EXPLORARBIBLIOTECAREVISTAS
CATEGORIAS
EM DESTAQUE
EXPLORARBIBLIOTECA
Arte & Arquitectura
Fine Art Connoisseur

Fine Art Connoisseur

January/February 2020

art magazine for collectors of fine art

País:
United States
Língua:
English
Editora:
Streamline Publishing
Ler Mais
COMPRAR EDIÇÃO
6,66 €(IVA Incl.)
ASSINATURA
31,61 €(IVA Incl.)
6 Edições

Nesta edição

1 minutos
fine art connoisseur us

PUBLISHER B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads facebook.com/eric.rhoads EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Peter Trippi peter.trippi@gmail.com 917.968.4 476 MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com 702.299.0417 CONTRIBUTING WRITERS Matthias Anderson Max Gillies Chuck Neustifter Charles Raskob Robinson Kelly Compton David Masello Louise Nicholson CREATIVE DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonsostreamline@gmail.com 561.327.6033 ART DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kwhitney@streamlinepublishing.com 561.655.8778 VICE PRESIDENT OF SALES Bob Hogan bhogan@streamlinepublishing.com 206.321.8990 VENDOR & CONVENTION MARKETING Sarah Webb swebb@streamlinepublishing.com 630.445.9182 MARKETING & DIGITAL AD MANAGER Yvonne Van Wechel yvanwechel@streamlinepublishing.com 602.810.3518 SENIOR MARKETING SPECIALISTS Krystal Allen kallen@streamlinepublishing.com 541.447.4787 Bruce Bingham bbingham@streamlinepublishing.com 512.669.8081 Anne W. Brown abrown@streamlinepublishing.com 435.772.0504 Richard Dorbin rdorbin@streamlinepublishing.com 410.924.0217 Mary Green mgreen@streamlinepublishing.com 508.230.9928 Helen Merry hmerry@streamlinepublishing.com 360.540.7622 Joan Revell Ryan jryan@streamlinepublishing.com 442.282.2270 Gina Ward gward@streamlinepublishing.com 920.743.2405 EDITOR, FINE ART TODAY Cherie Haas chaas@streamlinepublishing.com CHAIRMAN/PUBLISHER/CEO B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com facebook.com/eric.rhoads. Twitter: @ericrhoads EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT/ CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER Tom Elmo telmo@streamlinepublishing.com PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Nicolynn Kuper nkuper@streamlinepublishing.com DIRECTOR OF FINANCE Laura Iserman liserman@streamlinepublishing.com CONTROLLER Jaime Osetek jaime@streamlinepublishing.com CIRCULATION COORDINATOR Sue Henry shenry@streamlinepublishing.com CUSTOMER SERVICE COORDINATOR Jessica Smith jsmith@streamlinepublishing.com CREATIVE DIRECTOR, ADVERTISING Stephen Parker sparker@streamlinepublishing.com ASSISTANT TO THE CHAIRMAN Ali Cruickshank acruickshank@streamlinepublishing.com…

3 minutos
speeding the rise of realism

For well over 15 years, this magazine has carried the flag for the new realism, which some call contemporary realism. We have highlighted its artists, schools, and collectors, and we have encouraged their interconnections with kindred galleries and museums because we believe strongly that this movement has a solid future in a world that had once lost interest in all things realistic. In normal times, young artists’ works are embraced by young buyers, who ultimately become collectors. Today, alas, there is a huge gap. We now see many well-trained artists creating incredible works, yet there are not enough buyers. Not enough younger people (or even older ones, for that matter) know about this movement. There is an urgent need to both educate and create awareness. Recently, my millennial nephew, Ryan, told me…

3 minutos
here we go again

It’s the New Year, but everyone is still talking about the banana that fetched $120,000 last year. If you haven’t heard about it, you are lucky, and I hesitate to relieve your bewilderment. Every December the cutting-edge art world gathers in Miami for the constellation of fairs surrounding Art Basel Miami Beach. Billions of dollars’ worth of art is traded, most of it more conceptual, minimalist, or experiential than what you see here in Fine Art Connoisseur. If you haven’t visited Miami during the first week of December, it’s well worth going, once, to get a sense of how closely cutting-edge art resembles show business these days. Perhaps Miami Basel’s greatest triumph ever came last month when Galerie Perrotin — a leading international dealer — exhibited a real banana attached to…

3 minutos
favorite

For Benjamin Frowein, it was love at second sight. When the president of Schumacher fabrics was a graduate student in Madrid from 2004 to 2006, he walked into the Thyssen-Bornemisza museum and came upon Edward Hopper’s painting Hotel Room (1931). “When I look at things, especially artworks, that don’t immediately scream at me to pay attention, I always give them a second chance,” Frowein says from his headquarters in New York, where he gives many second looks at patterns and designs for Schumacher, the internationally renowned maker of fine textiles. “There must be a reason a painting like this is on view, and so I give it a second look.” It was during that concentrated study of Hopper’s details — a partially undressed woman reading a book on a bed in…

2 minutos
the museums you love most

For the past four years, Fine Art Connoisseur has dedicated part of a winter issue to highlighting America’s art museums and the important, wide-ranging roles they play. The American Alliance of Museums reports that 860 million visits are made to U.S. museums every year. That statistic is impressive, yet it does not fully convey how central museums have become in our civic life. They are no longer just places to learn, but also to gather, celebrate, mourn, and have fun. Museums have grown ever more welcoming, enticing people of all ages to come have a look. And for those who live too far away to visit, museums are working hard to catalogue and post their collections online. This year we asked you, our readers, to tell us which art museums you love…

3 minutos
2020 museum exhibition calendar

ONGOING FROM 2019 December 6, 2019–April 11 Richard Galusha Retrospective "An Artist’s Journey,” Steamboat Art Museum, CO JANUARY January 7–March 28 Carmelo Blandino Exhibition (Opening Reception January 9), Wausau Museum of Contemporary Art, Wausau, WI January 11–March 22 Dox Thrash, The Hyde Collection, Glens Falls, NY January 19–April 26 Francisco Goya, The Hyde Collection, Glens Falls, NY FEBRUARY February 1–May 3 New Beginnings: An American Story of Romantics and Modernists in the West, The Booth Western Art Museum, Cartersville, GA February 8–March 22 Masters of the American West® Art Exhibition & Sale, Autry Museum of the American West, Los Angeles, CA February 11–July 11 Legacies of the Vaqueros, The Booth Western Art Museum, Cartersville, GA February 13–June 7 The Jackson Hole 5: Important Painters from the West, The Booth Western Art Museum, Cartersville, GA February 14–April 10 Looking at the Landscape:…