guitar – a factory kit issue by Martin (see feature, p76). And it was an education in more ways than one. Aside from learning many useful and practical skills (such as how to sharpen a plane properly), the process threw fresh light on issues that guitarists have to weigh up when they’re considering what guitar to buy. First, many people wonder what the premium price tag of a handmade guitar actually buys. As consumers, it’s arguable that guitarists have become a bit blasé about pearl inlays, fancy binding and the like, taking it for granted. But each of these processes takes time and care to get right and all of that has a cost attached to it – especially if you don’t…

access_time1 min.
guitarist

EDITORIAL ART EDITOR Darren Phillips darren.phillips@futurenet.com MANAGING EDITOR Lucy Rice lucy.rice@futurenet.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Jamie Dickson jamie.dickson@futurenet.com DEPUTY EDITOR David Mead david.mead@futurenet.com CONTENT DIRECTOR, MUSIC Scott Rowley scott.rowley@futurenet.com REVIEWS EDITOR Dave Burrluck dave@daveburrluck.com SENIOR MUSIC EDITOR Jason Sidwell jason.sidwell@futurenet.com CONTRIBUTORS RICHARD BARRETT, ROD BRAKES, ADRIAN CLARK, TREVOR CURWEN, ADAM GOLDSMITH, NICK GUPPY, PHIL HILBORNE, MARTIN HOLMES, RICHARD HOOD, CATHERINE KIRKPATRICK, ROB LAING, NEVILLE MARTEN, ED MITCHELL, ROGER NEWELL, NIGEL PULSFORD, DAVINA RUNGASAMY, ADRIAN THORPE IN-HOUSE PHOTOGRAPHY PHIL BARKER, OLLY CURTIS, NEIL GODWIN, WILL IRELAND, JOBY SESSIONS, JESSE WILDE ADVERTISING COMMERCIAL SALES DIRECTOR Clare Dove clare.dove@futurenet.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTOR Lara Jaggon lara.jaggon@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Alison Watson alison.watson@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Steven Pyatt steve.pyatt@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES EXECUTIVE Guy Meredith guy.meredith@futurenet.com ACCOUNT MANAGER AndrewHelps andrew.helps@futurenet.com MARKETING MAGAZINE MARKETING DIRECTOR Sharon Todd sharon.todd@futurenet.com ACQUISITIONS CAMPAIGN MANAGER Tom Cooper tom.cooper@futurenet.com PRINT & PRODUCTION HEAD OF PRODUCTION UK & US Mark Constance mark.constance@futurenet.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Frances Twentyman frances.twentyman@futurenet.com PRODUCTION PROJECT MANAGER Clare Scott clare.scott@futurenet.com ADVERTISING PRODUCTION MANAGER Joanne Crosby joanne.crosby@futurenet.com DIGITAL…

access_time9 min.
rock of ages…

Everyone knows that old expression, ‘we buy with our eyes’. To that end, some of you have probably already dismissed these new Charvel Pro-Mod DK24 guitars as 80s throwbacks or ‘shred machines’. Just look at that one guitar’s finish. It couldn’t be any more orange. They might as well have called it ‘Presidential Tan’. Well, before you write these guitars off as ‘not for me’ and turn the page, let’s pick them apart like Quincy ME. Aside from their respective finishes, not to mention the front pickups, our Mexico-born DK24 HSH and HSS are identical. Skipping down the spec sheets you’ll find an offset ‘Dinky’ alder body at the nucleus of each guitar. Ribs and beer bellies alike are catered for with your classic Strat-style rear contouring. The front of the…

access_time1 min.
charvel pro-mod dk24 hsh

PRICE: £939 ORIGIN: Mexico TYPE: Offset solidbody electric BODY: Alder NECK: 2-piece caramelised maple with hand rubbed urethane finish and graphite reinforcement, bolt-on SCALE LENGTH: 648mm (25.5”) NUT/WIDTH: Graph Tech TUSQ XL/42.86mm FINGERBOARD: Caramelised maple with small dot inlays, 305-406mm (12-16”) radius FRETS: 24, jumbo HARDWARE: Chrome Gotoh Custom 510 6-saddle floating bridge with screw-in arm, Charvel die-cast locking tuners STRING SPACING, BRIDGE: 53mm ELECTRICS: Direct-mount Seymour Duncan SH-10B Custom Full Shred humbucker (bridge), SSL-6 Custom Flat Strat single coil (middle), APH-1N Alnico II Pro ’bucker (neck), 500k EVH Bourns Low-Friction master volume, No-Load master tone, 5-way pickup selector lever switch WEIGHT (kg/lb): 3.5/7.12 OPTIONS: Hard case (£108.99); padded gigbag (£43.99) RANGE OPTIONS: Pro Mods with Floyd Rose vibratos: DK24 HH FR twin-humbucker with alder body and quilted maple top (£949); DK24 HH FR twin -humbucker with alder body (£889); DK24 HH FR twin-humbucker…

access_time1 min.
charvel pro-mod dk24 hss

PRICE: £939 ORIGIN: Mexico TYPE: Offset solidbody electric BODY: Alder NECK: 2-piece caramelised maple with hand rubbed urethane finish and graphite reinforcement, bolt-on SCALE LENGTH: 648mm (25.5”) NUT/WIDTH: Graph Tech TUSQ XL/42.86mm FINGERBOARD: Caramelised maple with small dot inlays, 305-406mm (12-16”) radius FRETS: 24, jumbo HARDWARE: Chrome Gotoh Custom 510 6-saddle floating bridge with screw-in arm, Charvel die-cast locking tuners STRING SPACING, BRIDGE: 53mm ELECTRICS: Direct-mount Seymour Duncan SH-10B Custom Full Shred humbucker (bridge), SSL-6 Custom Flat Strat single coil (middle), SSL-6 Custom Flat Strat RWRP single coil (neck), 500k EVH Bourns Low-Friction master volume, No-Load master tone, 5-way pickup selector lever switch WEIGHT (kg/lb): 3.4/7.9 OPTIONS: As Pro-Mod DK24 HSH RANGE OPTIONS: See HSH. There are two Pro-Mod DK24 hardtails: HH HT twin-humbucker with alder body and quilted maple top, and with ash body (both £889) LEFT HANDERS: No FINISHES: Primer Gray (as reviewed), Satin…

access_time7 min.
grand designs

In case you hadn’t heard, Taylor’s master designer Andy Powers is set to see his V-Class bracing system permeate the company’s entire fleet of guitars and it’s currently reached the Grand Concert instruments. V-Class replaces the more established X-bracing pattern that has been standard for generations and is said to increase sustain and improve intonation. We’ve looked at a few V-Class Taylors in the past and found them to be sweetly voiced and characterful, and so expectations are high for the duo in front of us here. The Grand Concert body shape is smaller; Taylor comments that it represents the perfect dimensions for “players of smaller stature as well as those who simply prefer an intimate guitar-playing experience”, and that the addition of the V-Class bracing makes for “a fuller, more…

help