menu
close
search
EXPLOREMY LIBRARYMAGAZINES
CATEGORIES
  • Art & Architecture
  • Boating & Aviation
  • Business & Finance
  • Cars & Motorcycles
  • Celebrity & Gossip
  • Comics & Manga
  • Crafts
  • Culture & Literature
  • Family & Parenting
  • Fashion
  • Food & Wine
  • Health & Fitness
  • Home & Garden
  • Hunting & Fishing
  • Kids & Teens
  • Luxury
  • Men's Lifestyle
  • Movies, TV & Music
  • News & Politics
  • Photography
  • Science
  • Sports
  • Tech & Gaming
  • Travel & Outdoor
  • Women's Lifestyle
  • Adult
FEATURED
EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Business & Finance
Radio Ink MagazineRadio Ink Magazine

Radio Ink Magazine September 16, 2019

Don't let the Radio revolution pass you by. Get your digital subscription to Radio Ink Magazine. Published 14 times per year, your annual subscription includes these popular issues: The 40 Most Powerful People in Radio The Executive of the Year Issue The Best Program Directors in America The 25 Most Influential Women in Radio The 20 Most Successful African-Americans in Radio Subscribe to the digital Radio Ink and save 50% off the print version!

Country:
United States
Language:
English
Publisher:
Streamline Publishing
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
SUBSCRIBE
$49.99
14 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time1 min.
radio ink magazine

EVP/PUBLISHER Deborah Parenti dparenti@streamlinepublishing.com EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Ed Ryan edryantheeditor@gmail.com MANAGING EDITOR Brida Connolly bconnolly@streamlinepublishing.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Rob Dumke rdumke@streamlinepublishing.com COPY EDITOR Adrian Zupp azstreamlinepub@gmail.com DESIGN DIRECTOR Alfonso Jones alfonso.streamline@gmail.com CREATIVE DIRECTOR Kenneth Whitney kenneth.whitney@gmail.com PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Nicolynn Kuper nkuper@streamlinepublishing.com DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS April McLynn amclynn@streamlinepublishing.com NATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER Tracey Homberg 248-330-4595 tracey4radioink@gmail.com NATIONAL MARKETING EXECUTIVE Carl Marcucci 703-670-2860 cmarcucci66@gmail.com ADVERTISING/MARKETING CONSULTANT George Wymer 937-609-6778 george.wymer@gmail.com CHAIRMAN/CEO B. Eric Rhoads bericrhoads@gmail.com Twitter: @ericrhoads Facebook: ericrhoads EXEC. VP/COO Tom Elmo tomelmo@radioink.com DIRECTOR OF FINANCE Laura Iserman liserman@streamlinepublishing.com CONTROLLER Jaime Osetek jaime@streamlinepublishing.com CIRCULATION COORDINATOR Sue Henry shenry@streamlinepublishing.com EXECUTIVE EDITOR EMERITUS Dwight Case (1929-2019)…

access_time3 min.
the importance of engagement

Last month, I was prompted by a series of current events to pen a blog for our daily newsletter about the art, or perhaps the lost art, of communication. It was a reflection stemming from several tragic occurrences that reminded me of the strength found in human connection — the one that begins at birth, follows us through life, and can be felt in the squeeze of a hand during the final moments of those we love. These are the times that become seared in memory and help light and even sometimes influence or turn the path we take in life. And it is an instinct that never ends. It follows us through good times and bad. It is an innate part of our nature to seek out our fellow humans for…

access_time4 min.
ad writers: beware the hedgehog myth

Eighteen years ago, Jim Collins published Good to Great, and it sold 4 million copies. I blame that book for promoting the Hedgehog Myth, the misbegotten belief that category dominance is attained through focusing on “one big thing.” We will ignore, for the moment, that 9 of the 11 “great” companies profiled by Collins have underperformed the S&P 500 ever since. Two of them went completely out of business. In about 650 B.C. the Greek poet Archilochus wrote, “The fox knows many things, but the hedgehog knows one big thing.” In 1953, the philosopher Isaiah Berlin expanded on Archilochus in his often-quoted essay “The Hedgehog and the Fox.” In 2017, University of Pennsylvania psychologist Philip Tetlock completed a 20-year study that contrasted the abilities of the one-big-thing “hedgehog” experts against the many-little-things “fox” non-experts…

access_time4 min.
a view from the other side

“So what’s it like?” That is, most certainly, the most common question I get after spending 30-plus years in the radio business, most of that on the sales and station leadership side, and working today at O Brien et al Advertising. After seven months on the “dark side,” I feel like I’m starting to get a pretty good working knowledge of the agency world. I’ll always be a broadcaster, but it’s my hope that what I’m learning can provide radio with a unique perspective on what works for agencies and media relationships — and how to make them hum. Brandi Jackson has been with O Brien for over 20 years as media director. She’s smart, inquisitive, and passionate, and most importantly, always returns phone calls and e-mails. She’s the one I always…

access_time3 min.
everything you need to know about digital and mobile

With the explosion of smartphones, and the skyrocketing increase in users accessing their various media through their phones, radio has some catching up to do if it wants to compete for listeners’ ears —and eyeballs. Here’s what you need to know. Q: How important is having the right mobile app? A: Very. If your app doesn’t have the tools to properly deliver a digital ad experience to your listeners and the ability to track results, you won’t even get out of the starting gate. Digital advertisers want to know you are reaching the consumers they want to engage, and you also need to deliver a quality mobile experience with the ability to track usage and provide detailed results for their campaigns. Q: Do we need a standalone app, or can we be on…

access_time3 min.
5 strategies to help you win every day

How do you create a productive week, month, and year? You start by focusing on one day at a time. The equalizer is that each of us has the same 1,440 minutes each day. How productive we are will depend on how we spend those minutes. We have the opportunity to create small wins, all of which create momentum that can turn into big days. How will you take advantage of your day? The good news is that it comes down to three things you have total control over! Your talent determines what you can do. Your motivation determines how much you are willing to do. Your attitude determines how well you do it. Here are five thought starters to help you create winning days: 1. Create a winning routine. How do you start your day?…

help