UTFORSKABIBLIOTEK
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Mäns livsstil
The RakeThe Rake

The Rake

June 2019 - Issue 64

The world’s preeminent publication dedicated to the renaissance in gentlemanly sophistication and style, THE RAKE recaptures the codes of classic men’s elegance. Inspired by icons such as Cary Grant, Fred Astaire, the Duke of Windsor, Gianni Agnelli, Sean Connery, and their contemporary counterparts, THE RAKE provides incisive, in-depth commentary on magnificent menswear, and the many other elements of gentlemanly living, from manners and ethics, to art and design, tasteful travel, health and well-being, the intellectual and philosophical, to homes, modes of transport, entertainment, food and drink. THE RAKE is the modern voice of classic elegance.

Land:
Singapore
Språk:
English
Utgivare:
The Rake Pte Ltd
Läs merkeyboard_arrow_down
SPECIAL: Don't Miss Out!
KÖP NUMMER
78,66 kr(Inkl. moms)
PRENUMERERA
379,01 kr189,51 kr(Inkl. moms)
6 Nummer

I DETTA NUMMER

access_time5 min
letter from the founder

I may be in grave danger of segueing off my chosen path, smashing through the guardrail and careening down the sheer and precarious cliff of hypocrisy with what I’m about to say. But certain recent occurrences in my life have left me feeling extremely wary about luxury objects and their capacity to seduce. From the beginning, the objective of this magazine was to discuss suits, cars and mechanical watches based not on what they represent sociologically — because far too often they are wielded as aggressive symbols of affluence — but because whether it’s that Patek Philippe chronograph, Joe Morgan suit or Riva yacht, some brilliant and talented human beings have spent a significant portion of their finite energy on Earth bringing something beautiful into existence. And in using the…

access_time4 min
letter from the editor

A self-congratulatory story for you. At a friend’s birthday party early last year I was accosted by a fellow guest who introduced himself by saying he was rather enjoying the fact that not only was he at the same party as the editor of his favourite magazine but that we were wearing the same outfit (burgundy smoking jackets, if you must know). His name was Piers Ashfield, and he told me he had been reading The Rake from day one. This issue of the magazine hits the newsstands a few days before Trooping the Colour. Officially known as the Queen’s Birthday Parade, it is the United Kingdom’s principal annual state occasion. The premise is simple: to the tune of the massed band the Queen inspects her troops from the Household Division…

access_time3 min
contributors

G. BRUCE BOYER G. Bruce Boyer has been a noted men’s fashion writer and editor for more than 40 years. He was associated with Town & Country magazine as Men’s Fashion Editor for 18 years. His feature articles have also appeared in Esquire, Harper’s Bazaar, Forbes, The New York Times, The New Yorker, Departures and Plaza Uomo, among other titles. He was the first American fashion journalist to write for the Italian fashion magazine L’Uomo Vogue. He is the author of three books on the history and direction of men’s fashion: Elegance (W. W. Norton & Company, New York, 1985); Eminently Suitable (W. W. Norton & Company, New York, 1990); and True Style: The History and Principles of Classic Menswear (Basic Books, 2015). In this issue Bruce reminisces about the early…

