EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Art & Architecture
PleinAir MagazinePleinAir Magazine

PleinAir Magazine

October/November 2019

Get PleinAir Magazine digital magazine subscription today and follow tens-of-thousands of artists and collectors who have joined a new plein air movement. Rooted in deep history each quarterly issue, edited by Cherie Haas, chronicles today’s master artists, their techniques, events and the collectors who follow them as well as the historic artists who came before them.

Country:
United States
Language:
English
Publisher:
Streamline Publishing
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
SUBSCRIBE
$31.99
6 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time1 min.
plein air heritage

An invitation to join the first formal expedition to Yellowstone in 1871 set English-born Thomas Moran (1837–1926) on the unlikely path to becoming one of the best-known names in Western American art. His paintings documenting the geological wonders of the area earned him a spot on John Wesley Powell’s third exploratory trip to the Grand Canyon just two years later. Traveling by boat down the Colorado River, Moran worked furiously every time Powell’s troop pulled ashore to rest, making sketches of the magnificent scenery that he would later turn into more formal, polished paintings back in his studio. Of the Grand Canyon, the artist said, “It was by far the most awfully grand and impressive scene that I have ever yet seen.” In this view of Zoroaster Peak, now known as Zoroaster…

access_time2 min.
pleinair magazine us

PUBLISHER B. Eric Rhoads • bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads • Facebook: /ericrhoads ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER Scott Jones • sjones@streamlinepublishing.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Kelly Kane • kkane@streamlinepublishing.com MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly • bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com • 702.665.5283 CREATIVE DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones • alfonso.streamline@gmail.com • 561.655.8778 ART DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney • kenneth.whitney@gmail.com EDITOR EMERITUS M. Stephen Doherty VICE PRESIDENT OF SALES Bob Hogan • bhogan@streamlinepublishing.com • 206.321.8990 NATIONAL MARKETING MANAGER Yvonne Van Wechel • yvonnevanwechel@gmail.com • 602.810.3518 SENIOR MARKETING SPECIALISTS Krystal Allen krystalallen2@gmail.com 541.447.4787 Gina Ward gwardart@gmail.com 920.743.2405 MARKETING SPECIALISTS Bruce Bingham bbingham@streamlinepublishing.com 512.669.8081 Mary Green mgreen@streamlinepublishing.com 508.230.9928 Scott Jones sjones@streamlinepublishing.com 406.871.0649 Joan Revell Ryan jryan@streamlinepublishing.com 442-282-9505 Sarah Webb swebb@streamlinepublishing.com 630.445.9182 Plein Air Today Cherie Haas, Editor chaas@streamlinepublishing.com ADVISORY BOARD Museum & Organization Officers Peter Adams, President, California Art Club (www.americanlegacyfinearts.com/artists/peter-adams/) Sandy Askey Adams, En Plein Air Group, Facebook (www.sandyaskeyadams.com) Antony Bridge, Pochade.Co.UK (www.antonybridge.co.uk) Christopher Forbes, Vice Chairman, Forbes Inc. (www.forbes.com) Matt Smith, President, Plein Air Painters of America (www.mattsmithstudio.com) Lori McNee, www.FineArtTips.com Artists: Clyde Aspevig (www.clydeaspevig.com) Scott L. Christensen (www.christensenstudio.com) Donald Demers (www.donalddemers.com) Michael Godfrey (www.michaelgodfrey.com) Jeremy Lipking (www.lipking.com) Kevin…

access_time4 min.
creating disneyland for plein air painters

You need to be ready to give up painting; you’re about to be the father of triplets. Plus, I can’t have the smell of paint in the house.” My wife’s words ring in my head to this day. They were like a knife cutting through my very being. Giving up painting was not an option. Still, I had to get the paint out of the back bedroom, even out of the garage, so I came up with the idea of going outside to work. I dragged a studio easel, a chair, a card table, a bunch of supplies, and a big stretched canvas, and set up on the edge of the golf course. This was my first experience in outdoor painting, which I later learned was called plein air painting. My first…

access_time3 min.
the power of art

Anyone who has stood before a painting or sculpture and felt a pang of longing, fear, or sadness; a rush of happiness or wonder; or experienced new insight into the human condition knows the power of art. But artwork can do so much more than impact how we think or feel; it can compel us to action. In this issue, we celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Grand Canyon National Park. We start by taking a closer look at one of Thomas Moran’s Grand Canyon paintings in our Heritage column. Not only did Moran leave us an incredible legacy of artwork and an appreciation for the ideals of plein air painting, he helped pave the way for the conservation of this country’s natural wonders and the institution of our national park…

access_time2 min.
forgotten coast en plein air

Artistic excellence and the production of investment quality art continues to be the trademark of the 10-day Forgotten Coast en Plein Air festival. Organizers continue to hone what makes the Forgotten Coast event exceptional. March of 2020 will focus on the people and cultures of the Forgotten Coast, emphasizing storytelling, entertainment, rich history and traditions, and the local occupations that make this area so unique. It’s the people who make the Forgotten Coast unforgettable and provide inspiration for this year’s plein air paintings. The region’s rich culture and heritage will be celebrated with brush and canvas. The invitational features twenty internationally acclaimed artists, as well as “Florida’s Finest en Plein Air” artists honored as Plein Air Ambassadors. Expanded exhibits, a Collectors’ Forum, lectures by distinguished guest speakers, demonstrations, workshops and opportunities for…

access_time3 min.
nocturnes

Using the observational skills he had acquired from years of painting outdoors, James Abbott McNeill Whistler (1834-1903) launched a series of night paintings created from memory. To veil the ugliness of industrial London, he arranged a boat to view the city from the Thames after dark, then completed the paintings back in his studio. Moving away from the realism that dominated his earlier works, the artist reduced his colors to a few delicate tonal harmonies. Originally, he called these pieces “moonlights,” but an imaginative patron suggested the musical term “nocturnes” instead. The artist agreed, saying the name “does so poetically say all that I want it to say and no more than I wish.” In the pages that follow, 17 audacious artists embrace the challenge of painting in the dark to reveal…

help