House Beautiful UK

House Beautiful UK July 2021

House Beautiful is your one-stop shop for classic decorating looks, with regular and comprehensive colour-scheming pages and a wide range of shopping suggestions for those special details that make a difference. With real reader homes from around the UK - ranging from comfortable country style to the chic city look – House Beautiful provides inspiration and practical advice whatever your decorating tastes. Plus, expert advice on everything from choosing the right mortgage to finding your perfect property.

もっと読む
:
United Kingdom
言語:
English
出版社:
Hearst Magazines UK
刊行頻度:
Monthly
¥382
¥3,831
11 号

この号

3
brooklyn boutique hotel

CREATIVE BUZZ No New York City break is complete without a suitably glitzy pad to stay in – and Brooklyn’s signature loft-style living is a trademark of its most exclusive hotels. ● If you want to create a cool, laidback look that still feels polished, the boutique hotels of Brooklyn are the perfect design reference. ● With a nod to the borough’s industrial past and warehouse architecture, strong elements of black combine with sophisticated metals such as powder-coated steel and burnished brass. Paired with indulgent materials such as velvet and cosy bouclé, the effect is pure contemporary glamour. ● Luxury touches are essential for this look – include a home bar, complete with crystal-style decanters and pretty glassware; prints of modern artwork; and shelves styled with smart accessories. CURATE AND DISPLAY Boutique hotels make their jet-setting…

5
where to buy

&You andyoulifestyle.com 1stdibs 1stdibs.com A Swedish Home 01728 746804; aswedishhome.co.uk Abigail Ahern 020 7354 8181; abigailahern.com Abode 01226 283434; abodedesigns.co.uk Abode Living 01273 621226; abodeliving.co.uk Acquabella acquabella.com Amara 0800 587 7645; amara.com Amtico 0121 745 0800; amtico.co.uk An Artful Life anartfullife.co.uk Andrew Martin 020 7225 5100; andrewmartin.co.uk Annie Sloan 01865 803168; anniesloan.com Anthropologie anthropologie.com Ara Design Studio aradesignstudio.co.uk Argos argos.co.uk Artwood artwood.se Atelier Ellis atelierellis.co.uk Atkin & Thyme 020 3768 7775; atkinandthyme.co.uk Att Pynta 020 8692 2412; attpynta.com Audenza 0116 298 6393; audenza.com B&Q 0333 014 3098; diy.com Basalt & Dune basaltdune.co.uk Basket Basket basketbasket.co.uk Bauwerk bauwerkcolour.co.uk Bensons for Beds 0800 048 5919; bensonsforbeds.co.uk Bemz bemz.com Bill & Edna billandedna.com Blanco 01923 635200; blanco.co.uk Blue Suntree bluesuntree.co.uk Brintons brintons.co.uk British Baths 01287 773120; britishbaths.co.uk British Hardwoods 01535 637755; britishhardwoods.co.uk Button & Sprung 0333 320 1801; buttonandsprung.com California Shutters 0800 195 0196; californiashutters.co.uk Canopy Plants canopyplants.co.uk Caple 0117 938 1900; caple.co.uk Carpetright 0330 333 3444; carpetright.co.uk Cielshop 01273 443837; cielshopinteriors.com Claybrook 020 7052 1555; claybrookstudio.co.uk Cole & Son 020 7376…

1
sitting pretty

Every sofa in the exclusive House Beautiful Collection at DFS has been designed with modern living in mind, and fabulous Freya, shown here in 100 per cent leather, is no exception. Hand-built to order using top-quality leather over a premium hardwood frame, Freya’s generous proportions are perfect for the whole family to snuggle in to. The chaise end makes it super-easy to kick back and relax, while the squared-off, wide arms and deep-filled seat and back cushions provide maximum comfort and support. Freya comes in a choice of ten luxe colours, ranging from elegant white to dramatic black, with a choice of silver, light or dark feet to suit any style of room. Optional scatter cushions (at extra cost) are also available. Like every sofa at DFS, Freya comes with a…

1
make a statement

Wallpaper is definitely having a moment, with striking images of perfectly papered spaces flooding Instagram, tempting us to go for bold in our own homes. That’s why we’re delighted to showcase our newest collaboration with Homebase – six contemporary, premium-quality wallpapers that reflect the latest home decorating trends. Florals are big news this year, and oversized flowers even more so. Our Blooming wallpaper, shown opposite in vibrant Pink Pop, features masses of large-scale, opulent peonies – try it as a feature wall in an otherwise neutral-toned room for maximum impact. Paradise Tropics, shown above in Teal, taps into the trend for lush botanicals, celebrating nature with its verdant leafy backdrop spiked with pops of bright flowers. If you opt for this in the bedroom, add some oxygenating plants for a huge hit…

3
time to feast

THREE WAYS TO USE UP Pink peppercorns Bring a vibrant, aromatic fruitiness and bright pop of colour to dishes with the help of pink peppercorns. Use in any recipe that calls for green or black peppercorns, or try these ideas… Roll into shortbread Coarsely grind whole peppercorns or crush in a pestle and mortar and roll into your shortbread mix before baking to create tiny pops of flavour. Sprinkle onto bacon Add the crushed peppercorns before roasting or grilling. Scatter over chocolate bark Spread melted dark chocolate on baking parchment. While still wet, throw over crushed pink peppercorns, candied orange peel, rose petals and a little salt. Allow to set, then break into shards. SHOP SMALL BUY WELL Sous Chef is a one-stop-shop for the keen home cook. Its online store is bursting with ingredients, tableware, equipment and…

3
the cabin

Jo and Daniel from Brentwood in Essex are no strangers to home improvements, having completed a kitchen extension several years ago, but a home office wasn’t on their radar until March 2020, when the UK went into lockdown. Thanks to the warm spring weather, Jo was able to spend more time in the garden and clear an area where they’d once kept chickens. ‘There were trees and an old shed hiding a compost heap,’ remembers Jo. ‘It struck me as wasted space and we began to think about what we could do with it. At the same time, it became clear that working from home looked set to stay, and we wondered if we could use that space to create an outside room.’ Daniel, a programmer, remembers: ‘My job involved commuting into…