Publishers Weekly March 8, 2021

Publishers Weekly magazine is the definitive professional resource covering every aspect of book publishing and book selling. Over 20,000 book and media professionals turn to Publishers Weekly each week for news and information. Publishers Weekly covers the creation, production, marketing and sale of the written word in book, audio, video and electronic formats.

Pays:
United States
Langue:
English
Éditeur:
PWxyz, LLC
Fréquence:
Weekly
6,92 €(TVA Incluse)
189,44 €(TVA Incluse)
51 Numéros

dans ce numéro

2 min
the week in publishing

Sourcebooks has launched a new imprint that company founder Dominique Raccah said will “expand what publishing can be for women authors.” E.L. James’s backlist titles will become part of the imprint on April 1. Pam Jaffee has joined Sourcebooks to help direct the imprint. Literary publishing veteran Yuka Igarashi has been tapped to be executive editor at Graywolf Press, lured away from Soft Skull Press. Igarashi will assume her new position on April 8, working remotely from Hawaii. Columbia University Press, in collaboration with Howard University and Columbia University, is launching a new Black studies book series, with plans to also recruit and train students for the book industry. Call for Information Feature: 9/11 Anniversary: Adult Books Deadline: Mar. 15 Issue: Apr. 26 This feature will look at forthcoming nonfiction and fiction that addresses civilian…

f0003-01
5 min
rebound

In the first article of a monthlong series by PW looking at how independent publishers fared in 2020, five Midwest presses reported that sales fell this past spring but then rebounded to varying degrees in the remainder of the year. They attributed the improved results to the relevance of their lists and to some creative marketing pivots. Sales tumbled in March and April, said Daniel Slager, publisher and CEO of Milkweed Editions, making him “really nervous,” but they bounced back dramatically. The Minneapolis press ended the year with sales up 100% over 2019. Slager attributed Milkweed’s showing to a strong backlist: Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer and Late Migrations by Margaret Renkl supplemented frontlist sellers like World of Wonders by Aimee Nezhukumatathil, which Barnes & Noble named its 2020 book of…

f0004-01
1 min
print unit sales finish february with 26% gain

With the help of strong backlist sales, unit sales of print books rose 26% in the week ended Feb. 27, 2021, over the similar week last year, at outlets that report to NPD BookScan. The top title was Charlie Mackesy’s The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse, published in October 2019, which had a huge sales spike, selling nearly 97,000 copies. The performance of The Boy helped drive up unit sales in the adult fiction category by 40.2% over the week ended Feb. 29, 2020. Kristin Hannah had two books with high placement on the fiction list: The Four Winds (#2, selling more than 43,000 copies) and Firefly Lane (#4, selling more than 18,000 copies). Two new books led the adult nonfiction bestseller list: Believe It by Jamie…

f0005-02
4 min
an immigration story finds a home

Patricia Engel’s Infinite Country, released on March 2 by Simon & Schuster’s Avid Reader Press, already has all the trappings of a charmed publication, even for a lead title. The book, which PW’s starred review called “an outstanding novel of migration and the Colombian diaspora,” saw its first printing bumped from 30,000 to 65,000 copies based on prepublication buzz that included a February Book of the Month club selection and strong support from independent booksellers and librarians. Infinite Country was an instant hit at S&S as well, with CEO Jonathan Karp going so far as to declare it “a modern classic,” saying it kept him “transfixed and enthralled from beginning to end” in a letter to staff. And that was all before Reese Witherspoon chose it as the March title for…

f0006-01
3 min
international news and notes

Matchmaking for Publishers and Distributors Several organizations in Spain have launched the Publishing Distribution Platform (PDP), a website intended to help match publishers and distributors. The project is run by the Madrid-based International Publishing Distribution Association (IPDA), in collaboration with Federación de Asociaciones Nacionales de Distribuidores de Ediciones. PDP aims to help foster greater collaboration among the international publishing community and offers two online databases: one for publishers to search for distributors for their books in foreign countries, and one for distributors to search for clients overseas. The website is in English so as to appeal to the widest possible audience. At present, the databases currently have only a handful of listings but will build up over time, and the IPDA is encouraging publishers and distributors to add their information. IPDA has…

f0008-01
3 min
deals

DEAL OF THE WEEK Ecco Captures Van Pelt’s ‘Creatures’ In a high-six-figure deal, Ecco’s Helen Atsma won North American rights at auction to Shelby Van Pelt’s Remarkably Bright Creatures. Kristin Nelson, who has an eponymous shingle, sold the debut novel, which she said is “for fans of My Octopus Teacher and Kevin Wilson.” Slated for spring 2022, Remarkably Bright Creatures follows a widow who befriends an aquarium-dwelling octopus. “When a grifter comes to town,” Nelson added, “the three unlock a truth tied to her son’s disappearance 30 years ago.” The novel has also sold in a number of international deals, including in six-figure acquisitions in the U.K. and Germany. Penn to Pen Memoir At Gallery Books, Aimee Bell took world rights to Kal Penn’s You Can’t Be Serious. The memoir, which was…

f0010-01