menu
close
search
EXPLORARMI BIBLIOTECAREVISTAS
CATEGORÍAS
  • Arte y Arquitectura
  • Aviación y Navegación
  • Negocios y Finanzas
  • Coches y Motos
  • Famosos y Cotilleo
  • Comics & Manga
  • Artesanía
  • Cultura y Literatura
  • Familia y Paternidad
  • Moda
  • Cocina y Vinos
  • Salud y Fitness
  • Hogar y Jardín
  • Caza y Pesca
  • Adolescentes
  • Lujo
  • Estilo de Vida Masculino
  • Cine, TV y Música
  • Noticias y Política
  • Fotografía
  • Ciencia
  • Deportes
  • Tecnología y Juegos
  • Viajes y Aire Libre
  • Estilo de Vida Femenina
  • Adultos
DESTACADOS
EXPLORARMI BIBLIOTECA
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Cine, TV y Música
Guitar PlayerGuitar Player

Guitar Player June 2019

The only magazine committed to the most experienced and serious guitar players. Get Guitar Player digital magazine subscription today for the finest lessons and master classes, interviews with top artists, recording tips, and extensive product reviews.

País:
United States
Idioma:
English
Editor:
Future Publishing Limited US
Leer Máskeyboard_arrow_down
COMPRAR NÚMERO
7,09 €(IVA inc.)
SUSCRIBIRSE
20,73 €(IVA inc.)
12 Números

EN ESTE NÚMERO

access_time3 min.
{ from the editor }

IN LAST MONTH’S issue, Robin Trower reflected on his own mortality, a subject that informs his latest album, Coming Closer to the Day. It’s a recurring theme among legendary guitarists these days, as witnessed by the death of surf-guitar pioneer Dick Dale on March 16 at age 81. Dale’s professional career is one of the longest in rock and roll, and certainly one of the more tragic. In his early 1960s heyday, Dale was the epitome of the era’s California guitar player: He was handsome, athletic (the dude actually surfed) and exuded the sense that everything would be fine if we all just spent more time hanging out on the beach, twisting to the music he made. By the middle of that decade, however, Dale cut a far different figure.…

access_time2 min.
guitar player

guitarplayer.com FOLLOW US twitter.com/guitarplayernow facebook.com/guitarplayermag CONTENT EDITOR Christopher Scapelliti, chris.scapelliti@futurenet.com SENIOR EDITOR Art Thompson, arthur.thompson@futurenet.com PRODUCTION EDITOR Alice Pattillo, alice.pattillo@futurenet.com ART EDITOR Rosie Webber, rosie.webber@futurenet.com LOS ANGELES EDITOR Jude Gold, judegold@gmail.com FRETS SECTION EDITOR Jimmy Leslie, jl@jimmyleslie.com LESSONS EDITOR Jimmy Brown, jimmy.brown@futurenet.com CONSULTING EDITORS Matt Blackett, Jim Campilongo, Jesse Gress, Dave Hunter, Michael Ross MUSIC COPYISTS Elizabeth Ledgerwood, Jeff Perrin ADVERTISING SALES US CHIEF REVENUE OFFICER Luke Edson luke.edson@futurenet.com ADVERTISING DIRECTOR Jonathan Brudner jonathan.brudner@futurenet.com, (917) 281-4721 ADVERTISING DIRECTOR Mari Deetz mari.deetz@futurenet.com, (650) 238-0344 ADVERTISING DIRECTOR Jason Perl jason.perl@futurenet.com, (646) 723-5419 ADVERTISING DIRECTOR Scott Sciacca scott.sciacca@futurenet.com, (646) 723-5478 SUBSCRIBER CUSTOMER SERVICE To subscribe, change your address, or check on your current account status, go to guitarplayer.com and click on Subscribe, email guitarplayermag@icnfull.com, call 800-289-9839 or write P.O. Box 2029, Langhorne, PA 19047 LIST RENTAL For information on mailing list rental, call Merit Direct at 913-685-1301, or email Jane Long at jlong@meritdirect.com ARCHIVES This magazine is available for research and retrieval of select archived articles from leading electronic database and…

access_time2 min.
opening notes

Raid Dana’s Gear Stash! This month, we’re giving one lucky reader a chance to win an Electro-Harmonix Flatiron Fuzz pedal. This new and versatile effects box represents the company’s unique take on the RAT2 distortion pedal. It features classic op-amp-powered fuzz/distortion with symmetrical hard clipping to produce spectacularly thick, meaty tones. For a chance to put this stomp box on your pedalboard, simply send an email to nbmgearcoordinator@gmail.com with “Flatiron” in the subject line. One lucky winner will be chosen at random. The deadline for entries is June 20. Please keep in mind that all gear is offered “as is.” Good luck!—DANA PARKER Sweet Treat Great interview with Brian Setzer [GP, May 2019]. I’m stoked about the new Stray Cats album. It’s welcome news to hear the band is back on track. But the…

access_time1 min.
interact!

JOIN THE GP COMMUNITY! SOUND OFF! GET EXCLUSIVE NEWS. COMMENT. CRITIQUE. SHARE TIPS AND TECHNIQUES. SUBSCRIBE TO OUR E-NEWSLETTER. FACEBOOK.COM/GUITARPLAYERMAG TWITTER.COM/GUITARPLAYERNOW GUITARPLAYER.COM CHRISTOPHER SCAPELLITI Editor chris.scapelliti@futurenet.com ART THOMPSON Senior Editor arthur.thompson@futurenet.com JUDE GOLD Los Angeles Editor judegold@gmail.com JIMMY LESLIE Frets Editor jl@jimmyleslie.com DAVE HUNTER Gear Section & Video Contributor dhunterwordsmusic@yahoo.com ALICE PATTILLO Production Editor alice.pattillo@futurenet.com ROSIE WEBBER Art Editor rosie.webber@futurenet.com…

access_time8 min.
guitar man

ALTHOUGH HE IS known to many for his tunes that other artists made famous, JJ Cale was a consummate guitarist and songwriter who wrote a huge number of songs during a career that spanned from the 1950s until his unexpected death on July 26, 2013. A new album titled Stay Around (Because Music) presents 15 unreleased songs that were recorded, mixed and produced by Cale in his home studio, and which were chosen by his wife, Christine Lakeland Cale, and his friend and longtime manager, Mike Kappus. John Weldon Cale started his career in the early 1960s as a sound engineer, but the key to his ultimate success was an unwavering devotion to songwriting. He realized early on that it gave him the best chance of making a living at music.…

access_time6 min.
swimming with the big fish

CHRISTONE “KINGFISH” INGRAM may play guitar like he’s on fire, but there’s no hellhound on his trail. Growing up in Clarksdale, Mississippi, in the shadow of Robert Johnson’s fabled crossroads, the 20-year-old guitarist was destined to find the blues. It’s just that he found them in church, not in a juke joint or down a dusty Delta road. “On my mom’s side of the family, all of my uncles played bass and guitar,” Ingram says. “Just looking at them playing in church made me want to do it.” Ingram picked up bass when he was eight years old, then switched to guitar at 12 while enrolled in the Delta Blues Museum’s Arts and Education program. In the eight years since, the 20-year-old has been hailed as a prodigy, performed before stunned audiences…

help