ESPLORALA MIA LIBRERIARIVISTE
CATEGORIE
IN EVIDENZA
ESPLORALA MIA LIBRERIA
Arte e Architettura
Fine Art Connoisseur

Fine Art Connoisseur

March/April 2020

art magazine for collectors of fine art

Paese:
United States
Lingua:
English
Editore:
Streamline Publishing
Leggi di più
COMPRA NUMERO
6,55 €(VAT inclusa)
ABBONATI
31,11 €(VAT inclusa)
6 Numeri

In questo numero

1 minuti
fine art connoisseur us

PUBLISHER B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads facebook.com/eric.rhoads EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Peter Trippi peter.trippi@gmail.com 917.968.4476 MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com 702.299.0417 CONTRIBUTING WRITERS Matthias Anderson Max Gillies Chuck Neustifter Charles Raskob Robinson Kelly Compton David Masello Louise Nicholson CREATIVE DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonsostreamline@gmail.com 561.327.6033 ART DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kwhitney@streamlinepublishing.com 561.655.8778 VICE PRESIDENT OF SALES Bob Hogan bhogan@streamlinepublishing.com 206.321.8990 VENDOR & CONVENTION MARKETING Sarah Webb swebb@streamlinepublishing.com 630.445.9182 MARKETING & DIGITAL AD MANAGER Yvonne Van Wechel yvanwechel@streamlinepublishing.com 602.810.3518 SENIOR MARKETING SPECIALISTS Krystal Allen kallen@streamlinepublishing.com 541.447.4787 Bruce Bingham bbingham@streamlinepublishing.com 512.669.8081 Anne W. Brown abrown@streamlinepublishing.com 435.772.0504 Richard Dorbin rdorbin@streamlinepublishing.com 410.924.0217 Mary Green mgreen@streamlinepublishing.com 508.230.9928 Helen Merry hmerry@streamlinepublishing.com 360.540.7633 Joan Revell Ryan jryan@streamlinepublishing.com 442.282.2270 Gina Ward gward@streamlinepublishing.com 920.743.2405 EDITOR, FINE ART TODAY Cherie Haas chaas@streamlinepublishing.com CHAIRMAN/PUBLISHER/CEO B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com facebook.com/eric.rhoads Twitter: @ericrhoads EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT/ CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER Tom Elmo telmo@streamlinepublishing.com PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Nicolynn Kuper nkuper@streamlinepublishing.com DIRECTOR OF FINANCE Laura Iserman liserman@streamlinepublishing.com CONTROLLER Jaime Osetek jaime@streamlinepublishing.com CIRCULATION COORDINATOR Sue Henry shenry@streamlinepublishing.com CUSTOMER SERVICE COORDINATOR Jessica Smith jsmith@streamlinepublishing.com CREATIVE DIRECTOR, ADVERTISING Stephen Parker sparker@streamlinepublishing.com ASSISTANT TO THE CHAIRMAN Ali Cruickshank acruickshank@streamlinepublishing.com…

3 minuti
art adventures ahead

The first decade of Fine Art Connoisseur trips have become legendary, ranging across Europe from Russia to Spain, from Scotland to Greece. Now we look forward to fresh adventures as our merry band of art lovers visits Vienna, Berlin, and Dresden this September. Editor-in-Chief Peter Trippi and I are finalizing the itinerary for this masterpiece-rich odyssey in Austria and Germany, which encompasses famous sites and also ones well off the beaten track. It is a joy to be reconnecting with our trusted colleagues in these cultured cities to ensure we get special access and behind-the-scenes experiences every day. The main program will start with four nights (September 11–15) at the gorgeous Palais Hansen Kempinski Hotel in the heart of Vienna. On our hit list in Austria’s capital are the grand Kunsthistoriches Museum…

2 minuti
celebrating collectors

What an inspiring experience! For the past few months, our editorial team has been engrossed in learning about real-life individuals who are collecting superb contemporary realist art. Our conversations with these enthusiastic patrons — conducted via telephone, e-mail, and in person — have confirmed our belief that much energy, and considerable cash, are being expended in support of the ever-growing number of talented realist artists working among us. We are particularly delighted that these visionaries live all over the country, and that each fell in love with this field in a different way. In preparing the profiles here, we learned that many of these collectors — sophisticated and well-connected as they are — are not accustomed to being in the spotlight. Knowing how much they value their privacy, we appreciate even…

3 minuti
favorite

As a librettist, Mark Campbell has his characters sing their thoughts. In the composer Laura Kaminsky’s opera Some Light Emerges (2017), Campbell and his co-librettist Kimberly Reed had the real-life character of Dominique de Menil (1908–1997) express her love for one of Campbell’s favorite artworks, the chapel in Houston she commissioned from Mark Rothko. In an aria, de Menil describes her love of the “silence,” the “quiet,” and the “shadows” of the chapel. She refers to it as a place “Where the eye and the mind/Are taken beyond…. to the infinite.” Campbell similarly loves “the emptiness of that space — the darkness of it, and I love how, when you enter the chapel, it’s often so dark you need to sit a while before some light emerges.” Indeed, the opera owes…

5 minuti
three to watch

When a portrait is painted well, it is sometimes difficult to see beyond the surface beauty. In the case of California artist JONG LEE (b. 1972), however, not only are his likenesses aesthetically pleasing, they are also layered with thoughtfulness and intention. Take Red, for example, which is striking in its visual elegance and carries the gravitas of an unseen story as well. “I wanted to juxtapose the dynamic nature of the overall composition with the subject’s calm, contemplative expression,” Lee explains. “The figure’s sweeping diagonal movement creates an illusion that her body is in motion, yet her serenity suggests she is fixated on meandering thoughts. It’s a symbolic representation of the duality in all of us. This contrast — even contradiction — between what is real and what is…

9 minuti
goddess in oils new works by nick alm and brad kunkle

This spring two shows of new paintings are coming to Steve Diamant’s gallery in Los Angeles, Arcadia Contemporary, created by the exemplary figurative artists Nick Alm (b. 1985) and Brad Kunkle (b. 1978). Both clearly venerate women, who are at the heart of their painted universes, yet each has a unique approach to expressing that esteem. Nick Alm’s solo show will be on view March 7–22, and then Brad Kunkle’s April 10–May 18. It is perfectly appropriate that two festivals celebrating the feminine principle will occur while these shows are hanging. The first was called Ostara by Celtic tribes. In Alm’s native Sweden (where he lives today), it is called Disablot, a marking of the vernal equinox, when the day is equally divided between 12 hours of day and night. For…