that's life! Issue 45, 2021

Many media outlets try to connect with readers and engage them. But for genuine engagement and a vibrant sense of community, there is nothing else on the Australian media landscape that so clearly connects with its audience like that's life! magazine. That's because our million-plus readers also provide our content - it is their voice that makes that's life! the magazine with heart.

Country:
Australia
Language:
English
Publisher:
Are Media Pty Limited
Frequency:
Weekly
$2.11
$53.11
52 Issues

in this issue

2 min
welcome!

As we were discussing lost and found stories last week, Jude told us the lovely tale of how she came across a very special memory of her late father. ‘I was tossing out some books and luckily checked inside them, as I found a letter my dad had sent me when I was living in the UK. That was in the early ’80s, so it was written on pale blue airmail paper,’ she said. ‘In it, he wrote how he’d shed a tear when reading a letter I’d sent describing my visit to the house in Yorkshire where he’d lived as a boy.’ Jude had never known her dad as someone who cried, and was delighted to find this long-lost letter. ‘It was lovely, seeing his words on these soft…

thalifau211111_article_005_01_01
1 min
we you!

I had a very relaxing holiday at Magnetic Island, Qld, with my that’s life!. It was great to get away. Elena Kirk, Mansfield, Qld At the Sydney Easter Show, we passed these orangutans and my smart grandson Eddie said, ‘They are our ancestors Oma’ – so we had our picture taken. Ida Schroder, Victoria Point, Qld My beautiful granddaughters Evie, three, Kayley, six, and Nevaeh, three months, love spending time together. Antionette Portelli, Werribee, Vic My dad, Ray, got some help blowing out the candles on his 66th birthday from my kids Logan and Olivia. Amy Chatterton, Carramar, WA We had a hot, steamy holiday in Thailand pre COVID-19 – me and Steve with sister Joanne and brother-in-law Billy. It was a fabulous holiday and I hope we can go back there in the future. Debbie Nelson, Clifton Springs,…

thalifau211111_article_006_01_01
4 min
i swapped my twix for twins!

Ripping open a block of chocolate, my stress melted away. A few squares won’t hurt, I told myself, as my mouth began to water. Deep down, I knew it wouldn’t be just a few squares though. When it came to chocolate, I had absolutely no self-control. Something about it had the ability to make me feel at peace with everything that was going on. No matter how chaotic my life was, having a little treat at the end of the night helped me feel better. I didn’t pay much attention to what type of chocolate I had on hand, I’d easily devour it all. But I did have a special place in my heart for Twix bars and Cadbury blocks. As the last square in the packet melted into my mouth, a wave of guilt washed over me. Why…

thalifau211111_article_008_01_01
4 min
wedding day horror we plunged from the sky

queezing my new husband’s hand, I glanced at him nervously. The love of my life, Mahdi, 25, and I had just married in a gorgeous outdoor ceremony, surrounded by family and friends. After canapés and a family photoshoot, we were boarding a private helicopter with our photographer, Rachel, to take bride and groom pictures on the snowcapped mountains. ‘Don’t worry,’ the pilot assured us. ‘You’re more likely to get into a car crash than a helicopter crash.’ I grabbed hold of Mahdi’s hand tightly again as we slowly lifted off the ground. With my bouquet clutched in my other hand, I gazed out at the scenic mountains. Looking at Mahdi, I smiled. ‘Check out that view!’ I said breathlessly. ‘I’m not scared anymore.’ It was the perfect day. We’d postponed our nuptials in 2020 due to COVID-19, so…

thalifau211111_article_010_01_01
3 min
my mum’s a hoarder

Jodie, 35, Robina, Qld* fter her divorce, my mother started buying clothes. ‘You’ve got a lot of new things, Mum,’ I remarked. ‘Nice things make me feel better,’ she said. She got worse when my younger brother Jack left home – but I didn’t realise how bad it was until the day I went into his old room. It was filled with piles of new clothes and shoes – all with the price tags attached! Mum had spent a fortune – and hadn’t worn any of them. She’d also bought handbags and expensive bed linen – all unused. ‘Mum, it’s like Aladdin’s cave in here,’ I cried. ‘What’s going on?’ She came into the room and her face crumpled. ‘I can’t help it,’ she said. ‘It just makes me feel better.’ ‘But how can you afford it all?’ I…

thalifau211111_article_012_01_01
2 min
express delivery!

It’s Showtime Fans of Home and Away and The Box star turned bestselling author, Judy Nunn, will be gripped by her latest novel, Showtime! The story takes readers from the dark cotton mills of 19th-century England to the glitz of Melbourne’s magnificent theatre scene. In a captivating journey through Australia’s golden age of show business, we meet the people who love the limelight. Showtime!, published by Penguin, is on sale now. 1.4 Each day around the world, this many billion cups of coffee are consumed. Lest we forget Ahead of Remembrance Day, our military heroes are in our thoughts. This year, a $2 coin honouring Indigenous servicemen and women was released. Previous $2 coins have commemorated veterans of the world wars and the contributions made by ambos and firies on the frontlines at home.…

thalifau211111_article_013_01_01