EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Business & Finance
Radio Ink MagazineRadio Ink Magazine

Radio Ink Magazine May 27, 2019

Don't let the Radio revolution pass you by. Get your digital subscription to Radio Ink Magazine. Published 14 times per year, your annual subscription includes these popular issues: The 40 Most Powerful People in Radio The Executive of the Year Issue The Best Program Directors in America The 25 Most Influential Women in Radio The 20 Most Successful African-Americans in Radio Subscribe to the digital Radio Ink and save 50% off the print version!

Country:
United States
Language:
English
Publisher:
Streamline Publishing
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
SUBSCRIBE
$49.99
14 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time1 min.
radio ink magazine

EVP/PUBLISHER Deborah Parenti parenti@aol.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Ed Ryan edryantheeditor@gmail.com MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Rob Dumke rdumke@streamlinepublishing.com COPY EDITOR Adrian Zupp azstreamlinepub@gmail.com DESIGN DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonso.streamline@gmail.com CREATIVE DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kenneth.whitney@gmail.com PRODUCTION COORDINATOR Nicolynn Kuper nkuper@streamlinepublishing.com NATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER Tracey Homberg 248-330-4595 tracey4radioink@gmail.com NATIONAL MARKETING EXECUTIVE Carl Marcucci 703-670-2860 cmarcucci66@gmail.com ADVERTISING/MARKETING CONSULTANT George Wymer 937-609-6778 george.wymer@gmail.com CHAIRMAN/CEO B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads Facebook: ericrhoads EXEC. VP/COO Tom Elmo tomelmo@radioink.com DIRECTOR OF FINANCE Laura Iserman liserman@streamlinepublishing.com ACCOUNTING Jaime Osetek jaime@streamlinepublishing.com CIRCULATION COORDINATOR Sue Henry shenry@streamlinepublishing.com EXECUTIVE EDITOR EMERITUS/LOS ANGELES Dwight Case…

access_time3 min.
every. one. every. body.

As we recognize the contributions and milestones women are achieving across the industry today — and at the same time, remind ourselves that there are still miles to go, especially in the technical and programming fields — it is also a good time for sober reflection. The power to change is not solely under someone else’s control today. It’s ours. We’ve come a long way since the boss was always a “Mr.” and the administrative assistant (the real “get it done” and “go to” person) was typically female and the job title was “secretary.” Even where we have not quite yet lived up our best selves, we hear more about reaching for our better angels and have, at the very least, begun to delve more openly into important conversations about what…

access_time4 min.
identity, purpose, and adventure

Radio is a miraculous tool for business growth when you know how to extract the right idea and craft the right ad. Do you? Selling radio is easy when you know how to make it work. Have you found your identity? Do you know your purpose? Are you ready for your adventure? Identity: Who am I? Purpose: Why am I here? Adventure: What must I overcome? Advertising moves you when it connects with your identity. Are you connecting with the identities of your listeners? Branding is “talking at” the customer — trying to make them remember you. Customer bonding is “connecting with” the customer — building a relationship with them based on shared values and beliefs. Identity is your self-image — a composite of your beliefs, your preferences, and your relationships. Purpose is a strobe light that reveals an ever-changing…

access_time3 min.
your mother was right!

Did you listen to your mother’s advice when you were growing up? Well, even if you didn’t, you may want to revisit her words of wisdom now. If you follow mom’s rules while working in radio sales, all will go well. In case it’s been so long you forgot what she said, I called your mother (we all had the same one, you know), and she asked me to remind you. So, read on. Mom says, “Believe in yourself” (and your product). Start by shutting out the noise — you know, the naysayers who don’t believe in you or in the power (and relevance) of radio. Remember, next year commercial radio will turn 90. It’s here to stay, folks. You’re not selling the “flavor of the month.” We have a proven track…

access_time3 min.
leadership roundtable

We all want to climb the ladder of success in radio, to lead people into that daily and fierce battle of competition. Luckily this industry has a lot of great people willing to pass along their knowledge. We reached out to several executives from Radio Ink’s 2019 Top 20 Leaders List and asked them to tell us the characteristics that make a great leader in the radio industry today. Here’s what they had to say. Fearlessness: Now more than any previous time in my career I believe that leaders must be fearless in the pursuit of growing and solidifying the unique and very personal relationship radio has with its friends, the loyal listeners, persona, whatever term you wish to use. Passion: To tirelessly look for ways to take advantage of the changes…

access_time3 min.
3 steps to fight through rejection

“On the rise” might be the richest and most compelling three words you can use in your next sales meeting. That’s because they imply that we are rising from a low point toward a new beginning. Think about sellers, who are rejected nine times out of 10. That is a lot of low points! Let’s look at “on the rise” from the perspective of failure. We put a lot of negative weight on failure in our culture because failure is the yin to success’ yang. But here’s what’s interesting: contrary to popular belief, successful salespeople will tell you their success is not tied to repeatedly winning. They frame their success as repeatedly trying something, even if the attempts fail. Think about Thomas Edison. He attempted to create the light bulb more than…

help