EXPLORARMI BIBLIOTECA
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Estilo de Vida Masculino
The RakeThe Rake

The Rake

April 2019 - Issue 63

The world’s preeminent publication dedicated to the renaissance in gentlemanly sophistication and style, THE RAKE recaptures the codes of classic men’s elegance. Inspired by icons such as Cary Grant, Fred Astaire, the Duke of Windsor, Gianni Agnelli, Sean Connery, and their contemporary counterparts, THE RAKE provides incisive, in-depth commentary on magnificent menswear, and the many other elements of gentlemanly living, from manners and ethics, to art and design, tasteful travel, health and well-being, the intellectual and philosophical, to homes, modes of transport, entertainment, food and drink. THE RAKE is the modern voice of classic elegance.

País:
Singapore
Idioma:
English
Editor:
The Rake Pte Ltd
Leer Máskeyboard_arrow_down
COMPRAR NÚMERO
8,63 €(IVA inc.)
SUSCRIBIRSE
41,58 €(IVA inc.)
6 Números

EN ESTE NÚMERO

access_time5 min.
letter from the founder

(RIAN DAVIDSON)So I’m having dinner with a friend of mine and he tells me that he’s going to be a father again, and that his son is going to be born in May. Which is cool. Except that he’s 64 years old. Though he’s not just any 64-year-old. Until two years ago he was running multiple marathons in those crazy barefoot shoes, and he still bangs out 40km a week like he’s standing on his head. And at the end of the evening I was left feeling inspired. As some of you know, this year I’ll hit my mid-century mark. And I don’t really feel one way or another about it. Looking back, the thing I most regret is not having had a family. When I look at my friends…

access_time4 min.
letter from the editor

(KIM LANG)Calvin Harris would have love for me, having been born in the eighties, had he and I not got into a fight in 2009 over an interrupted live performance by Jedward. He probably won’t remember this, but in that former life, when I worked in television, Mr. Harris and I had a fracas backstage, which was followed by his removal from the studio grounds at Wembley owing to his stage trespass. So his 2007 ditty Acceptable in the 80s may mean I am the exception to the rule, but, nevertheless, coming from that vintage has benefited my cultural upbringing extremely well.Putting style to one side for a few seconds — by style I mean the Flock of Seagulls-esque synth-pop bonanza and not the impossibly louche and brilliant Armani suiting…

access_time2 min.
contributors

GUY AROCH(ARTWORLD AGENCY/GUY AROCH)Guy Aroch is one of the most indemand photographers in the world. He creates images for clients such as Hugo Boss, Coca-Cola, Puma, Estée Lauder, Michael Kors and Tommy Hilfiger. He has a unique style, using colour and obscura, and he has the ability to make his subjects feel instantly at ease. He lives in New York City with his wife and three daughters. For his first assignment with The Rake, Aroch shot our cover star, Liev Schreiber, at the Lowell Hotel in New York, thrillingly capturing Schreiber’s intense and imposing presence.NICK SCOTTA former Editor-in-Chief of The Rake, Scott spent several years as a staffer at U.K. Esquire and GQ Australia, and is now the Editor of the U.K. edition of Robb Report, as well as a…

