探索我的图书馆杂志
期刊分类
  • 艺术与建筑
  • 船舶与航空
  • 商务与理财
  • 汽车与摩托车
  • 明星与八卦
  • 卡通和漫画
  • 手艺
  • 文化与文学
  • 家庭与育儿
  • 时尚
  • 美食与美酒
  • 健康
  • 家具与花园
  • 狩猎和垂钓
  • 儿童与青少年
  • 奢侈品
  • 男性生活
  • 电影,电视与音乐
  • 新闻与政治
  • 摄影
  • 科学
  • 运动
  • 技术与游戏
  • 旅游与户外
  • 女性生活
  • 成人
特色期刊
探索我的图书馆
 / 商务与理财
Radio Ink MagazineRadio Ink Magazine

Radio Ink Magazine August 12, 2019

Don't let the Radio revolution pass you by. Get your digital subscription to Radio Ink Magazine. Published 14 times per year, your annual subscription includes these popular issues: The 40 Most Powerful People in Radio The Executive of the Year Issue The Best Program Directors in America The 25 Most Influential Women in Radio The 20 Most Successful African-Americans in Radio Subscribe to the digital Radio Ink and save 50% off the print version!

国家:
United States
语言:
English
出版商:
Streamline Publishing
阅读更多
购买期刊
HK$78.20
订阅
HK$391.32
14 期号

本期

1
radio ink magazine

EVP/PUBLISHER Deborah Parenti dparenti@streamlinepublishing.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Ed Ryan edryantheeditor@gmail.com MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Rob Dumke rdumke@streamlinepublishing.com COPY EDITOR Adrian Zupp azstreamlinepub@gmail.com DESIGN DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonso.streamline@gmail.com CREATIVE DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kenneth.whitney@gmail.com PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Nicolynn Kuper nkuper@streamlinepublishing.com DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS April McLynn amclynn@streamlinepublishing.com NATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER Tracey Homberg 248-330-4595 tracey4radioink@gmail.com NATIONAL MARKETING EXECUTIVE Carl Marcucci 703-670-2860 cmarcucci66@gmail.com ADVERTISING/MARKETING CONSULTANT George Wymer 937-609-6778 george.wymer@gmail.com CHAIRMAN/CEO B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads Facebook: ericrhoads EXEC. VP/COO Tom Elmo tomelmo@radioink.com DIRECTOR OF FINANCE Laura Iserman liserman@streamlinepublishing.com CONTROLLER Jaime Osetek jaime@streamlinepublishing.com CIRCULATION COORDINATOR Sue Henry shenry@streamlinepublishing.com EXECUTIVE EDITOR EMERITUS/LOS ANGELES Dwight Case…

4
what’s your plan?

Thoughts of summer begin to fade as September starts to rise on the horizon. And shortly after the pool has been closed for the season, so, too, third quarter ends. In what seems like the blink of an eye, the first nine months of 2019 will soon be wrapped up and in the history books. And we start to move on to the final three months of the year. There’s something about the fourth quarter that brings about a high-charged rush, adrenaline pumping amid the scurry of activity as wrapping up one year melds into planning the next. It’s a time of both assessment and forward thinking — one eye peering behind at sights past and the other focused on the visions beginning to emerge over the crest of the hill on…

5
how to sell agencies and local direct

There are two different specialties within the world of the radio station account executive. No doubt it is possible to become proficient at both specialties, although I’ve never met an AE who was. And that includes me. The first specialty is the selling of dedicated media buyers. Every advertising agency has at least one media buyer, as do many privately owned companies. Media buyers are like jewelers. Every jeweler believes they have a perfectly balanced understanding of “The 4 C’s” of a diamond: color, cut, clarity, and carat weight. But every diamond wholesaler knows that every jeweler has an unconscious preference. One jeweler will sacrifice a little of the color, cut, and clarity of his diamonds to get a heavier carat weight. Another jeweler will sacrifice carat weight, clarity, and cut to…

3
prospect, prospect, prospect. here’s how

We’re in sales, and our income depends on how much our clients spend with us. Sure, we need to retain and grow our current clients. But let me ask you a question. How much time do you spend prospecting for new clients? More importantly, what’s your reason for calling? Picking up the phone is the fastest way to get on a client’s calendar, but too many of us fear the phone, versus viewing it as the lifeline to our business. Most of our fear revolves around the potential of being rejected or being hung up on. Every great seller has been hung up on, but those who had the courage to push forward likely found all sorts of long-term rewards for the temporary disappointment they may have experienced when the line…

3
how to prospect successfully

One of the easiest ways to prospect for new accounts is by calling advertisers that are running schedules on your competitors’ stations. Why not? After all, somebody else has already done most of the work, convincing a business owner to advertise on broadcast radio or TV to begin with. What could go wrong? I’ll tell you what goes wrong. These clients eventually become spoiled, playing one rep against another, demanding lower rates, better times, free remotes, bonus spots, and free online schedules. Then, more times than not, the direct account’s decisionmaker is hypnotized by one of those small, predatory “advertising agencies,” and you can never contact her directly again without being threatened by the agency. Once the agencies have hijacked enough local business, then the real rate-grinding begins. And this is the…

3
the 10 commandments of radio sales

Selling radio is almost like a religious experience. It requires faith, commitment, tenacity, and above all, integrity. That said, the following comes straight from the Radio Advertising Bible (the other RAB”). Picture yourself standing on the mount, ready to receive the Word. You may not find it etched on tablets, but here’s how it reads… The First Commandment: Thou Shalt Put Thy Clients First Without question, you will be put to the test daily, as your manager tells you to sell the package of the week, to get that remote sponsored, to sell out next week’s broadcast of the ball game. A Philadelphia station rep called me at my friend’s media-buying service, suggesting that our vitamin client sponsor their “Scrapple Fest.” Not happening, I explained. The woman has devoted her life to…