EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Men's Lifestyle
The RakeThe Rake

The Rake

August 2019 - Issue 65

The world’s preeminent publication dedicated to the renaissance in gentlemanly sophistication and style, THE RAKE recaptures the codes of classic men’s elegance. Inspired by icons such as Cary Grant, Fred Astaire, the Duke of Windsor, Gianni Agnelli, Sean Connery, and their contemporary counterparts, THE RAKE provides incisive, in-depth commentary on magnificent menswear, and the many other elements of gentlemanly living, from manners and ethics, to art and design, tasteful travel, health and well-being, the intellectual and philosophical, to homes, modes of transport, entertainment, food and drink. THE RAKE is the modern voice of classic elegance.

Country:
Singapore
Language:
English
Publisher:
The Rake Pte Ltd
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
SPECIAL: Get 40% OFF with code: BIG40
BUY ISSUE
$10.93
SUBSCRIBE
$52.69
6 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time5 min.
letter from the founder

I lie awake in bed, screaming the name of the devil, terrifying my normally unflappable sausage dog so much that she burrows into the deepest recesses of my goose-down duvet howling in sympathy. I lie curled in an embryonic ball of frayed nerves, quaking in night terrors, my shirt drenched in sweat. I start to weep in horror, so haunted am I by those three syllables that until the day I die shall represent the deepest form of depravity and evil perpetuated on the world since Epimetheus’s bimbotic lady friend Pandora opened a clay jar clearly labelled “Do not open under any circumstances” and unleashed all manner of maleficence upon humanity. That name is, of course, Ryanair, the airline whose boss, Michael O’Leary — a man who can only be…

access_time4 min.
letter from the editor

I made a risky purchase recently. The whole thing could have affected my marriage and therefore my relationship with my two sons. You have a fantasy that the transaction will realise all the pleasure and delight in your imagination, though the sense of gratification is often followed by shame and anxiety at the financial and spiritual consequences that come with such an impulsive decision. I read the text saying simply, “I’m on my way”. My palms were dank. At the designated hour the doorbell rang and a scrimmage of conflicting voices found their way between my ears, an angel and a devil on my shoulders jostling for position: “This is exactly what you need; it’s what you deserve, you’ll love it.” And: “Think of the look on your wife’s face when…

access_time3 min.
contributors

Nick, a Contributing Editor for The Rake, a historian and an author — and surely London’s most prominent luxury commentator — writes for periodicals including How To Spend It, the Financial Times, The Independent, Vanity Fair and The Daily Telegraph. Among his many published tomes to date are the Count d’Orsay biography Last of the Dandies (2005), Dunhill by Design (2006), TAG Heuer (2009), Cigar Style (2008), Gentlemen and Blackguards: Gambling Mania and the Plot to Steal the Derby of 1844 (2010), Swans, Legends of the Jet Society (2013), Bernard Buffet: The Invention of the Modern Mega-Artist, and the finest compendium on combustible agriculture, Cigars. In this issue, he pays tribute to Niki Lauda, the courageous Formula 1 champion and aviation entrepreneur who died in May (page 26). The freelance writer…