access_time2 min.
the rake

THE RAKE PTE LTDDIGITAL EDITORRyan Thompsonryan@therakemagazine.comFASHION DIRECTORGrace Gilfeathergrace@therakemagazine.comASSOCIATE STYLE EDITORBenedict Brownebenedict@therakemagazine.comSOCIAL MEDIA MANAGERTheo Penricetheo@therakemagazine.comDIGITAL IMAGING ARTISTCiwie GohCONTRIBUTING EDITORSNick FoulkesMatt HranekSARTORIAL GURUChristopher ModooFOUNDER & EDITORIAL DIRECTORWei KohEDITORTom Chamberlintom@therakemagazine.comART DIRECTORRob Frenchrob@therakemagazine.comCHIEF SUBEDITORStephen WoodART EDITORKim Langkim@therakemagazine.comFASHION ASSISTANTAmelia Hudsonamelia@therakemagazine.comEDITORS-AT-LARGENick ScottChristian BarkerRAKE AMBASSADORSAlain GafundiAlexander KraftRAKE HOUND IN VALHALLABrando Koh, Esq.MANAGING EDITORNathalie Breitschwerdtnathalie@therakemagazine.comSTYLISTVeronica Perezveronica@therakemagazine.comEDITORIAL ASSOCIATEAobh O'Brien-Moodyaobh@therakemagazine.comOFFICE ASSISTANTFreddie Andersonfreddie@therakemagazine.comSTYLE EDITOR -AT-LARGEAleksandar Cvetkovicaleks@therakemagazine.comSARTORIAL CONSIGLIEREShary RahmanThe Rake is published six times a year by The Rake Pte Ltd.BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT DIRECTORMaria Limmaria@therakemagazine.comMANAGING DIRECTOR, E-COMMERCELuca Barniluca@therakemagazine.comHEAD OF BUYINGBen St. Georgebenstgeorge@therakemagazine.comJUNIOR BUSINESS DEVELOPERPablo Gomez Julpablo@therakemagazine.comCUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP MANAGERPhoebe Foxphoebe@therakemagazine.comHUMAN RESOURCES MANAGERBelinda SohPRINT, PRODUCTION & DISTRIBUTIONMANAGERJo Low jl@revolutionmagazines.comCIRCULATION EXECUTIVEShazlina Shukorlina@revolutionmagazines.comCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERDr. Bruce Leebruce@therakemagazine.comMANAGING DIRECTORDavid Goodmandavid@therakemagazine.comSENIOR BRAND MANAGERAnne Petermannanne@therakemagazine.comMARKETING DIRECTORDrew Laidlaw Hoaredrew@therakemagazine.comASSISTANT BUYERHugo Possnerhugo@therakemagazine.comDIGITAL MARKETING MANAGERDonatas Ivaskeviciusdon@therakemagazine.comDIGITAL MARKETING ASSOCIATECodruta Maria Barbucodruta@therakemagazine.comFINANCE MANAGERShu Lien LimDIRECTOR OF U.S. CIRCULATIONSamara Ritzlersamara@therakemagazine.comCIRCULATION & ADMINISTRATION ASSISTANTAngela Leowcirculation@revolutionmagazines.comADVERTISING MANAGERArabella Boardmanarabella@therakemagazine.comFINANCE AND…

access_time8 min.
the miracle dude

Not long ago I found myself, through no fault of my own, at the stage version of Dirty Dancing. As expected, the auditorium was oestrogen-heavy, and as the rough-diamond dance teacher, Johnny Castle, got to grips with the artless Frances ‘Baby’ Houseman and helped her unleash her inner twerker, the women around me responded with shining eyes, flushed faces, and the occasional whooped exhortation (there may have been hen parties present). The deathless line “Nobody puts Baby in the corner!” was greeted with a tumultuous cheer, and the climactic mass singalong suggested that, yes, the punters had had the time of their lives, and they owed it all to… whom?“Let’s not kid ourselves,” my companion said, towelling herself down in the lobby afterwards. “The guy playing Johnny was fine, but…

access_time5 min.
rake commends: brussels

My better half is Belgian, which means we travel to Brussels fairly often to visit friends and family. With the Eurostar from London taking just under two hours, it makes the capital of Belgium — once the home of Hergé, Tintin’s creator, and Agatha Christie’s master sleuth Hercule Poirot — an easy and unmissable getaway. My favourite place to stay is the Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo, which is a stone’s throw from the Grand Place, the historic town centre or main square of Brussels, which is surrounded by beautiful architecture and is very charming, even though it is on the tourist trail. The Amigo in many ways is the grande dame of the city’s hotels. Its central location as well as unparalleled service and hospitality make it a sophisticated and…

help