EXPLOREMY LIBRARYMAGAZINES
CATEGORIES
  • Art & Architecture
  • Boating & Aviation
  • Business & Finance
  • Cars & Motorcycles
  • Celebrity & Gossip
  • Comics & Manga
  • Crafts
  • Culture & Literature
  • Family & Parenting
  • Fashion
  • Food & Wine
  • Health & Fitness
  • Home & Garden
  • Hunting & Fishing
  • Kids & Teens
  • Luxury
  • Men's Lifestyle
  • Movies, TV & Music
  • News & Politics
  • Photography
  • Science
  • Sports
  • Tech & Gaming
  • Travel & Outdoor
  • Women's Lifestyle
  • Adult
FEATURED
EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
 / Art & Architecture
Fine Art ConnoisseurFine Art Connoisseur

Fine Art Connoisseur

November/December 2019

art magazine for collectors of fine art

Country:
United States
Language:
English
Publisher:
Streamline Publishing
Read More
SUBSCRIBE
$32.99
6 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

1 min.
fine art connoisseur

Convinced that I could not possibly create anything more beautiful than what I saw, I have tried only to recreate it in my prints, that those who saw them might see it too — with me.— John Taylor Arms (1887–1953) John Taylor Arms (1887–1953), Gates of the City, 1922, etching and aquatint on paper, image: 10 1/16 × 8 1/16 in., Los Angeles County Museum of Art, EX.2019.6.10. On view at the J. PaulGetty Museum through January 19 in the exhibition True Grit: American Prints from 1900 to 1950. (For details, see page 80.) Arms’s quotation is taken from “Self Estimate,” Twenty-One Yearsof Drawing. A Retrospective Exhibition of the Work of John Taylor Arms, N.A., A.R.E., P.S.A.E., Grand Central Art Galleries, New York, 1937, pp. 9-10.…

1 min.
fine art connoisseur us

PUBLISHER B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads facebook.com/eric.rhoads ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER Scott Jones sjones@streamlinepublishing.com 406.871.0649 EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Peter Trippi peter.trippi@gmail.com 917.968.4 476 MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com 702.299.0417 CONTRIBUTING WRITERS Matthias Anderson Max Gillies Chuck Neustifter Charles Raskob Robinson Kelly Compton David Masello Louise Nicholson CREATIVE DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonsostreamline@gmail.com 561.327.6033 ART DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kwhitney@streamlinepublishing.com 561.655.8778 VICE PRESIDENT OF SALES Bob Hogan bhogan@streamlinepublishing.com 206.321.8990 MARKETING & DIGITAL AD MANAGER Yvonne Van Wechel y vanwechel@streamlinepublishing.com 602.810.3518 SENIOR MARKETING SPECIALISTS Krystal Allen kallen@streamlinepublishing.com 541.4 47.4787 Gina Ward gward@streamlinepublishing.com 920.743.2405 MARKETING SPECIALISTS Bruce Bingham bbingham@streamlinepublishing.com 512.669.8081 Richard Dorbin 410.924.0217 rdorbin@streamlinepublishing.com Mary Green mgreen@streamlinepublishing.com 508.230.9928 Scott Jones sjones@streamlinepublishing.com 406.871.0649 Joan Revell Ryan jryan@streamlinepublishing.com 442.282.2270 Sarah Webb swebb@streamlinepublishing.com 630.4 45.9182 CHAIRMAN/PUBLISHER/CEO B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com facebook.com/eric.rhoads. Twitter: @ericrhoads EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT/ CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER Tom Elmo telmo@streamlinepublishing.com PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Nicolynn Kuper nkuper@streamlinepublishing.com DIRECTOR OF FINANCE Laura Iserman laura@streamlinepublishing.com CONTROLLER Jaime Osetek jaime@streamlinepublishing.com CIRCULATION COORDINATOR Sue Henry shenry@streamlinepublishing.com CUSTOMER SERVICE COORDINATOR Jessica Smith jsmith@streamlinepublishing.com CREATIVE DIRECTOR, ADVERTISING Stephen Parker sparker@streamlinepublishing.com ASSISTANT TO THE CHAIRMAN Ali Cruickshank acruickshank@streamlinepublishing.com…

