EXPLOREMY LIBRARYMAGAZINES
CATEGORIES
FEATURED
EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
Men's Lifestyle
The Rake

The Rake

February 2020 - Issue 68

The world’s preeminent publication dedicated to the renaissance in gentlemanly sophistication and style, THE RAKE recaptures the codes of classic men’s elegance. Inspired by icons such as Cary Grant, Fred Astaire, the Duke of Windsor, Gianni Agnelli, Sean Connery, and their contemporary counterparts, THE RAKE provides incisive, in-depth commentary on magnificent menswear, and the many other elements of gentlemanly living, from manners and ethics, to art and design, tasteful travel, health and well-being, the intellectual and philosophical, to homes, modes of transport, entertainment, food and drink. THE RAKE is the modern voice of classic elegance.

Country:
Singapore
Language:
English
Publisher:
The Rake Pte Ltd
Read More
BUY ISSUE
£10.94(Incl. tax)
SUBSCRIBE
£54.76(Incl. tax)
6 Issues

In this issue

4 min.
letter from the founder

For the majority of my life I’ve been underestimated. And I wouldn’t have had it any other way. I vividly recall, when I was a child, my grandmother inviting a fortune teller to divine the potential trajectory of my life. In particular, I remember that after a great deal of amateur dramatics, joss-stick throwing, I Ching consulting, palm reading and star-chart mapping, the fortune teller resoundingly declared that I would probably not amount to much. That’s exactly what I needed to hear. Because in the ensuing half-century I would wake up every morning seething with the unbridled desire to prove him wrong. I wanted to pulverise and decimate his prediction into nothingness. Initially, his words seemed to ring true. Each time I applied myself to something, I was met with…

4 min.
letter from the editor

They say the grass is always greener on the other side. In my case the maxim is literally true, as I was brought up in asphalt- and petrol-scented London, which means I first got my hands dirty when I changed my firstborn’s nappy. Every time I pluck up the courage to leave the security blanket of the M25 (for our majority readership not based in the U.K., the M25 is a circular highway generally considered to be the border of London), the green of the countryside matches my envy for those who get to wake up every day to the cooing wood pigeons and fresh-lunged milkmen whistling their cheery tunes in charming idylls with great names like Bourton-on-the-Water, Boggy Bottom and Mousehole. It is only when I go to the countryside…

2 min.
contributors

Michael is a Floridian turned New Yorker who began his photography career in the fashion industry as an agent for models. While developing and maintaining the careers of some leading models, he had a desire to get back to his lifelong goal of capturing still and moving images. Since changing careers he has not looked back, having shot for several iconic brands, including Hugo Boss, Victoria’s Secret, Vogue and GQ. He lives in New York with his girlfriend and his badass Pomeranian called Biggie. In this issue Michael returned to The Rake to photograph Maggie Gyllenhaal for our cover and accompanying profile (page 82). With two decades’ experience covering style, entertainment, entrepreneurship, travel and luxury, the Singapore-based Barker was The Rake’s founding Editor-in-Chief. Today he serves as the magazine’s editor for…

