EXPLOREMY LIBRARYMAGAZINES
CATEGORIES
  • Art & Architecture
  • Boating & Aviation
  • Business & Finance
  • Cars & Motorcycles
  • Celebrity & Gossip
  • Comics & Manga
  • Crafts
  • Culture & Literature
  • Family & Parenting
  • Fashion
  • Food & Wine
  • Health & Fitness
  • Home & Garden
  • Hunting & Fishing
  • Kids & Teens
  • Luxury
  • Men's Lifestyle
  • Movies, TV & Music
  • News & Politics
  • Photography
  • Science
  • Sports
  • Tech & Gaming
  • Travel & Outdoor
  • Women's Lifestyle
  • Adult
FEATURED
EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
 / Food & Wine
Super Food Ideas

Super Food Ideas

January/February 2020

Australia's #1 food magazine, Super Food Ideas provides busy mothers and families with easy recipes and meal solutions, using readily available ingredients and simple techniques. With hundreds of recipes and tips every issue, you’ll never lack inspiration or ideas with Super Food Ideas.

Country:
Australia
Language:
English
Publisher:
News Life Media Pty Limited
Read More
SUBSCRIBE
$10.91
6 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

1 min.
ladies who lunch

There’s Sarah, who starts each week with a new fad diet. The latest one is not eating anything until lunch; consequently we don’t discuss anything tricky with her until after 1pm to avoid the hanger. Leigh is a creature of habit and takes a simple approach when it comes to her lunch — a can of tuna, a bowl of rice and a handful of spinach, and she’s happy. Kylie has tried all manner of approaches to eating over the years, from low-FODMAP to vego. A keen runner, she picks lunches that will fuel her workouts. Claire is the slowest eater in the office, and usually has something wholesome, such as cut up vegies and hummus. She’s been known to leave lunch half-eaten on her desk, only for the leftovers…

1 min.
we’re lovingé

#1 LUNCHTIME MAKEOVERS Check out our 40 different lunchbox ideas, p18. From savoury snack balls to freezable lunch loaves (below) we’ve invented totally new recipes! #2 HEALTHIER HABITS If you want to start the year right, make classic recipes just a little bit better for you with these dinner do-overs, p40. #3 FROZEN ASSETS Make some extra room in the freezer for this range of amazing ice-cream treats, p80. There’s a Milo spin on our fave choc ripple cake, easy lamington-flavoured ice-blocks and even an icy pav!…

1 min.
your food ideas

“QUICK TO MAKE AND LASTED REALLY WELL IN THE FRIDGE” FORGET THE OVEN! This No-bake Rocky Road Cheesecake (December 2018, p106) ticked all the boxes for me, with fresh raspberries, chocolate, cheesecake and marshmallows. It was super simple, quick to make and lasted really well in the fridge. My kids even got involved with the mixing and, bonus, no oven needed! Tessa Kemp, via Instagram FAMILY FAVOURITE I made the delectable, naughty Choc-raspberry Doughnut Pudding (October 2019, p10) for my daughter and her family when I visited last week. It lasted for days! It was so easy and delicious we even had some for breakfast. My grandson said: “Yummy, Nanny!” Cheryl Walker, via email ONE-PAN WONDER I tried the One Pan Tikka Masala Fish on Spiced Rice from November 2019’s Shortcut Dinners (p20). It is A…

2 min.
super spy

WHAT A SMOOTHIE! The Natural Confectionery Company’s new Fruit Smoothie range is filled with fruit jellies inspired by your morning shake. Choose from delicious flavours such as Orchard Blast, with blackcurrant, apple-peach and strawberry-flavoured jellies, or Tropical Crush, with raspberry, mango, banana and pineapple jellies. You can pick them up at Coles and independent grocers for $4. SMARTER PASTA Aussie brand Vetta SMART Pasta is adding goodness to pasta without compromising on taste. Produced using traditional pasta-making methods, the range includes Fibre Pasta ($2), using oat fibre to deliver the same taste as regular pasta but with twice the fibre, and Protein Pasta ($2.25), with 24g of protein per serve. Find the SMART Pasta range at Coles and Woolworths. FRESH AND FRUITY Now summer has truly hit and the kids are nagging about soft drinks,…

2 min.
know-how

RECIPE KNOW-HOW: We use Australian standard measures. In liquid measures, 250ml = 1 cup. Dry ingredients are measured in level 1 cup, 1/2 cup, 1/3 cup and1/4 cup measures. 1 tablespoon = 20ml (note NZ, US and UK tablespoon = 15ml). 1 teaspoon = 5ml. We use 59-60g eggs. We use 1100-watt microwaves, unless otherwise specified. NUTRITION KNOW-HOW: Heart Friendly: low saturated fat, high fibre, lower sodium with heart-friendly fats. Desserts that are based on low-fat dairy without fruit/grain ingredients don’t need to be high fibre. Diabetes Friendly: low saturated fat, high fibre, lower sodium with lower-GI carbs. Healthy: low saturated fat, less than 3000kJ and 800mg sodium per main meal. Vegetarian: no meat, fish or poultry but may contain eggs and/or dairy. Gluten Free: no gluten-containing ingredients (ie, wheat, rye, barley, oats or derivatives). High in Calcium: at least…

1 min.
super food ideas

Editor Rebecca Cox, rebecca.cox@news.com.au Food Director Claire Brookman, claire.brookman@news.com.au Food Editor Lucy Nunes Creative Director Sarah Cooper, sarah.cooper@news.com.au Designer Malloree Nicholls, malloree.nicholls@news.com.au Chief Sub-editor Leigh Livingstone Sub-editors Francesca Percy, Lynne Testoni, Kylie Walker Editorial Coordinator Elizabeth Hayes, elizabeth.hayes@news.com.au Recipe Analysis Susanna Holt Reader & editorial enquiries (02) 8045 4891, superfoodideas@news.com.au ADVERTISING New South Wales General Manager, Newsamp – National Renee Sycamore Client Solutions Director – Food – National Rebecca Sherrard Client Solutions Managers – Food Donna Hodges, (02) 8045 4734, donna.hodges@news.com.au MJ Deluca, (02) 8045 4673, melinda.deluca@news.com.au Client Solutions Specialists – Food Pamela Jap, (02) 9288 1143, mariapamela.jap@news.com.au Lucy Tootill, (02) 8045 4674, lucy.tootill@news.com.au Victoria Group Client Solutions Manager Eugene Loane, 0431 198 478, eugene.loane@news.com.au Client Solutions Manager Charmaine Wu, (03) 9292 1597, charmaine.wu@news.com.au Client Solutions Specialist Tatiana Sumpter, (03) 9292 3223, tatiana.sumpter@news.com.au Queensland Head of Newsamp Nicole Commerford, (07) 3666 6386, nicole.commerford@news.com.au South Australia Group Sales Director Candice Arthur, (08) 8206 2964,…