Arte y Arquitectura
PleinAir Magazine

PleinAir Magazine

April/May 2020

Get PleinAir Magazine digital magazine subscription today and follow tens-of-thousands of artists and collectors who have joined a new plein air movement. Rooted in deep history each quarterly issue, edited by Cherie Haas, chronicles today’s master artists, their techniques, events and the collectors who follow them as well as the historic artists who came before them.

País:
United States
Idioma:
English
Editor:
Streamline Publishing
Leer Más
COMPRAR NÚMERO
6,61 €(IVA inc.)
SUSCRIBIRSE
35,28 €(IVA inc.)
6 Números

en este número

1 min.
plein air heritage

Colorado’s first female resident artist, Helen Henderson Chain (1849–1892), was born in Indianapolis and studied with Hudson River School painter George Innes before moving to Denver with her husband, James. There, they helped establish the Chain & Hardy Bookstore, which would eventually become the city’s first art gallery and publishing house. Converting a back room of the store to a studio, she taught art classes and sold supplies. Rather than paint the ladylike florals and still life paintings expected from women artists of her day, she preferred to tackle the rugged Colorado landscape en plein air. Dressed in corsets and long skirts, she scrambled up the area’s most notable peaks, art supplies in tow, becoming the first non-native woman to summit the 14,000-foot Mount of the Holy Cross. A true pioneer,…

2 min.
pleinair magazine us

PUBLISHER B. Eric Rhoads • bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads • Facebook: /ericrhoads EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Kelly Kane • kkane@streamlinepublishing.com MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly • bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com 702.665.5283 CREATIVE DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones • • 561.655.8778 ART DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney • kenneth.whitney@gmail.com EDITOR EMERITUS M. Stephen Doherty VICE PRESIDENT OF SALES Bob Hogan • bhogan@streamlinepublishing.com 206.321.8990 VENDOR AND CONVENTION MARKETING Sarah Webb • swebb@streamlinepublishing.com 630.445.9182 MARKETING AND DIGITAL AD MANAGER Yvonne Van Wechel • yvanwechel@streamlinepublishing.com 602.810.3518 SENIOR MARKETING SPECIALISTS Krystal Allen • kallen@streamlinepublishing.com 541.447.4787 Bruce Bingham • bbingham@streamlinepublishing.com 512.669.8081 Anne W. Brown • abrown@streamlinepublishing.com 435.772.0504 Richard Dorbin • rdorbin@streamlinepublishing.com 410.924.0217 Mary Green • mgreen@streamlinepublishing.com 508.230.9928 Helen Merry • hmerry@streamlinepublishing.com 360.540.7622 Joan Revell Ryan • jryan@streamlinepublishing.com 442.282-9505 Gina Ward • gward@streamlinepublishing.com 920.743.2405 Plein Air Today Cherie Haas, Editor chaas@streamlinepublishing.com ADVISORY BOARD Museum & Organization Officers Peter Adams, President, California Art Club (www.americanlegacyfinearts.com/artists/peter-adams/) Sandy Askey Adams, En Plein Air Group, Facebook (www.sandyaskeyadams.com) Antony Bridge, Pochade.Co.UK (www.antonybridge.co.uk) Christopher Forbes, Vice Chairman, Forbes Inc. (www.forbes.com) Matt Smith, President, Plein Air Painters of America (www.mattsmithstudio.com) Lori McNee,…

3 min.
sharing plein air

Last year at the Plein Air Convention & Expo, I highlighted the history of plein air painting, presenting my research showing that paint and brush (not just drawing) were used on location, outdoors, as far back as the late 1500s, even before Rembrandt’s time. And, though the Impressionists are given credit for popularizing plein air, the biggest credit goes to the Russians. On my recent trip to Russia, I filmed a documentary, interviewing top Russian art experts — artists, museum directors, art historians, directors of the two great art academies, and others. And in the course of our conversations, each of them said something we would rarely, if ever, hear from professionals in the United States: plein air painting is an important part of Russian art history and the curriculum for…

2 min.
for the love of nature

In the time before cell phones and social media, painters introduced broad audiences to the unique and impressive features of the American landscape, playing an integral role in fanning the flames of the early environmental movement. In the 19th century, the artists of the Hudson River School became famous for their paintings of glorious trees, tranquil lakes, and towering mountains. Albert Bierstadt and Thomas Moran painted many of the West’s scenic highlights, including the Rocky and Sierra Nevada mountains, Yellowstone, and the Grand Canyon. Around the same time, Frederick Law Olmsted, who was active in the early conservation movement, emerged as the father of landscape architecture, designing many iconic parks, including Golden Gate Park in San Francisco and Central Park in New York. Through their work, these pioneers helped popularize a…

3 min.
mountain majesty

When faced with the austere grandeur or rolling silhouettes of these natural wonders, what landscape painter could not find kinship with the naturalist John Muir, who once proclaimed, “the mountains are calling, and I must go”? Lured by the same call of the wild, the 15 artists featured here drew inspiration from a range of spectacular views — from snowy peaks and craggy sierras to verdant slopes and vibrant mesas. “The town of Telluride, Colorado, sits at the end of a box canyon with an iconic waterfall that feeds the river on the valley floor,” says Susan Lynn. “In the early morning, the rising mist from the river burns off very slowly as the sun rises beyond the mountains. I found it a wonderful challenge to stand on the valley floor…

25 min.
in the field: a female perspective

Roughly half of today’s visual artists are female, but women remain grossly underrepresented in museums, galleries, teaching positions, and at award ceremony podiums. To highlight this issue, the National Museum of Women in the Arts revived its #5WomenArtists social media campaign, challenging users to name five female artists off the top of their heads, as part of its annual celebration of Women’s History Month in March. Most found it impossible. Why? Artist and professor Joan Semmel has an idea. “If there are no great celebrated women artists, that’s because the powers that be have not been celebrating them, not because they are not there.” I was fortunate recently to talk to seven prominent artists — Suzie Baker, Jane Hunt, Shelby Keefe, Brienne Brown, Brenda Boylan, Lyn Boyer, and Kim VanDerHoek. They…