EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Business & Finance
Radio Ink MagazineRadio Ink Magazine

Radio Ink Magazine May 6, 2019

Don't let the Radio revolution pass you by. Get your digital subscription to Radio Ink Magazine. Published 14 times per year, your annual subscription includes these popular issues: The 40 Most Powerful People in Radio The Executive of the Year Issue The Best Program Directors in America The 25 Most Influential Women in Radio The 20 Most Successful African-Americans in Radio Subscribe to the digital Radio Ink and save 50% off the print version!

Country:
United States
Language:
English
Publisher:
Streamline Publishing
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
SPECIAL: Save 20% on your subscription!
SUBSCRIBE
$49.99$39.99
14 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time1 min.
radio ink magazine

EVP/PUBLISHER Deborah Parenti parenti@aol.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Ed Ryan edryantheeditor@gmail.com MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Rob Dumke rdumke@streamlinepublishing.com COPY EDITOR Adrian Zupp azstreamlinepub@gmail.com DESIGN DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonso.streamline@gmail.com CREATIVE DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kenneth.whitney@gmail.com PRODUCTION COORDINATOR Nicolynn Kuper nkuper@streamlinepublishing.com NATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER Tracey Homberg 248-330-4595 tracey4radioink@gmail.com NATIONAL MARKETING EXECUTIVE Carl Marcucci 703-670-2860 cmarcucci66@gmail.com ADVERTISING/MARKETING CONSULTANT George Wymer 937-609-6778 george.wymer@gmail.com CHAIRMAN/CEO B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads Facebook: ericrhoads EXEC. VP/COO Tom Elmo tomelmo@radioink.com DIRECTOR OF FINANCE Laura Iserman liserman@streamlinepublishing.com ACCOUNTING Jaime Osetek jaime@streamlinepublishing.com CIRCULATION COORDINATOR Sue Henry shenry@streamlinepublishing.com EXECUTIVE EDITOR EMERITUS/LOS ANGELES Dwight Case…

access_time3 min.
shortsighted or competitive: which one are we?

Glenn Bell, president of Stoner Broadcasting, once said, “I never regretted paying good people too much. I did, however, regret not paying enough and losing them.” Wise words. Words often applied when hiring at the executive level, and completely reasonable. Experience and leadership carry a price tag. There is ample justification for paying top dollar to top people who can deliver the goods, who provide inspired and visionary leadership, and whose promises can be taken to the bank. Move down the food chain, however, and the picture is not just slightly but vastly different. We’re not talking about actual dollars and cents here. Of course there’s going to be a big spread in that regard. Experience, rank, and tenure are, as they should be, rewarded. This is also not to imply that…

access_time5 min.
20 things you should know

When I wrote my first column for Radio Ink, I had been writing ads for 20 years, and I wrote my first column for Radio Ink 20 years ago. Evidently, I’ve been writing ads for 40 years. Where has the time gone? Today I’m going to give you my best advice in the interest of helping you sell more airtime. A lot more. This is that advice: Know about more than just radio. Here are the 20 things I tell business owners who buy a day of my time. I want you to know these things, too. 1. If you want to be bigger, advertise as though you were bigger. Don’t calculate your ad budget based on the volume you did last year. Base it on the volume you hope to do this year. 2.…

access_time3 min.
one thing that will transform your sales

How will you answer the question “What is the one thing that can transform your sales into exceeding budget?” In sales, our one true job description is to create more revenue than expected. I do understand that we have many layers of responsibilities, and it’s easy to lose focus. So, I ask, what is the one thing you can get focused on right now to help your revenue? The one thing that transformed my business was creating a system that included strategic steps and timelines to hold me accountable each day. I understand that in order to be successful overall, we must start with having a successful day! We can lose focus on what needs to get done by concentrating our efforts on items that have no impact on generating revenue.…

access_time7 min.
radio: a perfect fit for this men’s fashion legend

Joseph Abboud has been designing and creating styles and trends in fashion for men for three decades. This renowned fashion designer has had a brick-and-mortar Madison Avenue business address for only about four years, but he is no stranger to the airwaves in the nation’s top radio market. Abboud, a frequent guest on Imus in the Morning, is now a regular on Imus successor Bernie and Sid in the Morning on Cumulus’s WABC/New York. Radio Ink: Tell us how you got involved with radio, and why. Abboud: I’m a commuter. I live in Westchester County — my commutes are now two hours. There is something about radio that I think is really engaging; you use your imagination and you relate to the talent. So it goes back to my early commuting days, listening…

access_time20 min.
he shoots, he scores!

Gregg Giannotti grew up listening to WFAN in New York. When he would make the long ride from Long Island to Shea Stadium to see the New York Mets, he would listen to Mike & The Mad Dog. On the ride home, he’d listen to the Mets wrap-up show and more WFAN. He loved the station, as so many people do who live in that area of the country and follow sports. In the back of his mind Giannotti always thought about how cool it would be to work for such an iconic station. However, like most people, he understood that was likely impossible. So many people in the radio business, and so few seats available behind the WFAN microphone. So it was off to Ithaca College. But when Giannotti went upstate…

help