access_time2 min.
the rake

THE RAKE PTE LTD DIGITAL EDITOR Ryan Thompson ryan@therakemagazine.com EDITORIAL ASSOCIATE Aobh O'Brien-Moody aobh@therakemagazine.com OFFICE ASSISTANT Freddie Anderson freddie@therakemagazine.com DIGITAL IMAGING ARTIST Ciwie Goh SARTORIAL GURU Christopher Modoo FOUNDER & EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Wei Koh EDITOR Tom Chamberlin tom@therakemagazine.com ART DIRECTOR Rob French rob@therakemagazine.com CHIEF SUBEDITOR Stephen Wood ART EDITOR Kim Lang kim@therakemagazine.com EDITORS-AT-LARGE Nick Scott Christian Barker RAKE AMBASSADORS Alain Gafundi Alexander Kraft RAKE HOUND IN VALHALLA Brando Koh, Esq. FASHION DIRECTOR Grace Gilfeather grace@therakemagazine.com STYLIST Veronica Perez veronica@therakemagazine.com FASHION ASSISTANT Amelia Hudson amelia@therakemagazine.com CONTRIBUTING EDITORS Nick Foulkes Matt Hranek SARTORIAL CONSIGLIERE Shary Rahman BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR Maria Lim maria@therakemagazine.com MANAGING DIRECTOR, E-COMMERCE Luca Barni luca@therakemagazine.com HEAD OF BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT Riccardo Zambon riccardo@therakemagazine.com PRODUCT MANAGER Hugo Possner hugo@therakemagazine.com BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT INTERN Camilla Forlano camilla@therakemagazine.com HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER Belinda Soh PRINT, PRODUCTION & DISTRIBUTION MANAGER Jo Low | jl@revolutionmagazines.com MANAGING DIRECTOR David Goodman david@therakemagazine.com CREATIVE SOLUTIONS DIRECTOR Anne Petermann anne@therakemagazine.com MARKETING DIRECTOR Drew Laidlaw Hoare drew@therakemagazine.com BUSINESS DEVELOPER Pablo Gomez Jul pablo@therakemagazine.com ONLINE VISUAL MERCHANDISER Eleanor Mellor eleanor@therakemagazine.com DIGITAL MARKETING ASSOCIATE Codruta Maria Barbu codruta@therakemagazine.com FINANCE MANAGER Jay Wong DIRECTOR OF U.S. CIRCULATION Samara Ritzler samara@therakemagazine.com ADVERTISING MANAGER Arabella Boardman arabella@therakemagazine.com FINANCE AND OPERATIONS MANAGER Francesco Lunardon francesco@therakemagazine.com JUNIOR BUSINESS DEVELOPER Tommaso Dini tommaso@therakemagazine.com EVENTS AND PROJECT MANAGER Sara Hirt sara@therakemagazine.com COPYWRITER Rachel Marie Walsh rachel@therakemagazine.com ACCOUNTS EXECUTIVE Lisa Lau INTERNATIONAL TRAFFIC COORDINATOR Christina Koh christina@revolutionmagazines.com PROCUREMENT MANAGER Lorenzo Viglietti lorenzo@therakemagazine.com PERSONAL SHOPPING MANAGER Nahum James Steadman nahum@therakemagazine.com CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER Rahil Ahmed rahil@therakemagazine.com WAREHOUSE MANAGER Antonio Diaferio antonio@therakemagazine.com Internationally Licensed Editions THE RAKE JAPAN CO.…

access_time13 min.
out of the fire

“I suppose the truth is that I am as well known for surviving that terrible fiery accident in the 1976 German Grand Prix as I am for winning three world championships. I do not generally dwell on the events at Nürburgring almost 20 years ago, but it certainly served as a graphic indication of the potential dangers of motorsport’s most senior category.” Writing in the foreword to a book about improvements in medical care in “motorsport’s most senior category”, Niki Lauda was not one to allow himself even the faintest, most evanescent wisp of an illusion. In assessing his legacy he was as unemotionally calculating as he was at the wheel of the cars with which he won the Formula 1 world drivers’ title in 1975, 1977 and 1984, driving first…

access_time4 min.
rake commends: st. barths

Saint Barthélemy, or St. Barths, is a small paradise on Earth where one can immerse oneself in a life of luxe, calme et volupté. It has crystal-clear turquoise waters, the best food and shopping in the Caribbean, charming hospitality from its inhabitants, and world-class hotels and villa rentals. Thankfully, its super-small airport has protected the island from mass tourism, so the island remains undisturbed and peaceful. My favourite Vilebrequin bathing shorts for the island are the super-chic and fun ‘Moorea’ with multicolour turtles on a black background. As well, the sexy ‘Man’ model in lagoon-aqua perfectly matches the colour of the sea around St. Barths. Each bathing suit contains 200g of plastic waste collected from the Mediterranean Sea. Here are some of my personal highlights from the island: Lunch Le Toiny Beach: The most…

help