Dwell

Dwell September/October 2019

Dwell is the unique modern architecture and design magazine for people who believe that good design is an integral part of real life. Get Dwell digital magazine subscription today.

Les mer
Land:
United States
Språk:
English
Utgiver:
Dwell
Hyppighet:
Monthly
kr 77,32
kr 171,92
6 Utgaver

i denne utgaven

4 min
words of advice

“First‚ never listen too much. I have two daughters‚ and naturally I tell them my point of view‚ but as you grow‚ you don’t have to listen to Papa and Mama anymore. In life and in design it’s the same. I love the word ‘culture.’ It represents your connection to the place where you live and your place within society. You have to understand how to speak from that position‚ how to announce it. Our desires are influenced by the dystopias that surround us. Technology and craft give us tools to find more possibilities for the future.” PATRICIA URQUIOLA Urquiola’s new Gogan sofa for Moroso takes its name from a Japanese term for time- and water-worn stones. “I don’t see any other possibility but for designers to abandon the ‘decorativism’ with which they…

3 min
box set

Valle de Bravo is two hours and a world away from the commotion of Mexico City. Set on the shores of Lake Avándaro, it’s a popular weekend destination for well-todo residents of the capital, who flock to the town to savor its colonial charm and to sail, paraglide, and hike. In search of a quiet getaway that could double as a vacation and holiday hub for extended family and friends, a Mexico City couple found a three-and-a-half-acre property there and reached out to architect Javier Sánchez to come up with a design that would make the most of the site. Sánchez, founder of the architecture and development firm JSa, embraced the challenge, collaborating with architect Carlos Mar on a plan for three “floating monoliths” rising from the landscape. Strategically placed cutouts…

1 min
designed well

LaCANTINA DOORS LaCantina Doors connect the indoors to the outdoors, dramatically expanding interiors, completely transforming space and enhancing lifestyle. LaCantina is the preferred choice in products that open spaces and offers the most comprehensive range of innovative folding, sliding and swing systems to complement any architectural style with performance options to suit any environment. Available in Aluminum, Aluminum Thermally Controlled, Contemporary Clad, Aluminum Wood, Wood and Vinyl, LaCantina Doors utilizes the same signature narrow stile and rail profile across its product line for a complete, matching door package. Request a quote today. lacantinadoors.com BLU DOT The Deep Thoughts Collection mixes semi-aniline leather with rich velvets on a dreamy silhouette. Relaxing contours invite introspection, the contrasting lumbar pillow slides where you want it, and a blackened steel base provides all the support needed to start your journey of…

1 min
contact our advertisers

When contacting our advertisers, please be sure to mention that you saw their ads in Dwell. Alden B Dow Abdow.org All Modern allmodern.com ArtOrigo artorigo.com Avocado Mattress avocadogreenmattress.com Behr behr.com Blu Dot bludot.com Bona us.bona.com Cherner Chair chernerchair.com Circa Lighting circalighting.com Dacor dacor.com Henrybuilt henrybuilt.com Hive hivemodern.com Humboldt getredwood.com Hunter Douglas hunterdouglas.com JGeiger jgeigershading.com Kolbe Windows & Doors kolbewindows.com LaCantina Doors lacantinadoors.com Lightology lightology.com Lindal Cedar Homes lindal.com Marvin marvin.com Moen moen.com Moore and Giles mooreandgiles.com Paloform paloform.com Rabbit Air rabbitair.com Raymond James raymondjames.com Resource Furniture resourcefurniture.com Rimadesio rimadesio.com Smartwater drinksmartwater.com Sossego sossegodesign.com Spark Modern Fires sparkfires.com The Shade Store theshadestore.com Turkel Design turkeldesign.com Viewrail viewrail.com Western Red Cedar realcedar.com Western Window Systems westernwindowsystems.com YLighting ylighting.com If you are interested in joining Modern Market please contact: sales@dwell.com…

1 min
dwell.com

Dive Into dwell+ Subscribe to dwell+ to explore our archive of award-winning stories from the magazine. Plus, discover exclusive home-tour videos as well as a definitive Sourcebook that lists every product and professional ever featured in our pages. Learn more at dwell.com/subscribe…

1 min
mix it up

As one of the home’s most-used spaces, kitchens have to balance functionality and efficiency with style—whether traditional, contemporary, or a little bit of both. Open floor plans and central island designs increasingly expose the kitchen to other parts of the home, providing new opportunities to introduce eye-catching design elements. Whether playing with different scales, colors, or materials, identifying the right finishing touches can transform the kitchen into a unique expression of personal taste. The new Fusion™ Finish Series from Moen® offers an unexpected take on this formula with faucets available in dual-tone, mixed-metal finishes. Inspired by the beauty of slicing into a geode to expose its lustrous core, the faucet series presents a similarly arresting visual experience: the illusion of a matte black surface being sliced to reveal a gorgeous chrome…