EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Business & Finance
Radio Ink MagazineRadio Ink Magazine

Radio Ink Magazine July 22, 2019

Don't let the Radio revolution pass you by. Get your digital subscription to Radio Ink Magazine. Published 14 times per year, your annual subscription includes these popular issues: The 40 Most Powerful People in Radio The Executive of the Year Issue The Best Program Directors in America The 25 Most Influential Women in Radio The 20 Most Successful African-Americans in Radio Subscribe to the digital Radio Ink and save 50% off the print version!

Country:
United States
Language:
English
Publisher:
Streamline Publishing
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
SUBSCRIBE
$49.99
14 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time1 min.
radio ink magazine

EVP/PUBLISHER Deborah Parenti dparenti@streamlinepublishing.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Ed Ryan edryantheeditor@gmail.com MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Rob Dumke rdumke@streamlinepublishing.com COPY EDITOR Adrian Zupp azstreamlinepub@gmail.com DESIGN DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonso.streamline@gmail.com CREATIVE DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kenneth.whitney@gmail.com PRODUCTION COORDINATOR Nicolynn Kuper nkuper@streamlinepublishing.com DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS April McLynn amclynn@streamlinepublishing.com NATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER Tracey Homberg 248-330-4595 tracey4radioink@gmail.com NATIONAL MARKETING EXECUTIVE Carl Marcucci 703-670-2860 cmarcucci66@gmail.com ADVERTISING/MARKETING CONSULTANT George Wymer 937-609-6778 george.wymer@gmail.com CHAIRMAN/CEO B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads Facebook: ericrhoads EXEC. VP/COO Tom Elmo tomelmo@radioink.com DIRECTOR OF FINANCE Laura Iserman liserman@streamlinepublishing.com ACCOUNTING Jaime Osetek jaime@streamlinepublishing.com CIRCULATION COORDINATOR Sue Henry shenry@streamlinepublishing.com EXECUTIVE EDITOR EMERITUS/LOS ANGELES Dwight Case…

access_time3 min.
reflections on 40

The history of Radio Ink’s 40 Most Powerful People in Radio list is a fascinating look not only at the names of those shaping the industry since the passage of the 1996 Telecommunications Act, but at how the radio industry has changed over the past 23 years. Designed to bring momentous regulatory changes to a sputtering industry, the Telecom Act has indeed been more transformational than most would have imagined back then. That’s especially worth pondering today as the Ajit Pai-led FCC considers moving forward with a further relaxation of local radio ownership rules. Industry players are split on whether a loosening of rules that were created before digital media spread to the masses is a smart one, with companies large and small taking sides on a fierce battlefield that will see…

access_time4 min.
radio’s golden apple

Recently in a board of directors meeting for my company, we had a discussion about a company I was planning to acquire and the amount of money I was about to spend. One of the board members, an Internet advertising expert, asked, “What are you buying, really? Why do you really want this company?” My response was, “I want the list. I can make a lot of money off the list of customers.” Then, the unexpected. He said, “You’re throwing your money away. For a fraction of that amount, I can get the same number of customers they have in about six weeks’ time.” Another board member, an expert in Amazon marketing, stepped in and said, “And I can get you that many customers on Amazon for a small part of…

access_time5 min.
how to prune your account list

An account executive who “goes with the flow” never makes a lot of money. But an account executive who knows precisely what he or she is going to do today is an account executive who can afford to start a campfire with crumpled-up hundred-dollar bills. When I was a baby AE, I had the good fortune to spend a day with Gene Chamberlain. He taught me three things that day that have made me a lot of money. Today I’m going to teach those three things to you. You’ve Got to Prune Your Account List We run out of time long before we run out of opportunity. There are only 24 hours in the day and no way to get any more. But businesses that need better advertising are like the sand on…

access_time3 min.
how to get prospects to return your calls

One of the top five questions I get from broadcast sellers is, “Why won’t prospects return my calls, e-mails, or texts?” The answer is simple. In their minds you haven’t given them a good enough reason to respond. Fact: in most cases, prospects will return your calls only when they are convinced beyond a shadow of a doubt that it is in their best interest to call you back. New prospects may not know you from Adam Ant, and you’re calling them, texting, or e-mailing them and leaving a message out of the blue. What have you got to offer them that would give them reason to call you back? Put yourself in your prospect’s shoes. What do you listen for when you go through your voicemail? Imagine that the prospect isn’t…

access_time3 min.
think like a celebrity, convert more sales

We did everything right. We prospected the right target for our station, provided market research to support why advertising on the radio would be a great business decision for them, and we even went the extra mile by creating an award-winning commercial campaign to position them as a market leader. In our minds, we hear the client saying they love it and want to get started ASAP. But then we find ourselves in a holding pattern, as the client says, “I need to think about.” Converting the client from prospect to close might be one of the most frustrating phases in sales. We invest so much time prospecting, calling to schedule a meeting, and presenting a thoughtful plan, only to have to wait. Now what do you do? My advice is…

help