2 min.
the rake

FOUNDER & EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Wei Koh EDITOR Tom Chamberlin tom@therakemagazine.com DIGITAL EDITOR Ryan Thompson ryan@therakemagazine.com EDITORIAL ASSOCIATE Aobh O'Brien-Moody aobh@therakemagazine.com SOCIAL MEDIA MANAGER & PHOTOGRAPHER Rikesh Chauhan rikesh@therakemagazine.com COPYWRITER Rachel Marie Walsh rachel@therakemagazine.com EDITORS-AT-LARGE Nick Scott Christian Barker SARTORIAL GURU Christopher Modoo ART DIRECTOR Rob French rob@therakemagazine.com CHIEF SUBEDITOR Stephen Wood ART EDITOR Kim Lang kim@therakemagazine.com EDITORIAL ASSISTANT Freddie Anderson freddie@therakemagazine.com CONTRIBUTING EDITORS Nick Foulkes Matt Hranek RAKE AMBASSADOR Alexander Kraft FASHION DIRECTOR Grace Gilfeather grace@therakemagazine.com STYLIST Veronica Perez veronica@therakemagazine.com FASHION ASSISTANT Amelia Hudson amelia@therakemagazine.com DIGITAL IMAGING ARTIST Kok Haw Koh SARTORIAL CONSIGLIERE Shary Rahman RAKE HOUNDS IN VALHALLA Brando & Gracie Koh CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Alain Gafundi alain@therakemagazine.com MANAGING DIRECTOR David Goodman david@therakemagazine.com MARKETING DIRECTOR Drew Laidlaw Hoare drew@therakemagazine.com MARKETING COORDINATOR Maeve McGuire maeve@therakemagazine.com CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER Rahil Ahmed rahil@therakemagazine.com WAREHOUSE MANAGER Antonio Diaferio antonio@therakemagazine.com SENIOR PRODUCT MANAGER Matteo Barni matteo@therakemagazine.com PROCUREMENT MANAGER Lorenzo Viglietti lorenzo@therakemagazine.com CREATIVE SOLUTIONS DIRECTOR Anne Petermann anne@therakemagazine.com ADVERTISING MANAGER Arabella Boardman arabella@therakemagazine.com BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR Maria Lim maria@therakemagazine.com CIRCULATION & SUBSCRIPTIONS MANAGER Birute Kaluzeviciute birute@therakemagazine.com PRODUCT MANAGER Hugo Possner hugo@therakemagazine.com INTERNATIONAL TRAFFIC COORDINATOR Christina Koh christina@revolutionmagazines.com FINANCE MANAGER Jay Wong FINANCE AND OPERATIONS MANAGER Francesco Lunardon francesco@therakemagazine.com HEAD OF BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT Riccardo Zambon riccardo@therakemagazine.com BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT MANAGER Mike Hughes mike@therakemagazine.com BUSINESS DEVELOPER Pablo Gomez Jul pablo@therakemagazine.com JUNIOR BUSINESS DEVELOPER, E-COMMERCE Fritz Unützer fritz@therakemagazine.com HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER Royce Siew Internationally Licensed Editions THE RAKE JAPAN CO. LTD PUBLISHER Shigetoshi Oshiro oshiro@therakejapan.com THE RAKE JAPAN CO. LTD. JAPAN EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Kentaro Matsuo matsuo@therakejapan.com THE RAKE MIDDLE EAST EXECUTIVE…

8 min.
fire in his belly

You think you know Billy Joel, but you don’t know Billy Joel. There’s an easy way to prove it: go to YouTube and search for ‘Attila’. You’ll hear a cacophonous late-sixties version of heavy metal led by over-amplified organ and see a picture of two longhairs in armour standing in an abattoir. One of them is the organist, and he’s Billy Joel. Most musicians have a past they’d rather forget, and this is Joel’s. He went through a succession of cover bands and failed beat bands, then the terrible Attila, and all of it to show that he wasn’t made for his times. In truth, though, he wasn’t really made for any times, which is both a blessing and a curse for an artist. The songs that made his name —…

8 min.
animal attraction

Freddie Fox was born to act. The 30-year-old scion of the thespian Fox dynasty that includes his father, Edward, his sister, Emilia, and his cousin Laurence dabbled in other fields in his youth, but was never able to resist the allure of the dramatic arts. Spurred on by his family’s support and inspired by the likes of Humphrey Bogart, Alec Guinness and Paul Newman, Fox attended the Guildhall School of Music and Drama before throwing himself into a slew of roles in theatre, television and film. Now he is playing Jeremy Bamber in the television series White House Farm, a drama based on the chilling true story of the fatal shootings at White House Farm in Essex in 1985, in which Bamber was convicted of murdering his family. It’s a challenging…