UTFORSKBIBLIOTEK
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Film, TV og musikk
GuitaristGuitarist

Guitarist

May 2019

Guitarist is the longest established UK guitar magazine. You'll find authoritative gear reviews, artist interviews, technique lessons and advice. Plus, Guitarist's digital edition now includes all of the same audio and video content as the print edition; available to download from a special area of the Guitarist website!

Land:
United Kingdom
Språk:
English
Utgiver:
Future Publishing Ltd
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
KJØP UTGAVE
NOK42.98
ABONNER
NOK344.47
13 Utgaver

I DENNE UTGAVEN

access_time2 min.
store of memories

This issue’s celebration of the Telecaster (see p56) took me back to the first few times I ever ventured into a guitar shop, many years ago, as a complete beginner. I grew up in Lowestoft, in East Anglia, and our town’s music shop was Morlings. Sadly, it closed in 2012, after a 120 years of serving the town’s musicians – a casualty of changing times on the high street. Back when I was a teen, though, the place was always full of customers on a Saturday morning. Foremost in my mind is the glorious smell of guitars that filled the shop’s upper floor. There was a stand of Fender combos with red knobs, then the hot new look. And on the walls, guitars that I coveted without really even…

access_time1 min.
editor’s highlights

John Renbourn Fingerstyle virtuoso Clive Carroll remembers his friend and mentor, the late, great John Renbourn, and reflects on his musical legacy p48 Marshall Magic If you love the sound of a Plexi but the full-size original is too much of a monster, you should check out Marshall’s new small- but-potent Studio amps p20 Custom Colours Ever wondered what causes lacquer checking or what the rarest Fender Custom finishes are? Join Rod Brakes for a colourful history lesson... p78 …

access_time1 min.
guitarist

Art Editor Darren Phillips darren.phillips@futurenet.com Managing Editor Lucy Rice lucy.rice@futurenet.com EDITORIAL ContributorsRichard Barrett, Rod Brakes, Adrian Clark, Trevor Curwen, Adam Goldsmith, Nick Guppy, Phil Hilborne, Martin Holmes, Richard Hood, Rob Laing, Neville Marten, Ed Mitchell, Roger Newell, Nigel Pulsford, Davina Rungasamy, Adrian Thorpe In-House PhotographyPhil Barker, Olly Curtis, Neil Godwin, Will Ireland, Joby Sessions, Jesse Wilde ADVERTISING COMMERCIAL SALES DIRECTOR Clare Dove clare.dove@futurenet.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTOR Lara Jaggon lara.jaggon@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Alison Watson alison.watson@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES DIRECTOR Steven Pyatt steve.pyatt@futurenet.com ACCOUNT SALES EXECUTIVE Guy Meredith guy.meredith@futurenet.com MARKETING MAGAZINE MARKETING DIRECTOR Sharon Todd sharon.todd@futurenet.com ACQUISITIONS CAMPAIGN MANAGER Tom Cooper tom.cooper@futurenet.com PRINT & PRODUCTION HEAD OF PRODUCTION UK & US Mark Constance mark.constance@futurenet.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Frances Twentyman frances.twentyman@futurenet.com PRODUCTION PROJECT MANAGER Clare Scott clare.scott@futurenet.com…

access_time5 min.
orange crush

Whenever we’re presented with a new Gretsch guitar to review, we always remind the reader that these things aren’t just for rockabillies. This is closely followed by the obligatory wheeling out of non-rockabilly Gretsch icons such as Small Faces and Humble Pie genius Steve Marriott, Quadrophenia-era Pete Townshend and, of course, the late AC/DC rhythm king, Malcolm Young. It’s a weird caveat for any brand, but then, like Rickenbacker, Gretsch still appears sealed inside certain genres like a fly in amber.While Gretsch has embraced its 50s rock ’n’ roll and 60s Beatlemania heritage, it has produced many models that distil classic features into more modern packages. Stuff like the Power Jets, and the recent hardtail BT variants, look like something Beatle George might have picked up in early 60s…

access_time1 min.
gretsch g5655tg electromatic center block jr

PRICE: £859 ORIGIN: China TYPE: Single-cutaway semi-acoustic electric guitar BODY: Laminated maple with chambered spruce centre block NECK: Maple, glued-in SCALE LENGTH: 625mm (24.6”) NUT/WIDTH: Graph Tech NuBone/43mm FINGERBOARD: Laurel, 305mm (12”) radius FRETS: 22, medium jumbo HARDWARE: Gold Licensed Bigsby B70 True Vibrato, Adjusto-Matic anchored six-saddle bridge, die-cast tuners STRING SPACING, BRIDGE: 54mm ELECTRICS: 2x Black Top Broad’Tron humbuckers, master volume, 2x volume, master tone, 3-way pickup selector toggle switch WEIGHT (kg/lb): 3.5/7.11 OPTIONS: No RANGE OPTIONS: Limited Edition G5655TG Electromatic Center Block Jr in Snow Crest White (£839) LEFT-HANDERS: No FINISHES: Orange Stain (as reviewed), Azure Metallic, Cadillac Green Fender Musical Instruments EMEA 01342 331700 www.gretschguitars.com PROS While you get all the Gretsch eye candy you can handle here, the G5655TG offers a wider tonal…

access_time5 min.
doubling up

Taking a quick poll around the Guitarist office confirms that we’ve liked – loved, even – virtually every Eastman guitar we’ve seen. The China-based company has been making waves throughout the industry with its solidbody single-cut models, with the SB59/v in particular causing some heart palpitations in this vicinity. But making electric instruments using classic old-school technique to breathtaking effect isn’t the only trick up its sleeves – this acoustic Grand Auditorium looks set to win the guitar world’s hearts and minds as well.The first thing to look at is the whole ‘double top’ concept. Explained in more detail elsewhere in this review (see Double Top Theory, p17), in layman’s terms this means that the top of the guitar is basically a Sitka spruce sandwich with some very clever…

help