access_time2 min
the rake

THE RAKE PTE LTD DIGITAL EDITOR Ryan Thompson ryan@therakemagazine.com ASSOCIATE STYLE EDITOR Benedict Browne benedict@therakemagazine.com EDITORIAL ASSOCIATE Aobh O'Brien-Moody aobh@therakemagazine.com DIGITAL IMAGING ARTIST Ciwie Goh CONTRIBUTING EDITORS Nick Foulkes Matt Hranek SOCIAL MEDIA MANAGER Theo Penrice theo@therakemagazine.com SARTORIAL GURU Christopher Modoo FOUNDER & EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Wei Koh EDITOR Tom Chamberlin tom@therakemagazine.com ART DIRECTOR Rob French rob@therakemagazine.com CHIEF SUBEDITOR Stephen Wood ART EDITOR Kim Lang kim@therakemagazine.com EDITORS-AT-LARGE Nick Scott Christian Barker RAKE AMBASSADORS Alain Gafundi Alexander Kraft OFFICE ASSISTANT Freddie Anderson freddie@therakemagazine.com RAKE HOUND IN VALHALLA Brando Koh, Esq. FASHION DIRECTOR Grace Gilfeather grace@therakemagazine.com STYLIST Veronica Perez veronica@therakemagazine.com FASHION ASSISTANT Amelia Hudson amelia@therakemagazine.com STYLE EDITOR-AT-LARGE Aleksandar Cvetkovic aleks@therakemagazine.com SARTORIAL CONSIGLIERE Shary Rahman BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR Maria Lim maria@therakemagazine.com MANAGING DIRECTOR, E-COMMERCE Luca Barni luca@therakemagazine.com HEAD OF BUYING Ben St. George benstgeorge@therakemagazine.com BUSINESS DEVELOPER Pablo Gomez Jul pablo@therakemagazine.com BUSINESS DEVELOPER INTERN Camilla Forlano camilla@therakemagazine.com HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER Belinda Soh PRINT, PRODUCTION & DISTRIBUTION MANAGER Jo Low | jl@revolutionmagazines.com THE RAKE JAPAN CO. LTD PUBLISHER Shigetoshi Oshiro oshiro@therakejapan.com THE RAKE JAPAN CO. LTD. JAPAN EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Kentaro Matsuo matsuo@therakejapan.com CIRCULATION EXECUTIVE Shazlina Shukor lina@revolutionmagazines.com CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Dr. Bruce Lee bruce@therakemagazine.com MANAGING DIRECTOR David Goodman david@therakemagazine.com CREATIVE SOLUTIONS DIRECTOR Anne Petermann anne@therakemagazine.com MARKETING DIRECTOR Drew Laidlaw Hoare drew@therakemagazine.com PRODUCT MANAGER Hugo Possner hugo@therakemagazine.com ONLINE VISUAL MERCHANDISER Eleanor Mellor eleanor@therakemagazine.com DIGITAL MARKETING ASSOCIATE Codruta Maria Barbu codruta@therakemagazine.com FINANCE MANAGER Shu Lien Lim DIRECTOR OF U.S. CIRCULATION Samara Ritzler samara@therakemagazine.com CIRCULATION & ADMINISTRATION ASSISTANT Angela Leow circulation@revolutionmagazines.com Internationally Licensed Editions THE RAKE…

access_time8 min
late nights listening to the sun sessions

There’s a point to be made about Elvis Presley’s early life that touches on our music in a unique way. Forget the bloated, drug-addled, gun-toting, ludicrously dressed Elvis of his later years, the horror figure that haunted Las Vegas singing to middle-aged women and passing out his sweat-drenched cheap scarves. I’m talking about the shiny young man who walked into the Sun Records studio in the morning of his life full of hope and confusion, with charisma and talent bursting transcendently out of him. Elvis came of age in the very middle of the 20th century, in the decade following two world wars and a soul-searing economic depression. And it was for the post-war American 1950s to delve chaotically into the issues of race, working class anxiety, mass culture, corporate consumerism…

access_time7 min
rake commends: dubai

Dubai has grown impressively in a short space of time to become the financial and logistical hub of the Middle East. My trips there are mainly work related, though there have been many times that this city has proved to be a stellar destination for a family vacation, especially because of its unparalleled connections to the rest of the world via Emirates airlines. Dubai offers the modern international traveller a plethora of fine dining options coupled with world-class entertainment and rakish retail therapy… all in the middle of the Arabian Desert. My favourite hotel of choice in Dubai tends to be the Four Seasons, located at the D.I.F.C. (Dubai International Financial Centre). The hotel operates as a very efficient business destination without neglecting the luxurious perks, including unrivalled service, of a Four…

help