探索我的圖書館
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / 企業 & 財經
Farmer's WeeklyFarmer's Weekly

Farmer's Weekly

14 June 2019

Farmer’s Weekly is an agricultural magazine based in South Africa, targeting the whole of Southern Africa. The magazine is committed to advancing the interests of the region’s farmers and its agricultural industry by serving as a mouthpiece for the industry and by keeping its readers informed of the latest developments in the agricultural sector.

國家/地區:
South Africa
語言:
English
出版商:
Caxton Magazines
閱讀更多keyboard_arrow_down
優惠 Save 50% on your subscription!
訂閱
$1,334.74$667.37
50 期號

本期

access_time2 最少
our sorry, calloused souls

Any person who has endured tragedy will know that bewildering feeling that settles in soon after the traumatic event when you realise that for other people, and the world around you, life simply moves on, and this only amplifies the tragedy for those who are touched by it. I wish it weren’t so easy for me to continue with my day, as I did today, after reading of another farmer that has been murdered, a truck driver that was set alight while taking a rest at the side of the road, and a woman who was murdered, and her nine-year-old daughter raped, by her boyfriend. I have been reading news reports in foreign publications about the recent murders of South Africans such as Stellenbosch farmer Stefan Smit, Bonnievale farmer Tool Wessels, and…

access_time1 最少
farmer's weekly

EDITORIAL TEAM EDITOR Denene Erasmus (denene@caxton.co.za) MANAGING EDITOR Janine Ryan (janiner@caxton.co.za) NEWS EDITOR Julinda Schroeder (julindas@caxton.co.za) ART DIRECTOR Vian Roos DESIGNER Louis Kruger CHIEF COPY EDITOR Paul Sulter COPY EDITORS Fanie de Villiers and Yvonne Fontyn DIGITAL EDITOR Sindira Chetty (sindirac@caxton.co.za) MECHANISATION EDITOR Joe Spencer 083 233 0370 (jspencer@mweb.co.za) OFFICE ASSISTANT Prenusha Moodley JOURNALISTS NORTHERN REGION Pieter Dempsey 087 087 8787 (pieterd@caxton.co.za) Siyanda Sishuba 087 087 7037 (siyandas@caxton.co.za) CENTRAL REGION Annelie Coleman, Bothaville 082 862 9897 (ann@btbits.co.za) Sabrina Dean, Bloemfontein 082 222 9172 (sabrina@caxton.co.za) KWAZULU-NATAL Lloyd Phillips, Mooi River 084 505 9343 (phillips01@telkomsa.net) WESTERN CAPE Jeandré Van der Walt, Cape Town 021 001 2432, 078 422 2441 (jeandred@caxton.co.za) ADVERTISING SALES MANAGER Reinhard Lotz 087 158 0278 (reinhardl@caxton.co.za) JOHANNESBURG Meshack Leshabane 087 087 7070 (meshackl@caxton.co.za) Andy Nxumalo 087 087 7067 (andyn@caxton.co.za) Justin Lavers 087 087 7073 (justinl@caxton.co.za) MARKETING MARKETING MANAGER Reinhard Lotz 087 158 0278 (reinhardl@caxton.co.za) MARKETING COORDINATOR Melanie Olivier 087 158 0280 (melanieo@caxton.co.za) TOURS & EVENTS Marianna du Plessis 063 076 9135 (africa@caxton.co.za)…

access_time5 最少
soil erosion: a big problem with few solutions

“Soil erosion continues to be a major threat in many regions of the world, despite decades of focused scientific research and societal concern. In its 2015 ‘Status of the world’s soil resources’ report, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) stated that soil erosion was judged to be the number one threat to soil functions in five of seven regions, namely Africa, Asia, Latin America, the Near East and North Africa, and North America. In the first four, erosion showed a deteriorating trend. Erosion is a natural geological process and is impossible to stop. The goal is to manage human impact on the soil so that the rate of erosion is within an acceptable range. Soil erosion is defined as the net long-term balance of all processes that detach…

access_time3 最少
farmer’s diary

12 TO 23 AUGUST Farm Planning THIS COURSE SHOWS DELEGATES HOW TO PLAN THE LAYOUT OF PRODUCTION UNITS AND INFRASTRUCTURE ON THEIR FARMS, AND ASSESS THE AGRICULTURAL POTENTIAL OF THEIR LANDS. DELEGATES LEARN HOW TO DRAW A BASIC MAP DEPICTING THE PROPOSED PRODUCTION UNITS AND BASIC INFRASTRUCTURE LAYOUT. CONFERENCES, WORKSHOPS & EXPOS 27 TO 28 JUNE Cannabis Conference, Emperors Palace, Kempton Park. Email Connie@vukanicomms.co.za. 10 JULY Agribusiness Africa Conference, Premier Hotel OR Tambo, Kempton Park. Email Marianna du Plessis at africa@caxton.co.za. COURSES & TRAINING 11 TO 12 JUNE Advanced Water Treatment Control: Coagulation and Flocculation, Durban. Email Anita Pillay at training@wisa.org.za. 13 TO 15 JUNE Cattle Embryo Transfer, George.Visit RLTSafrica.com, or email office@RLTSafrica.com. 17 TO 19 JUNE Cattle Semen Collection, George.Visit RLTSafrica.com, or email office@RLTSafrica.com. 18 TO 20 JUNE Pig Farm Training, Pretoria.Visit agriskills.net, or email admin@agriskills.net. 24 TO 27 JUNE Broiler and Layer Management, Pretoria. Visit agriskills.net,…

access_time3 最少
recycle used oil to help save the environment

On 5 June, the world celebrated World Environment Day, which puts the protection of the earth’s ecosystems under the spotlight. Used lubricating oil and grease is a hazardous waste that, if dumped down drains or poured onto the ground, can contaminate water resources. The Recycling Oil Saves the Environment (ROSE) Foundation is thus calling on South Africans to store and recycle used oil responsibly to protect the environment. WHAT IS USED OIL? Used oil is drained from machinery, engines, gearboxes, hydraulic systems, turbines and air compressors. It is contaminated with many hazardous organic molecules, which arise from the breakdown, decomposition and deterioration of additives and base oils during use. It is also contaminated with wear debris. Used oil contains harmful carcinogens and compounds, as well as metals such as iron, tin, zinc…

access_time3 最少
archives from our

4 JANUARY 1967 Seed-eating birds survive in the desert 52 YEARS AGO A study conducted at the Transvaal Museum investigated the water economy of seed-eating birds, and the remarkable ability of certain finches to live in the desert without water for long periods of time. The species are the scaly-feathered finch (Sporopipes squamifrons) and the red-headed finch (Amadina erythrocephala); these are not the types known as pests to farmers. They are found mostly in the arid western regions of South Africa, such as the Kalahari Desert, and in the Namib Desert in South West Africa [Namibia]. Both species can tolerate dehydration for three months, living on dry manna seed and millet that has a moisture content of about 5%. Insect-eating birds require little water; they get enough moisture from their food. But it…

help