ONTDEKKENBIBLIOTHEEK
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Kunst & Architectuur
Fine Art ConnoisseurFine Art Connoisseur

Fine Art Connoisseur

May/June 2019

art magazine for collectors of fine art

Land:
United States
Taal:
English
Uitgever:
Streamline Publishing
Meer lezenkeyboard_arrow_down
EDITIE KOPEN
€ 7,50(Incl. btw)
ABONNEREN
€ 35,62(Incl. btw)
6 Edities

IN DEZE EDITIE

access_time1 min.
fine art connoisseur

PUBLISHER B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads facebook.com/eric.rhoadsASSOCIATE PUBLISHER Scott Jones sjones@streamlinepublishing.com 406.871.0649EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Peter Trippi peter.trippi@gmail.com 917.968.4 476MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com 702.299.0417CONTRIBUTING WRITERS Matthias Anderson Kelly Compton Max Gillies David Masello Chuck Neustifter Louise Nicholson Charles Raskob Robinson CREATIVE DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonsostreamline@gmail.com 561.327.6033ART DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kenneth.whitney@gmail.com 561.655.8778DIRECTOR OF SALES Jason Kelley jkelley@streamlinepublishing.com 802.579.1058NATIONAL MARKETING MANAGER Yvonne Van Wechel y vonnevanwechel@gmail.com 602.810.3518REGIONAL MARKETING MANAGERS Krystal Allen West Coast krystalallen2@gmail.com 541.4 47.4787 Scott Jones Western sjones@streamlinepublishing.com 406.871.0649 Tracey Norvell Mid-Atlantic/Southeasttenwriter@gmail.com 918.519.0141 Gina Ward Central gwardart@gmail.com 920.743.2405 Mary Green Northeast & International mgreen@streamlinepublishing.com 508.230.9928DIGITAL AD MANAGER Sarah Webb swebb@streamlinepublishing.com 630.4 45.9182EDITOR, FINE ART TODAY Cherie Haas chaas@streamlinepublishing.com CHAIRMAN/PUBLISHER/CEO B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com facebook.com/eric.rhoads. Twitter: @ericrhoads EXECUTIVE…

access_time3 min.
the ultimate artists’ collective

ADRIAN GOTTLIEB (b. 1975), Publisher B. Eric Rhoads, 2008, oil on canvas, 21 x 16 in., courtesy of the artist Amazing things happen when people get together. Seemingly impossible challenges become do-able. Difficult goals become less daunting. Unity, support, and accountability to one another keep us on the right path.Throughout history, gatherings of artists working toward a common goal have changed the world. These collectives, often starting as a couple of individuals collaborating on a project, have brought about massive change. A fine example is the French Impressionists, who in 1874 mounted their first exhibition under the rather unpromising name “Anonymous Society of Painters, Sculptors, Engravers, etc.” Its members dreamed that one day their work would be accepted despite the fact that it did not suit the old…

access_time3 min.
all aboard for art

(TRIPPI PHOTO: FRANCIS HILLS) Each year, Fine Art Connoisseur leads a small group of art lovers on a VIP tour that visits an area of the world renowned for its artistic heritage. The distinguishing factors are that we can access private collections, artists’ studios, and museum galleries that other travelers don’t see, that I contextualize the visits with illustrated lectures that lay out why this art matters, and that we enjoy on-site commentary from curators and seasoned experts who live in the community. They are not just tour guides, but professional colleagues who really know their art. It is truly hard to believe that a decade has passed since Fine Art Connoisseur launched this travel program, which has featured adventures in such countries as Russia, Italy, and Holland. Now we…

access_time3 min.
auction

DAVISON PACKARD KOENIG Executive Director and Curator, Couse-Sharp Historic Site There are those connoisseurs who can recognize talent by a single line drawn on a canvas, by one brushstroke, even by the impression of a sculptor’s thumb left in bronze. Such is the case with Davison Packard Koenig, the Couse Foundation’s executive director and curator, when referring to a bronze created by Ed Smida (b. 1961), Divided Land, An Homage to Ernest Blumenschein. Completed last year, this expressive sculpture depicts four Native Americans and is featured in a June 15 benefit auction for the foundation, which manages the Couse-Sharp Historic Site in Taos, New Mexico.“You might look at an early Picasso work, for instance, and see confidence in a line and suddenly realize he’s telling a…

access_time3 min.
favorite

Paris Street: Rainy Day GUSTAVE CAILLEBOTTE (1848–1894) 1877, oil on canvas, 83 1/2 x 108 3/4 in. Art Institute of Chicago, Charles H. and Mary F.S. Worcester Collection LINDA ZAGARIA President, National Arts Club, New York City, and Executive Director, Beaux Arts Alliance Linda Zagaria likes the past. When she puts on one of her vintage 1930s hats, perhaps lowering its veil or reshaping a broad brim, and walks into New York’s National Arts Club, where she has served as president since 2016, she is as much a woman of the present as she is of the (fashionable) past. So, upon first seeing Gustave Caillebotte’s 1877 Paris Street: Rainy Day at the Art Institute of Chicago, with its depiction of an elegant…

access_time1 min.
10th annual fine art trip provence south of france

Venture with us to the birthplace of the post-impressionist movement. Walk the streets, admire the countryside, and explore the sites frequented by Cézanne, Van Gogh, Gauguin, Bonnard, Matisse, Chagall, and many others whose artistry, to this day, inspires new generations. Fine Art Connoisseur magazine has built strong ties with colleagues in the art world of Provence and the South of France. Now we offer you the opportunity to meet these like-minded friends as you experience nine days of privileged access in the cradle of post-impressionist art.…

SPECIALE EDITIES

help