EXPLORARBIBLIOTECAREVISTES
CATEGORIES
DESTACATS
EXPLORARBIBLIOTECA
Notícies i Política
Reason

Reason February 2020

Reason is the monthly print magazine of "free minds and free markets." It covers politics, culture, and ideas through a provocative mix of news, analysis, commentary, and reviews. Reason provides a refreshing alternative to right-wing and left-wing opinion magazines by making a principled case for liberty and individual choice in all areas of human activity.

País:
United States
Idioma:
English
Editor:
Reason Magazine
Llegir Més
COMPRAR NÚMERO
1,37 €(IVA inc.)
SUBSCRIURE
15,09 €(IVA inc.)
11 Números

En aquest número

2 min.
reason

FREE MINDS AND FREE MARKETS Editor in Chief Katherine Mangu-Ward (kmw@ reason.com), Publisher Mike Alissi (malissi@reason.com), Editors at Large Nick Gillespie (gillespie@ reason.com), Matt Welch (matt.welch@reason.com), Managing Editor Stephanie Slade (sslade@ reason.com), Art Director Joanna Andreasson (joanna@reason.com), Features Editor Peter Suderman (peter.suderman@reason.com), Books Editor Jesse Walker (jwalker@reason.com), Senior Editors Elizabeth Nolan Brown (elizabeth.brown@ reason.com), Brian Doherty (bdoherty@reason.com), Damon Root (droot@reason.com), Robby Soave (robby.soave@reason.com), Jacob Sullum (jsullum@reason.com), Science Correspondent Ronald Bailey (rbailey@reason.com), Deputy Managing Editor Mike Riggs (mriggs@reason.com), Associate Editors Christian Britschgi (christian.britschgi@reason.com), Scott Shackford (sshackford@reason.com), Staff Editor Liz Wolfe (liz.wolfe@reason.com), Assistant Editors Billy Binion (billy.binion@reason.com), Zuri Davis (zuri.davis@reason.com), Reporters Eric Boehm (eric.boehm@reason.com), C.J. Ciaramella (cj.ciaramella@reason.com), Web Developer Justin Maurer (justin.maurer@reason.org), Editorial Assistant Mary Toledo (mtoledo@reason.org) Executive Editor, Reason TV Meredith Bragg (mbragg@reason.com), Managing Editor, Reason TV Jim Epstein (jim.epstein@reason.com), Producers Austin Bragg…

5 min.
the new normal and the prospects for a postpolitical future

“WHEN WILL THINGS be normal again?” In politics, this is a powerful wish and a commonly heard refrain. It’s the desire that propelled Donald Trump into the White House with a Make America Great Again cap perched atop his head. His campaign tapped into a longing for an imagined 20th century standard, when the United States was militarily, technologically, and commercially dominant abroad and relatively homogeneous at home. Now Joe Biden is rallying voters against Trump using the same technique. Biden’s “no malarkey” campaign bus is powered by the fumes of goodwill he generated in his role as Barack Obama’s vice president. He is selling the pre-Trump normal, and plenty of Democratic primary voters seem to be buying. One weird side effect of this strategy is that Biden is running a markedly conservative…

1 min.
photo

“THIS IS SOMETHING that we knew would be provocative,” Republican South Dakota Gov. Kristi Noem told Keloland News, after the internet went haywire over a new state government marketing strategy. Launched in November, the “Meth. We’re on it.” campaign is intended to make “every single South Dakotan realize that they have a role” to play in reducing the state’s rate of methamphetamine use. Left unexplained is how billboards and internet memes are supposed to solve a problem (meth is “filling our jails and prisons [and] clogging our court systems,” according to Noem) of which drug prohibition itself is the cause.…

3 min.
let kids have recess outside in winter

IN AMERICA, YOU can grow up a brave, blustering bear of a kid ready for anything nature unleashes, or a sallow, soft sad sack of a sniffler afraid of the first flake, and it may all depend on one thing: Your school’s outdoor recess policy. Consider the fact that one mom from Fairbanks, Alaska, told me that outdoor time gets canceled there only when it hits 20 below zero, while in Corpus Christi, Texas, another mom said her son’s kindergarten class had to stay inside when it dipped below 60. Brrrr. “I live in Washington state and moved to a new school district,” April Doiron wrote to my Facebook page when I asked about local weather policies. (Hundreds of parents responded to the query.) “I was showing up to volunteer just as…

5 min.
the corruptions of talking like trump

“THIS COMMITTEE IS not a court, nor is it a jury,” Sen. Howard Baker (R–Tenn.) informed millions of television viewers on May 17, 1973. It was opening day of the Senate Select Committee on Presidential Campaign Activities (the latter three words of which would soon be condensed to just “Watergate”), and Baker, the ranking committee member from President Richard Nixon’s Republican Party, was there both to reassure Americans about the sobriety of the investigation and to suggest that the exercise of bipartisan congressional oversight might even reinvigorate the country’s political and constitutional norms. “I intend to pursue, as I know each member of this committee intends to pursue, an objective and even-handed but thorough, complete, and energetic inquiry into the facts,” Baker declared. “The very fact that we are now involved in…

2 min.
the supreme court’s next fourth amendment showdown

ASSUME YOU ARE a 17-year-old licensed driver and your father’s driver’s license has been suspended. He hands you the keys to his car and asks you to run an errand. While completing that errand you are stopped by the police. You have not broken a single law. You were stopped only because the officer guessed that your father might be driving. Was the traffic stop lawful? The above scenario is hypothetical, but the questions it raises are genuine. In November, the U.S. Supreme Court heard oral arguments in a case that asks whether the Fourth Amendment “always permits a police officer to seize a motorist when the only thing the police officer knows is that the motorist is driving a vehicle registered to someone whose license has been revoked.” The case is…