2 min.
facing face

It’s November 1. Soon I will fly to Williamsburg, Virginia, to host the third Figurative Art Convention & Expo (FACE, November 10–13). I could not be more excited. Even if you are unable to join us this month, you — as a reader of Fine Art Connoisseur — are automatically part of the extraordinary blossoming of contemporary figurative art today, and, for that, I thank you. There are lots of people who don’t have the opportunity to study in an atelier. They have careers or families and can’t take a few years off, yet they would be thrilled to study under some of the masters we’re gathering in Williamsburg. We’ve hand-picked terrific teachers, ones who are encouraging and inspiring. FACE is so much better than a workshop. It’s like a sampler…

2 min.
inspiration abroad

I am writing this note from Marseille, France’s second largest city and a world away from Paris, even though a train ride there takes only three hours. A bustling port, Marseille is cleaner and richer than I recall it from my previous visit in 1987, so I have enjoyed getting reacquainted. The highlight of my stay came today, when I toured the extraordinary Centre Interdisciplinaire de Conservation et Restauration du Patrimoine (CICRP) with its enthusiastic director, Roland May. This institution’s name translates to “Interdisciplinary Center for Conservation and Restoration of Cultural Heritage,” which offers a lot to unpack. Opened in 2002, CICRP is funded by a unique partnership of national, regional, and local agencies, and is the only such entity outside Paris. Its missions are to foster scientific research that helps…

3 min.
favorite

When the young artist Michele Oka Doner lived in Detroit during the 1960s and ’70s, she visited what she calls “America’s eternal light.” She drove to the Ford Motor Company’s River Rouge plant, and, upon entering this cathedral-scaled complex, she saw the vast furnace powering the machinery that made the cars. “Albert Kahn, the architect of both the plant and the assembly line, made a light that never went out,” recalls Doner, who has lived and worked in New York City’s SoHo neighborhood since she and her husband relocated there in the late 1970s. “At River Rouge, I could feel the heart of this country pumping.” Years later, during a trip to Detroit, she opened the drapes of her downtown hotel window and spotted, off in the distance, that glowing light…

1 min.
figurative art showcase

YVONNE MELCHERS Diemen, The Netherlands Siena Palio XVII (Aquila/Eagle), 15.7 x 17.7 in., oil on Belgian linen Available through the artist ymelchers@hetnet.nl yvonnemelchers.nl Represented by Galerie De Vreugd & Hendriks, Zandvoort, The Netherlands; Museum Møhlmann, Appingedam, The Netherlands; Abend Gallery, Denver, CO, USA. K ATE LACKMAN Cincinnati, Ohio Olivia, 15 x 15 in., oil on canvas Available through the artist katelackman.com • katelackmanstudios@gmail.com EDSON CAMPOS Casselberry, Florida Young Parisian, 16 x 20 in., oil on canvas cartista@aol.com • 407.310.2317 • edsoncampos.com CHANTEL LYNN BARBER Bartlett, Tennessee Do You See Me, 20 x 16 in., acrylic on panel chantelbarber@bellsouth.net • chantellynnbarber.com Represented by Richland Fine Art, Nashville, TN; The Boyd Gallery, Newnan, GA. KATHLEEN BRODEUR Casselberry, Florida Kimono, 30 x 19 in., oil on canvas Available through the artist kbrodeur2004@yahoo.com 407.310.2317 kathleenbrodeurfineart.com KAY LEWIS Madison, Alabama Boogie Woogie, 12 x 9 in., oil on panel Available through the artist klew3552@gmail.com • kaylewisart.com Represented by Kathleen’s…